We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Historic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
Boxborough, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Historic Hotel”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

There is so much to do at the hotel and surrounding area that my family and I couldn't do it all in a three day stay. The kids activities are fantastic! Be sure to have a drink on the front porch in the afternoon - absolutely beautiful!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,220
    487
    151
    92
    64
See reviews for
797
789
31
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicopee
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We spent three days and two nights there, Mon-Wed, thinking it might be a slow period but the occupancy was rather high with a lot of families. The building and the grounds are spectacular, there are several outbuildings such as the farm, the golf clubhouse which also serves as an entrance to the beautiful outdoor pool, a conference facility and some others. Our room was a good size with a nice size closet. OK,nitty gritty time ! The bar area is large but very hospitable with an attentitive staff. A full menu is available and you can eat either at tbe bar or at tables which are also in the bar. There is a room which is used as a breakfast buffet area and a large room with wonderful view which is used as a dinning room but also has a smaller separate area for fine dinning. The high point of dinning which is actually the low point is the wine cellar. Outstanding cuisine exceeded only by the impeccable service, truly a memorable occasion Would we return, I could start the car now !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nrmartell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I stayed at the Mountain View Grand for just one night with my husband and would definitely return.We loved sitting on the porch with a drink with the wonderful view of the White Mountains all around us.Dining outdoors at the golf club restaurant was a postive experience. Although we had one incident of questionable service we were happy with service overall.

Room Tip: We booked last minute and got a first floor room. Book a room on a higher floor for a god view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank everydestination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Great resort, great value, super kid friendly, loved the movie theater in the basement with the leather recliners, croquet, shuffleboard, relaxing back to basics vacation. Every staff member went out of their way to make you feel great. Love it, want all our friends to try it, and already planning for the trip next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2011

My fiance' and I had a wonderful couple of days at the Mountain View Grand. And when they say grand they mean it! The view was just spectacular! You are surrounded by mountains and they can be enjoyed from everywhere; the pool, the club house, the veranda...everywhere! Our favorite spots were the outdoor pool and the veranda. The pool guys were awesome! Attentive and friendly, always ready to get whatever you wanted. The late afternoons on the veranda were just wonderful. We treated ourselves to the soker tub and were not disappointed. We bothed loved it and would indulge again! The service was fantastic pretty much everywhere on the property except for in the tavern. The servers were slow, as was the food getting to you. We ate there two nights and enjoyed the first night better than the second. We both felt the food was not worth the expense. A lot of the food lacked flavor and some items that were recommended were a disappointment. We were happier with what we had at the club house. We will definately eat at the club house again, even for dinner. We also had breakfast in our room and that was very good, although it was not delivered at the time we had reserved, and we had to call twice to make sure it was coming. All that aside, we will definately be returning! The Moutain View Grand is a gem!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katepaulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This is our third year at the Mountain View and once again we loved it. We have two children ages 8 and 5 and they absolutley love the kids camp that they have. The kids camp has a new director this year Paula is no longer there and we did miss here because she was really good. The new woman running the camp seems to doing a very good job also and the staff for the camp are all very nice. The kids loved the camp which runs 9:30 -11:30 and 2:00 to 4 every day at no charge. They played tennis, soccer, whiffle ball and did lots of arts and crafts. (pretty much anything they wanted). They also have a camp at night from 6 to 9 for $15 where the kids have activities and supper and allows the adults to have a nice dinner alone. I actually thought the food this year was the best its been in the three years we have been there. There are a lot of college kids working the summer and all are very nice although maybe a bit inexperienced as we had a few minor problems with the waitstaff at dinner one night waiting 30 minutes before the waiter came to our table. It may have not even been his fault but it made it tough with two kids. I think there may have been confusion of who had which table. Stuff happens. The next night we had a waitress named Christie and she was WONDERFUL!!!! We asked for her every night afterwards and every night she made the meal enjoyable even when my 5 yr old was starting to melt down. No doubt ask for her if she is available!! We even made a point to find the manager of the restaurant to tell how good she was. The front desk was also very pleasant and knowledgable and if you do have any problems ask for Lindsay. She has been there for a few years and is extremely helpful. The hotel is clean, scenic and very relaxing. Both the indoor and outdoor pool were clean. The menus for the hotel are online but if you have kids and want to save a few bucks bring something for the kids for lunch and/or breakfast so they can eat quick and get out to the pool or game room quickly. The golf course is a nice little 9 hole that plays about 3000 yards and is kept up very well. Its not very crowded so there is no problem getting in a quick 9 holes in 2 hours. Of course they still have the movie theater where they show a few movies a night or you can bring your own and they will put it on for you, the farm and horseback riding. We will definitely be back again and may even try a winter getaway.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjssms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We just returned from a wonderful stay at the Mountain Veiw Grand Resort. Three days there will have you completely relaxed and decompressed from the hectic pace of life.
A lovely, historic, grand resort from days gone by, which has been completely renovated. The staff is extremely courteous and guest oriented. Bell staff hold doors open for you, evening (4 to 8pm) music on the verandah which overlooks the beautiful White Mountains is enjoyable for all ages. We had dinner each evening in the Tavern Room - food was excellent and wait staff were very attentive. Though we did not have children with us, the resort has many activities for families and children to enjoy, while keeping in the grand style resort tradition. Our mountain view room offered sweeping views of the White Mountain range. At the end of several days of exploring the White Mountains, this resort is a quiet and peacful respite! (Note: If you require an elevator, there is an old style manual elevator in the resort which must be operated by one of the bell staff, otherwise, you can work off sitting too much by taking the stairs!). I look forward to returning to the Mountain View Grand in the near future!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
746 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
294 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
120 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
556 reviews
12.1 mi away
Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Property: Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Address: 101 Mountain View Rd, Whitefield, NH 03598-3149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa White Mountains, NH - Whitefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing