We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to live here!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I loved this hotel so much, I want to live there! The buildings and grounds are gorgeous, with stunning views. There is a lot to do depending on the season - I went in September, and the weather was perfect. I recommended it to a co-worker, who went in the middle of winter and loved the snowmobiling. In summer there's a golf course, and year-round, of course, a nice spa. For children, there's a game room, indoor and outdoor pools, and even a little theater where they can watch movies on a big screen (this was all free when I was there). There's a barn set back behind the hotel aways, where they have horses for trail rides, and sleigh rides in the winter.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j9good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,810 - 1,816 of 2,108 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

We recently spent two nights, three days at the MVG Resort. This is one of the few four diamond resorts in NH and we heard a lot about it over the past few years.....

We're on the fence about returning next summer and I'll tell you why.....Bear in mind that we're rating the Resort as a four diamond hotel

Positives: 1) nice room, but nothing special, 2) well maintained hotel and grounds considering its age (oldest operating "lift" in NH), 3) lots of activities - 9 hole golf, spa treatments galore, nice (lit) tennis courts, indoor & outdoor swimming pools, a croquet field (also lit) , 4) wondeful children's Montaineering Club + family friendly petting farm and 5) a comfortable 20 person movie theater in which you can rent over 500 titles.

Lots to like but a few things were amiss during our visit and in fairness to you, you may want to know......this is why we're "on the fence" about returning next summer.

The food service and quality was average at best. It took FOREVER for us to get our meals and drinks at every meal. The qualiity and the diversity of the food was NOT four diamonds. The wait staff appeared shorthanded and were NOT empowered to offer complementary anything to help sooth our frustrations! We were zero for the three times we ate in the "Tavern". Second, NO concierge to be found Tuesday or Wednesday - would have been nice, frankly expected every day in a four diamond resort during peak season!

Finally, if we do come back next summer, we'll bring all our "toys" e.g. golf clubs, tennis racquets, etc. since our daughter had a faboulous time at the Mountaineering Club and their wonderful activities, including right through dinner! Mrs Baker run a very nice program for the children if you're interested in some husband/wife time!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill123HydePark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I can't say enough good things about this place. First, the setting is positively breathtaking. Second, from the pictures, I expected the hotel to be beautiful - but a little run down. It is anything but run down! The entire place has been renovated so it is new, bright and beautifully detailed. The staff (perhaps with the exception of the front desk -- who because of language difficulties sometimes give you the blank stare) is top notch. They treat you like you are a VIP and are responsive to every request. There was plenty to do on site -- the pool is beautiful and we loved the fact that there was a restaurant bar right next to it. The tennis courts are great. The private movie theater was a novel touch that we really enjoyed. And the kids loved the evening smores!

As I see it - there were only two down sides to our vacation at the mountain view grand. The first is that I wish there had been more varied menu choices that were kid friendly. I'm not talking just about a more varied kids menu -- but my 14 year old would have liked to see more pasta and basic items on the menus. And I would have liked the food prices to have been a bit more reasonable. The restuarant tab runs up fast! Second, beware, the hotel will not allow children under 11 (or maybe it was 12) to take a horseback riding trail ride. For my 10 year old daughter - who has riden before - this was a major disappointment and really put a cloud over our trip. Frankly, we were all very much looking forward to going on a ride together. That said - it really was a wonderful trip.

Just as an aside, I strongly recommend the full day trip through Muddy Paws Kennel that provides white water rafting in the morning and then a dog sled ride on wheels in the evening.

Room Tip: Beware - there are upcharges for rooms with a view - rooms with a terrace etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingirl014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, Guest Relations at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2011

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay. Thank you for the compliment about the resort. We are sorry to have disappointed your daughter by not allowing her to take a trail ride during your stay. For the safety of our guests, we have found small children cannot command a full-size horse without extensive training. We do offer three dining venues each varying in price and food options so our guests can find just the right dining option for them. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mountain View Grand.

Cordially,
Monica Blessing
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We went with a small group that included 6 adults and 4 children ages 10 to 12. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Plenty of things for the kids to do. The scheduled kids activities were great, especially the evening event that included dinner and a host of activities to follow. A big thanks to the activities director, she does a great job. This was our first time to the resort and we were extremely pleased. The grounds are beautiful and the pool is second to none, at least in NH. It would be nice if they offered some evening entertainment for adults/families such as music, pool party, bingo, etc., as there is not a lot of places to go at night. Great place for families, we plan to be back at Christmas.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelG500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, Guest Relations at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review. We are glad to have helped keep your children happy and busy during your stay. Every season provides different scenery and different activities to enjoy at the resort. We look forward to your return visit during our magical Christmas season.

Cordially,
Monica Blessing
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

My family and I purchased a Travelzoo voucher for the Mountain View Grand and the place was awesome!
The staff was friendly, courteous, and accommodating and the property was immaculate. The views of the surrounding mountains were postcard material.
There was something to do for everyone... The Kid's Adventure Club, an indoor and outdoor pool, a game room and a movie room, the farm for the kids to explore while the adults could golf or spend time in the resort and get a massage, take a whirlpool, or just get pampered.
Looking forward to a return trip!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjt34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, Guest Relations at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review. We are glad that your stay was so much fun and you found lots to do. We hope that you will come back and visit us again soon.

Cordially,
Monica Blessing
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

This was my first solo getaway in years and it was wonderful. Mountain View Grand is the most gorgeous property with an unparalleled verandah view of the White Mountain range. I treated myself to a manicure, pedicure, computer stress massage and a Reiki treatment. All were relaxing and performed by true professionals. The massage and pedicure were my favourites but that is splitting hairs - it was all great. The buffet breakfast was indulgent, dinners yummy (asparagus salad and the pasta special were my choices), New England Clam Chowder and great service. My first room was noisey because of an outside air conditioning unit but they kindly moved me to another quieter room with a sound sooth radio. I wandered up to the barn to visit the animals - although I was solo, the children visiting with their families had tons to do. It's a great spot! Thanks for the memories.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love2EatQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We planned a hiking mini-vaca and stayed a few nights at the Mountain View Grand, a nice historic hotel, well maintained with all the modern commodities and immaculate rooms, the hotel is powered with wind energy. We really enjoyed our fine dinning experience in the Garden room: snails in pastry, mozzarella de buffala and grilled veggies, Maine lobster & asparagus risotto and a nice californian wine...the wine is list is extensive! The staff was very nice, the view is awesome and the verandah is perfect to unwind, have a glass of wine and admire the mountains around....there is a nice indoor pool, firness facilities and great outdoor pool at the clubhouse. I enjoyed also petting the friendly animals at the farm nearby...It is a very nice place and when we will go back to hike in the fall we will definitely stay again at the Mountain View Grand!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRacine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, Guest Relations at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2011

Dear Guest:

Your review of the hotel is sincerely appreciated. Thank you! Enjoying the beauty of the mountain peaks as well as the resort delicacies is a pleasure, all its own. It was our pleasure to have welcomed you to the hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the fall!

Cordially,
M. Blessing
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
12 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
325 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
776 reviews
9.8 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
218 reviews
12.2 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,844 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Bethlehem
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Mountain View Rd, Whitefield, NH 03598-3149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range: $177 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa White Mountains, NH - Whitefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing