We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Choppy seating, Uneven service.”
Review of Harvest Tavern

Harvest Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Harvest Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Choppy seating, Uneven service.”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

As mentioned, the changes made to enlarge the Tavern are just kind of weird. The Tavern is no longer cosy, but somewhat cold - especially at night when the large picture windows in the front room act as mirrors.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank MitziMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    94
    51
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friday dinner”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

The bar area had a nice atmosphere and is centrally located at the hotel, but the dining area seemed a little too sterile while the service was slow. Food was very good, although mostly comfort food.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mera99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepperell, MA
Level Contributor
137 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, service and view!”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Two dinners, one breakfast buffet and a table in front of the picture window with an incredible view. Add impeccable service, (thank you, Justin and Max), and a carefully prepared meal and lovely presentation. That is what we experienced on our recent visit to The Tavern. The filet mignon was cooked exactly as my husband requested it and my salmon was moist and perfectly cooked. Our water was continually refreshed and the house wine was quite good. I will certainly come back the next time we visit the White Mountains

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buttonwoodbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very beautiful tavern!”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

19 women from the New Hampshire women's golf Assoc stayed here we had a wonderful time food was great and we got to break in a new Bartender Dan and he did a GREAT job!!! Mixing all those drinks for a group of roudy women.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Good Service”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Our experience was very good and so was the food. We enjoy the quietness of the Tavern and have no complaints. While it is not a "mountain-top experience" per se, it is a great place to dine. The restored Mountain View Resort is quaint and relaxing and substantially improved over the years from when it was first renovated.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Busteron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvest Tavern also viewed

Whitefield, White Mountains
Whitefield, White Mountains
 
Whitefield, White Mountains
Littleton, White Mountains
 

Been to Harvest Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing