We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with a lovely view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel with a lovely view!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We visited the Riverside Hotel for our anniversary on July 3rd. I selected it almost exclusively because there is a sleep number bed in every room (oh, and because of the positive reviews). When we arrived, the owner happened to be there. He was very nice and we spoke with him about the area for a while. The employees, too, were welcoming and friendly.
It was their off season so it was pretty empty (aka … nice and quiet!). Our room was gorgeous. Wood floors, king size bed, clean, large bathroom, with all the little amenities you would expect. The view from our balcony was just lovely. If you are in the NH or VT area, I definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony ... each one has a seating area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodchipperwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank L, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your comments and review for the Riverside Hotel. First off, I just want to thank you for choosing our hotel to spend your special occasion! Our Sleep Number beds are a great attraction for many guests and are thrilled you enjoyed it.

Thanks for mentioning the balcony, they are just a bit more than our standard rooms, but definitely worth it.

We would love to see you again on your next visit to the area.

Frank LaGrande
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    33
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
45
73
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Brattleboro if you are looking for something special. You could stay in at the Super 8, or a similar budget hotel, but it would not have the charm this place did. All of the rooms overlook the river, and it's just far enough from town that you won't even notice it. It will feel like you are in the woods, next to a beautiful winding river. It's romantic in its isolation, and if you were so inclined, there is a nice pedestrian bridge crossing the river right next to the hotel that could be used for a romantic sunset walk. Inside, the rooms all have nice hardwood floors and dark wood furnishing, giving it a rustic appeal that is absent from many New England hotels and bed and breakfasts. You can pay slightly more for a room with a balcony, but it's not necessary since the lobby has a fairly extensive one too. Brattleboro is an interesting town; it has fine dining and a small town culture that makes it a great place to visit for the weekend and staying at the Riverside is a great way to enhance the trip experience. It costs a little more than chain hotels, but it's worth the price if you're looking for a good experience in Brattleboro instead of just a place to lay your head for the night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank L, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Ryan,

Thank you for writing such a beautiful review. We are thrilled that you had a great stay with us. The Brattleboro, VT area is just minutes away and features museums, art galleries, local restaurants, and nightlife. There are amazing nature walks and trails within walking distance of the hotel. Thanks for mentioning all the detail in the rooms and the river views. We would love to see you again the next time you visit the area!

Frank LaGrande
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were referred to this hotel by another hotel in the area that had no vacancy. We were pleasantly surprised to not only find this hotel easily off of rte 91 on the border of NH/VT with a liquor store next door (easy walk), but that it was either relatively new or had recently been entirely refurbished. It was VERY affordable ($135/night with AAA on May 18 2013). The room was VERY clean, very large, with large flat screen TV, coffee maker, fridge, "crabtree & evelyn" creams, shampoo's etc in bath, large windows that opened for fresh air and a view of the Connecticut river (we did not have a balcony but didn't need it as ALL the rooms have a river view and there is a public balcony that faces the river). King bed was a "sleep number" bed and very comfy. There was also a pull out sofa and desk and chair. Rooms have hardwood flooring and 2 large scatter rugs. Continental brkfast was just enough for us and the brkfast area was spotless...oh and even the "decaf" coffee was HOT!! :) There is no pool (you could swim in the river if you so desired) but there is a work-out room with a couple of treadmills and a few other machines and weights.

A few suggestions to the owners would be to put a full length mirror somewhere in the room and maybe a small table and 2 chairs to sit at....the rooms are huge and so there is ample room for it. Also more towel racks are needed in the bathroom along with an extra set of towels. Other than that I can not find anything else wrong with this little gem!! And I am very, very picky!!

We ate at "The Marina" a few miles away and sat outside with view of the West river meeting the Connecticut. Great sunset and food was great with entertainment in the bar area after.. but bar service left little to be desired. This will be a separate review. :(

Room Tip: rooms are available with a balcony for extra $$.. but all rooms face the river and there is a public...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmt8479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank L, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your review! We love to hear when guests find us and have a great experience. The hotel is impeccably maintained by our attentive staff and the owner is committed to providing an outstanding experience for all guests. We have noted your suggestions and appreciate your feedback to improve the hotel for an even more enjoyable stay. Thank you for staying at the Riverside Hotel, we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

we needed to be in the area for a wedding in grafton, vt. (about 40 minutes away) i picked this based on photos online and thought it could be hit or miss. it was absolutely fantastic... i wish there were more places like this. clean hardwood floors and a great king-size bed. we weren't sure if our 'sleep number bed' was broken... but it wasn't a good sales pitch for us... :) the entire facility is immaculately clean. the shower looked like it had never been used. breakfast was better than most. the view amazing. the staff super friendly. the only thing i meant to mention to the front desk is to have housekeeping check the alarm clock between guests... after checking in at midnight friday night, we were woken up by a 6:15 alarm that we did not set... and it's never easy to figure out an alarm you don't know :) we have a 10 month old and we actually felt comfortable crawling around the floor in our room with him. i highly recommend this place to anyone that needs to be in the area. mr. saba, you might consider turning this into a chain!

Room Tip: i don't think there's a bad room, we did a king, no balcony and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrandmrswoods2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank L, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Mr. and Mrs. Woods,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Riverside Hotel. We appreciate the compliments regarding the property and also thank you for bringing to our attention the areas we could improve. We have instructed the housekeeping staff to check all alarm clocks to make sure there is no alarm set between guests. We have also included instructions in the rooms to operate the Sleep Number beds.
Regarding the views from the rooms, you are right: every room in the hotel has a great view of the Connecticut River.

Thank you,

Frank LaGrande
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraków, Malopolskie, Poland
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2013

a gem, spotless, would stay there anytime and staff was excellent. Above average rooms well above average. Great location for visiting kids in college in nearby cities. Great views of ct river and state liquor store is your neighbor

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank L, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks for staying with us! We're happy you found us. It's true, the Riverside Hotel is convenient to both Keene, NH and Brattleboro, VT schools for graduations, parent's weekends, or just a surprise visit anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollis, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We rented the Riverside Hotel for a family celebration and 100 guests. Mr. Pierre Saba was very gracious and accommodating, wanting to please us and make it a success. And a great success it was. An excellent caterer from Keene, recommended by Mr. Saba, provided the dinner, a dance floor was laid down and we had hired an excellent band. The weather (in May) was lovely, so people mingled inside and outside, many walking to the river and sitting on the newly built dock. The staff was flexible, even when the set-up by the caterer did not go as planned right away, and many of us stayed overnight in the comfortable bedrooms with excellent views. The breakfast was more than adequate and the coffee was great. The setting of this hotel is superb ! The Connecticut River is right there with wild life and canoes going by to keep us busy. And Main Street in Brattleboro is 10 minutes away, while Keene to the East is not that much farther. We can recommend this hotel highly and wish Mr. Saba much success, thanking him for his assistance and willingness to please.

Room Tip: we had an executive suite with kitchen facilities, ideal for guests who stay a bit longer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabachnikoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eufaula, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We just happened upon this hidden gem of a hotel....We were not familiar with this area and were just passing through....We saw this hotel and thought we would try it....The man at the desk was very helpful...The rooms were very nice...from the hardwood floors to the comfortable bedding....But the view was the highlight!! All of the rooms face the Connecticut River and it is the most beautiful sight.....The leaves were just turning and this made it even more breathtaking!! I would highly recommend this Hotel.....It was very quite also...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony or patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jctoutdoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chesterfield
1.7 mi away
Chesterfield Inn
Chesterfield Inn
#1 of 2 in West Chesterfield
301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
550 reviews
2.3 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#2 of 10 in Brattleboro
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: 20 Riverside Drive, West Chesterfield, NH 03466
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > West Chesterfield
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in West Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel in West Chesterfield NH, is just minutes from Brattleboro VT. The smoke-free Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Hotel is only 1/4 mile from exit 3 off Interstate 91 just over the border into NH. The hotel is located on the Connecticut river with breathtaking views from every room. All rooms feature King size Sleep Number beds, Brazilian hardwood floors, exquisite furnishings and appointments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing