We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Knitting Retreat Weekend”
Review of Chesterfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chesterfield Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2008

As a yarn shop owner I lead a group of knitters twice yearly in a get-away weekend. The Chesterfield Inn has been our host for the last three retreats. In a nutshell:

The bedrooms are spacious, tastefully decorated and clean.
The common rooms are inviting and spacious; don't forget to check out the sunroom and terrace.
The food is delicious, with excellent presentation and the chef is extremely flexible in terms of dietary needs. For breakfast, don't miss the caramel french toast. The house hummus and toasted pita chips are a treat and there is no need to make dinner reservations. The Chesterfield dining room is one of the best dinner restaurants in the area,
The staff is friendly, courteous and most encouraging of suggestions.

And you just may see us there knitting away, chatting, and enjoying fine food and friendships.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank creativefibers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 315 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2008

A wonderful place!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davenport021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2008

Friendly is what I read in every review........well, we did not dirve for miles in the rain or something like that. so we were not desperate to get anywhere. Arriving at the Inn we had to 'find' the frontdesk clerk......... When we did she said "I get to eat occasionaly" carrying her plate to the frontdesk...........So people don't arrive at her dinnertime!! Our dinner was fine but after I went to ask for the SMTP.....line to be able to send my email from Outlook Express. The answer was: " No one ever had problems with sending email, you don't need anything to send email and we have nothing to giive you.". That is all fine IF everyone uses Hotmail or gmail...........NOT when you use Outook or Outlook express. I have to say THANKS a LOT for being so knowlegable, rude and impolite...........I have no remarks about the garden, or accomodations, they are all fine and you don't hear the highway when all doors and windows are closed.
A somewhat disappointed guest.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank eurpean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BettyNewHampshire, Owner at Chesterfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2008

To me, this sounds like a misunderstanding due to the language barrier between the front desk staff and a European traveler. All of us at the front desk have a basic understanding of how computers work, but are not necessarily technically savvy about all aspects of e-mail and computer usage. As to there being no one at the
front desk when the guests arrived, the person working had stepped back to the kitchen for a moment to pick up her dinner, which she eats at the front desk so that she can be available to guests at all times. We apologize for any misunderstanding, and appreciate the feedback and opportunity to improve communication with our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

This is a charming, well-maintained inn, located only a few miles east of Brattleboro VT and about 15-20 minutes' drive from Keene NH. It is a perfect base for exploring the Monadnock region.

Everything about the inn works. The rooms are large, comfortable, and attractively furnished. We chose the least expensive room available, and its only flaw was a little noise from the highway about 50-75 yards away. The bed was great. Housekeeping was flawless.

The inn has a comfortable lounge and patio with peaceful views of the lawn and wild flower-filled fields as well as distant hills. Complimentary tea and cookies are served there in the afternoon. The complimentary breakfast is exceptionally good: your choice of prepared-to-order omelets, pancakes, etc., as well as fruit, cereals, pastry, and excellent coffee. The dining room is quiet at dinner, but it offers a surprisingly large choice of entrees and a full bar, including a fairly-priced wine list. Not all the dishes we sampled were home runs, but they were all good.

The staff of the inn are friendly, welcoming, and knowledgeable about the region. We enjoyed our visit, and we're almost certain to return.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Pullman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

The Chesterfield Inn was a warm welcome at the end of a two hour drive through a rain. It is conveniently located between the towns of Brattelboro, VT and Keene, NH. The staff were wonderful: warm, knowledgeable, and professional. Our room was tastefully decorated, the bed was quite comfortable and the place was immaculate. Breakfast, cooked to order each morning was scrumptous. The grounds were quite beautiful. If you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing getaway, this is your place.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nataka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2008

I just returned from an overnight stay at the Chesterfield Inn. The Inn itself is just charming, ... with fireplaces, wood beamed ceilings, rustic doors and a nice country motif. The setting overlooking a pond is very peaceful. The room I stayed in was large, and had a nice sized balcony overlooking the pond and property. The dining room was elegant and has beautiful views.

The staff at the Chesterfield were exceptional. You are warmly greeted at the front desk and escorted to your room. The waitresses for both dinner and breakfast were friendly, polite and efficient!

The food was excellent as well! The complimentary breakfast was full course served at your table. The apple pancakes were delicious!

Overall I would say this is probably the nicest inn I have ever stayed at and I would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bdpatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2008

We were impressed with the graciousness of our hosts and the beauty of the Chesterfield Inn, Chesterfield, New Hampshire.

We had relaxing, unrushed meals, very pretty, large and comfortable rooms, and enjoyed visiting with family in the spacious living room. The grounds are lovely and the overall setting is very pleasant and peaceful. Everything is immaculately maintained.

We highly recommend the Chesterfield Inn as an individual retreat, family gathering place or as a stopover when your journey takes you through southeastern Vermont or southwestern New Hampshire.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mghg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chesterfield
1.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
174 reviews
12.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#2 of 10 in Brattleboro
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
19.6 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
348 reviews
11.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesterfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesterfield Inn

Address: 20 Cross Rd, West Chesterfield, NH 03466-3208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > West Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Chesterfield
Price Range: $129 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chesterfield Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our romantic New Hampshire inn, a Select Registry Property, on 10 beautiful acres in Chesterfield, NH. Our New Hampshire luxury inn features 15 beautifully appointed guest rooms with fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, and private terraces. Enjoy unforgettable gourmet breakfasts, soothing in-room spa treatments and romantic candlelit dinners. Well-behaved dogs are always welcome at our pet friendly bed and breakfast in New Hampshire. The perfect choice for travelers looking for a romantic Keene bed and breakfast or luxurious Brattleboro B&B! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Chesterfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterfield Hotel West Chesterfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing