We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,235)
Filter reviews
2,235 results
Traveler rating
1,373
524
163
103
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,373
524
163
103
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine cellaraxe throwingmovie theaterfront porchthe barntavern restaurantgolf coursewhite mountainsmovie roomair hockeyfine dininggrand resortindoor poolice skatingdog sleddingping ponggame rooms
Filter
Updating list...
1,840 - 1,845 of 2,235 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We felt compelled to write this review as we have used tripadvisor many times in the past and generally agree with the overall ratings after our trips. The mountain view grand was a glaring exception and we wanted to give other families our observations as there is nothing "grand" about this resort. We had planned to spend 4 nights here and were so disappointed that we left after one night. After some scrambling we were lucky enough to find accomodations on the fly in boston and rang in the new year in style with our two kids --- ages 15 and 10. In fairness to the resort our decision to leave early was also based on the poor skiing conditions. Had the skiing conditions been better, we might have gutted it out and stayed, trying to make the best of a bad situation for our kids. Here are our observations:

The location is breathtaking but as
I looked up to admire the hotel when we arrived, I noticed that the yellow paint was peeling in various places. The bellhop was friendly but uncertain. A recurring theme as we spoke with various staff members was that they all had worked at the resort for only 3 months. The rooms were nothing spectacular and remarkable only for the old fashioned dowdy looking drapes and matchy matchy bedspreads. The library, game room and indoor pool were all too small for the size of the resort and somehow sad and depressing. The air hockey game had broken plastic "holes" on all 4 corners, so every shot was essentially a goal and the game was no fun to play. Really? You can't manage to have a properly functioning air hockey game? The food in the tavern was horrible. Our waitress was friendly but had no clue as to how to be a waitress. The pasta was overcooked, the scrod was obviously frozen and my daughter commented that the chicken pot pie was better at Boston market. My son ordered chili and ribs and they were both brought out at the same time. She apologized and said that her timing was off because there was a hair in a salad at another table and they had sent it back. TMI. Finally, there was a depressing "retirement home" smell that pervaded this resort. It smelled of overheated rooms and institutional, starchy food. Our advice --- save your money and go somewhere truly grand for a family vacation!!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, Guest Relations at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. As we take responsibility for the concerns of our guests, I have attempted to contact you to gain a better understanding of your experience, but you have not responded. Taking all constructive comments as an opportunity to learn, we wish that you had brought your feelings to our attention during your stay, so we had the opportunity to enhance your experience. We are truly sorry you did not enjoy your brief stay.

Cordially,
Monica Blessing
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We just returned from a three-day New Year's family vacation, and we had a spectacular time. It's not easy accommodating all of us, 20 in all, ranging from three to 87. But the staff of Mountain View Grand did an amazing job. The themed dinner nights were particularly popular for the whole family. While the children danced and played games on the dance floor (supervised by the staff), the adults could enjoy the buffet on the sidelines. Maybe not for every family, but for ours, there's nothing better than watching your children, grandchildren, nieces and nephews have the time of their life. There was no snow, which certainly isn't MVG's fault, but there was still plenty to do. Bretton Woods is only 20 minutes away. We skated, swam in the indoor pool, watched a movie in the movie theater, took a ride in the horse-drawn carriage, and enjoyed the fireworks on New Year's Eve. We ate most meals within the resort, and were pleasantly surprised by both the quality of the food and the attentiveness of the staff. Overall, we left Mountain View Grand with nothing but pleasant, irreplaceable memories.

Room Tip: I'd imagine that rooms at the end of the hallway are quieter (but a longer walk). While it's been completely renovated, it's still got old bones that creak.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeOfBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, Guest Relations at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Happy New Year! We appreciate you writing such a complimentary review. Our hope is that the experiences shared by your family during their New Year's stay with us will leave lasting impressions. We wish you and your family will come back every year to build more family memories.

Cordially,
Monica Blessing
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We had been to the Mountain View Grand in the summer before and had fond memories. It remains a beautiful property with great mountain views. Our experience was very different this time. There was little snow which limited the things to do (no cross country, snow mobiling, ice skating, etc.). Over Christmas we thought they might have extra additional indoor activities. No Santa Claus! The daily camp fire seemed like a nice activity until the attendant informed me "It is not a bonfire. It is a camp fire. That would be irreponsible to have a bonfire." He never offered us a S'more or any hospitality. We had no idea we needed reservations for the Christmas brunch. When we showed up we were chastised and told it was on the sign (it was not) and then on the brochure in our room (it was not) and then on the web site (it was not). They said they could seat us at 1:30. When we arrived, 1/2 of the tables were empty. Why the hassle?? I thought upon check in, it might be helpful to ask guests staying over Christmas if they planned to attend the brunch and that reservations were needed. They might even ask to make them for you! Other guests had this issue also. The strangest thing we encountered was room service. For two days the room was impeccable but on the next day, we returned to our room to find only one bed made and the bathroom barely cleaned but they did not hesitate to take the tip we left! The supervisor came right up and apologized but we thought this was very strange. Did they think we would not notice??? I am not quite sure why the change from what we remembered. The only thing I can say is I hope The Balsam's has reopened for next Christmas!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paw1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, Guest Relations at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor. I appreciate you taking the time to speak with me about your stay. I have addressed, with our management team, the constructive comments you personally expressed to me during our discussion. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a future stay.

Cordially,
Monica Blessing
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

My vacation to the Mountain View Grand Hotel and Resort was the best I've ever had. There was always an activity to take part in lead by charming staff or a quiet place to read my book surrounded by the beautiful, sprawling landscape. My favorite activity took place at the stables, a must-see for anyone who visits the resort. The Equestrian Director was enthusiastic, knowledgeable, and friendly, as were the horses under her care. I enjoyed a lovely ride through the mountains on a calm, dependable horse. Also enjoyable was meeting the informed farmer, who was all-too pleased to answer any questions about the happy animals. The food was delicious and savory, tended to by nice waiters who truly cared about making my experience pleasant. The room was above average and very comfortable.

Room Tip: First floor is best because you don't have to climb the stairs as high, unless you want to just use the elevator!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank horselover77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, Guest Relations at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and letting us know how pleased you were with your stay. Spectacular is always a word we love to hear from our guests. Your kind words have been shared with all of our staff, especially our Equestrian Director and farmer. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Cordially,
Monica Blessing
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We've stayed here a few times and have recommended it countless times. It's close to Santa's Village making it ideal for families! The indoor pool makes makes a winter trip to SV even better as does the hot tub. The spa is fantastic, making it a great place for both couples or girls weekends. The views are incredible and it's CLEAN!!!! The customer service is some of the best I've ever had. We had a couple of very minor issues when we've stayed but they more than made up for it. Ideal for all ages

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, Guest Relations at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind review of your recent stay. We appreciate knowing that you feel a stay with us can truly be enjoyed by either a couple, a family, or friends planning a getaway together. We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay!

Cordially,
Monica Blessing
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews