We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Certificate of Excellence
St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
204 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Very pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

This hotel looks like if it was built yesterday. Beautiful hardwood floors, super comfy beds and great views of the river. Small little details, reservation was not accurate but fixed promptly, few towels in bathroom and shy continental breakfast. I would highly recommend this to anybody visiting the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    33
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
45
73
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

We enjoyed ourselves so much in that idyllic and peaceful setting.The view from our room was just perfect and we enjoyed watching the dock and people going out in boats. I told my husband next time I really wanted a room with a balcony. There was plenty of access to the wrap-around porch but our own balcony would be wonderful. Breakfast was very fresh and the entire hotel was extremely clean with tasteful and attractive decor.
.

Room Tip: the basic king room is very spacious and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeandg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
small town, nh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

I live only about 15 minutes away and come to this hotel on my own when I need a break from my six kids. The hotel is beautiful with spectacular views and sunsets. Very quiet and peaceful and close to Brattleboro, VT or Keene, NH if you want a nice dinner out. You can't do better in the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank NhMomof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saratoga springs, ny
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We paid extra for the river view, and had nice deck chairs on our patio. The room was huge and delightful, with a kitchenette! I think it was built to perhaps be a hotel/condo but never made it to condo. We used the pleasant work out room, and had a delicious continental breakfast (included). The only downside for me was that I forgot to ask for a feather pillow. Beautiful bed and linens, but a foam pillow. I love feather.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizm_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

We had a long drive on our way to visit good friends in Maine, so we stopped along I-91 just across the Connecticut River from Brattleboro, VT. At the Riverside Hotel, we relaxed in the deluxe accommodations and super clean room with a beautiful river view. Just before the driveway, we found a general store and a liquor store with great prices! No taxes on alcoholic beverages in NH! We enjoyed our cocktails from our private waterfront veranda and watched an amphibious car cruising around in the river. The staff offered up several choices for restaurants and provided a dining guide for the surrounding area. We had a restful night in the sleep number bed before continuing our journey the next day. Just what the doctor ordered for the weary traveler. I highly recommend this hotel. The only thing missing is a restaurant/bar, but we found what we needed without any stress or strain.

Room Tip: Ask for the dining guide when checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroleFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

I was initially hesitant about booking this place for our wedding reception, because I read a review here that there was a lack of organization from another bridge. Now that I've been dealing with them in planning my own reception, I wanted to do my bit and put my two cents in.
We've had a fabulous experience with Pierre (owner) and several of his staff members. All emails and phone calls have been returned promptly and they have been very helpful as we coordinate with various vendors. Shayla supplied us with a printout of the room dimensions as well as an itemized list of what is included in the site rental which made things so easy!
We negotiated a 10 percent discount for our guests, and the rooms are hands down the nicest in the area. Their conference room overlooks this river and even on a rainy day (when we dropped in on short notice to have a look around, and Pierre made himself immediately available to answer questions) it was absolutely beautiful.
Brides in the Brattleboro & Keene area....give this one a look!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greycella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrowsburg, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

A beautiful relaxing place to stay. Our check - in woman was so very helpful. I would not hesitate to stay there again. Clean, comfortable and first class all the way.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WilWul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank L, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. All the features you mentioned are great points about the hotel. The rooms are definitely larger than most hotels rooms and the bathroom is nicely appointed and large as well. I will most definitely share your comments with Rebekah. I'm glad you such a good experience. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chesterfield
1.7 mi away
Chesterfield Inn
Chesterfield Inn
#1 of 2 in West Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#2 of 10 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: 20 Riverside Drive, West Chesterfield, NH 03466
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > West Chesterfield
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in West Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel in West Chesterfield NH, is just minutes from Brattleboro VT. The smoke-free Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Hotel is only 1/4 mile from exit 3 off Interstate 91 just over the border into NH. The hotel is located on the Connecticut river with breathtaking views from every room. All rooms feature King size Sleep Number beds, Brazilian hardwood floors, exquisite furnishings and appointments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing