We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved this place!”
Review of Chesterfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chesterfield Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Beautiful inn! Exceeded my expectations! I had a wonderful stay at the Chesterfield Inn! Friendly staff! I'd like to go back in the autumn! Room was clean, breakfast was delicious. Very helpful staff!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JudyHueber, Owner at Chesterfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

One of the nicest compliments for the innkeeper and staff is for you to say that we exceeded your expectations. We are here to make your stay more comfortable, and are glad that you had such a nice time. We'll see you in the Fall!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 315 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

My wife surprised me with a weekend away as a birthday gift. Normally I do the research when we travel, but the Chesterfield Inn was her choice and she made a terrific choice.

This was a short hour and half drive for us, which made it an easy getaway. There is plenty to do locally as the inn is a short trip across the line to Brattleboro, Vt, as well as many small typical New England villages, and the Green Mtns. ski areas.

We were in room 14, with a gas log fireplace, which warmed the room nicely. Our room was nicely furnished, maintained, and important, clean. There was also a good size under counter frig stocked with juice, beer, and wine on the honor system. Another nice touch was having wifi, we were able to touch base with our cat sitter back home.

Breakfast was great, many choices, and served on the sun porch off the main dining room. We had dinner at the inn on Saturday night as we liked the idea of not having to leave the inn. That was a wise decision. Our meals were fantastic. We split the wild game appetizer, which were grilled buffalo and boar sausage, just great. Salads were served with a maple vinaigrette, really tasty. My wife had rack of lamb and I had pork shank. Very large portions, almost too much, with roasted veggies and risotto. Deserts were also great, and our server Lisa timed the courses perfectly. This was fine dining in a very casual atmosphere.

Overall a wonderful weekend and we will plan to return. There is only one issue that we would inquire about on a return visit. The mattress on our bed was very firm, and a bit uncomfortable for us. We would inquire as to if there might be a less firm bed in another room. Again this was a minor issue and did not diminish our enjoyment of the inn.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank bogeyjim30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JudyHueber, Owner at Chesterfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

We're so glad that you enjoyed your visit! One of the nicest things about staying in the inn is that you can enjoy a delicious dinner without having to drive anywhere. It makes for a very relaxing evening; when you finish dinner, you can just walk to your room and enjoy the light of the fireplace form your bed. We'll look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The Chesterfield Inn was a wonderful, relaxing experience! The environment was peaceful, impeccable and welcoming. Tea time in the "parlor" was nice on a cold afternoon. The breakfast was first class and our room was very comfortable and spotless! Thank you for a great stay, and we highly recommend this Inn.

Room Tip: Room # 17 was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JudyHueber, Owner at Chesterfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

We're so glad that you enjoyed your time here! Room 17 is a unique room on the back of the house with a cathedral ceiling, a loft and French doors leading out to the deck. Full breakfast is included with your room, and includes homemade muffins, fresh fruit, and several choice of entrees such as omelets, pancakes, french toast, eggs any style, and sides of bacon, sausage, ham and home fries. You won't go home hungry!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We found this room on the web. We were lucky that we were able to stay one night. We were welcomed in, as if we were old friends. Brought up to Room 15, which we thoroughly loved. It was two rooms. One was a large room, with our king size bed. The other room had a gas fire place and both were decorated beautifully. We did not want to leave the room. We did have dinner reservations and the room was so pretty, with the low lighting and candles, and soft background music. We each enjoyed our meal and loved talking to our server, Lisa. The foot was spectacular. We took our after dinner drinks and went to the fire in the parlor. After that, we went out front and sat with Kathy for a bit. We felt like we had known all the staff, for many years. Each and every one treated us with warmth and care. We had a delicious breakfast and did not want the morning to end. We will definitely be back. We have never stayed in such a beautiful inn, where every detail was addressed. We can't wait to come back.!

Room Tip: In the winter months, I would definitely advise getting a room with a gas fireplace. it was simpley...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargieandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JudyHueber, Owner at Chesterfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. The personal touch is one of our specialties here at the inn; a friendly welcome for all and attentiveness to whatever will make our guests' stay special. We are happy to have you for just a one night stay, and only require two night stays during foliage season or on holiday weekends. We are so glad that you chose us and we look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Myself and my wife decided to write this review because the Chesterfield Inn earns every bit of praise that we can get out on paper. We picked this Inn after deciding to go away for a quiet weekend somewhere in New Hampshire. We eventually decided on the Chesterfield because of it was within driving distance from great little towns such as Keene NH and Brattleboro VT. It is also surrounded by state parks , ski resorts and other outdoor type activities. The Inn itself is beautifully maintained and manicured both inside and out. We were more than impressed with the cleanliness of the room and the attention to detail that the innkeepers adhere to in this area. We are both very picky when it comes to hotel/bb rooms and we can say that, in this inn, we felt as close to home as one can feel when away. The second thing about the inn that we absolutely fell in love with is their on premise restaurant. The food, decor and ambiance were second to none and we would highly recoomend it. If you are looking for a quiet, cozy ,and service oriented place to stay while visiting this area, the Chesterfield Inn should be number 1 on your list.

Room Tip: there are a few rooms that are pet friendly,so make sure you check the website if you do not want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JudyHueber, Owner at Chesterfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay; we try to provide a comfortable room, delicious food and personal service to everyone who stays here. The inn is in a great location to really enjoy the outdoors, with the hiking and snow shoes trails right in town at Pisgah Park and in the Madame Sherri Forest. We'll look forward to seeing you again sometime!
Judy Hueber, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband, our dog, and myself stayed in Room 19 October 4-6, 2013. There are several "pet" rooms but you would never know a dog (or any other pet) had ever been in the room. Normally our dog would have been nose to the carpet if he had smelled a dog or cat. Nothing. All the staff are friendly and helpful. The room is spacious with high ceilings, large windows, a king bed, gas fireplace, which we didn't get to use as it was warm, a jacuzzi tub for 2 and french doors opening onto a private deck overlooking the meadow/garden. And most important, it was spotless. We did not eat dinner in the dining room because we were usually still out browsing around at dinner time; however, we did eat breakfast there. Breakfast is included with the price of your room. Probably one of the best omelets I have had in a very long time so I can only imagine how good dinner their dinners are. Tea and cookies are served in the parlor at 4 pm every day. We had such a wonderful time we already booked for next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesCindyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

One of our favourites ,we had a large room overlooking the Garden on the 2nd level .It had a fireplace which we didn't need to use high ceilings and large windows on 2sides allowing the light to flood in .The king bed was very comfortable .
We stayed 2 nights and it was a delight to just go downstairs to the lounge for a pre dinner drink before moving into the dining room for a delightful meal .
The breakfasts are also good and I gather this is a popular place with return guests so I would think it advisable to book ahead.
All the staff are friendly and helpful and judy the owner suggested some walking trails in the nearby state forest which was most enjoyable .She also suggested we lunch at the Marina restaurant which has a wonderful outlook and good basic food

Room Tip: We had room 18 on the 2nd level overlooking the garden .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chesterfield
1.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
174 reviews
12.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#2 of 10 in Brattleboro
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
19.6 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
348 reviews
11.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesterfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesterfield Inn

Address: 20 Cross Rd, West Chesterfield, NH 03466-3208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > West Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Chesterfield
Price Range: $129 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chesterfield Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our romantic New Hampshire inn, a Select Registry Property, on 10 beautiful acres in Chesterfield, NH. Our New Hampshire luxury inn features 15 beautifully appointed guest rooms with fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, and private terraces. Enjoy unforgettable gourmet breakfasts, soothing in-room spa treatments and romantic candlelit dinners. Well-behaved dogs are always welcome at our pet friendly bed and breakfast in New Hampshire. The perfect choice for travelers looking for a romantic Keene bed and breakfast or luxurious Brattleboro B&B! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Chesterfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterfield Hotel West Chesterfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing