We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chesterfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chesterfield Inn
Certificate of Excellence
greenwich ct
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Peaceful !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We have had the pleasure of staying here on 3 separate occasions. The rooms are clean and roomy. The staff is friendly . Now to the food!! Breakfast is amazing . Don't miss the muffins ! The dinners were great! Totally pet friendly . We will absolutely be returning !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ksf921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    50
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
204
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Suffern, New York
Level Contributor
229 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We just returned from a fabulous getaway weekend at the Chesterfield Inn. What a wonderful way to escape the hustle and bustle of New York life and just relax. The inn is very clean and neat as well as being nicely decorated. Our bed was comfortable and the room (#17) had a nice deck with a table and chairs. The breakfasts were fantastic and the dinner was the best. We ordered the trout and the filet mignon and both were delicious. It was fun to just hang out on the terrace in the afternoon, drink tea and eat freshly baked cookies. The staff was friendly and accommodating and the owner, Judy, was a delight to talk to. There is plenty to do in the area. We hiked the Madame Sherri forest and strolled through Brattleboro, VT. I'm sure there is more we could have done if we were there for a longer period of time but we also wanted down time at the inn. We would highly recommend the Chesterfield Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leighann Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is my second visit to the Inn and I will return whenever I am in the area overnight. The accomodations are superb with beautiful antiques, modern plumbing, and scenic surroundings. For both visits I took a room in the "pets welcome" area of the inn. A truly special experience that includes a gas fireplace AND a private patio with access to the carefully manicured lawn surrounded by open fields. My dinner on Saturday was an event in itself -- thank you again to the superb chef! The staff at the desk and in the restaurant were wonderful and friendly. Overall a memorable experience I hope to repeat frequently!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed here for three nights to attend graduation at a nearby school. What a wonderful experience! The room was roomy, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The staff were helpful and friendly without being intrusive. Breakfast each day, and dinner which we had one night, were delicious. Bullfrogs and red-winged blackbirds serenaded us in the pond out front. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I was fortunate enough to stay at the inn this long weekend and loved every minute of it! The staff was very welcoming and helpful... they were happy to suggest a variety of activities to fill our itinerary. The inn has a great location close to Brattleboro, VT (good shopping and restaurants), a variety of hiking trails and downtown Keene, NH (more shopping and more great places to eat!).

Our room was wonderful; very cozy with old country charm, a nice break from all the modernism you see in hotels these days. The beds were out of this world comfortable! We also enjoyed the flat screen TV during our downtime.

Finally, the food was divine, Excellent breakfasts were included each morning and we were lucky enough to dine at the inn for dinner one night. The filet was fantastic and I highly recommend.

Overall, I highly suggest a visit to the inn, whether for a getaway or a delicious dinner. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

This was the first time I have been let down by the tripadvisor community. I really fail to understand how people give this place such good ratings. Firstly, the inn is very close to a mini-highway with lots of cars zooming by (very noisy). Second, the minute we walked into our room it smelled like urine - likely the inn's cat that used our room as its restroom. Third, the rooms were rather outdated. Fourth, the shower curtains were really quite dirty. The only reason I gave this place 2 instead of 1 star was due to the comfort of the beds. All in all, however, I would highly advise you to find a different inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mawifo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BettyNewHampshire, Owner at Chesterfield Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
First of all, please allow me to apologize for your disappointing stay at the inn. Being situated on a busy road is a blessing and a curse, because it gives us a convenient location, but not the silence that you would find at an inn at the end of a dirt road. I'm glad that you had a comfortable bed and got a good night's sleep in spite of our proximity to the road.

I wish that you had let us know about the issues with your room so that we could have made things right for you while your were here. I will certainly be in touch with you directly to try to make things right now, and to garner any other constructive criticism so that we can serve our guests better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester, nh
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights during an extended weekend in April, 2013. We stayed in Room 20. My husband had originally booked this room as a birthday surprise for me during the winter, but the flu and stomach bug caused our babysitters to postpone their commitment. The innkeeper was very understanding in allowing my husband to re-book.

The Room: Very relaxing and beautiful mountain views. The chairs in front of the gas fireplace with comfortable with the perfect fleece throw for added warmth. The jacuzi tub, though a bit challenging to get in and out of, was so inviting, and suited us perfectly. We loved the extra long counter space in the bathroom, along with plenty of cabinet space, as well as, the coffee pot and refrigerator.

The plush carpet was wonderful to walk around on and the cd player was an added touch that was a pleasant surprise.

The king size bed with the mattress foam topper was the ultimate in comfort! We have never slept so well at any other hotel/inn as we did here. Because of the comfort, we are now looking to purchase a foam mattress cover for our own bed. I usually bring my own pillow, but I didn't need to here.

The weather turned warm enough that we could sit outside on our private deck. Though the inn does state non-smoking, there was an ash try on the table of the deck. Our deck was separated from our neighbor's by a large bush, but we are grateful they did not smoke, as it certainly would have affected our enjoying the air. Also, you will hear traffic from route 9, but it did not affect us from relaxing and enjoying the property.

If you use your gps to find the location, ignore your gps if it tells you to take Brook Rd. Just stay on Rte 9, as you will come upon the inn right after you pass Brook Rd.

Food: We had dinner and breakfast for 3 days and enjoyed our meals very much, as well as, the atmosphere.

Area: We spent time travelling to Manchester, VT to visit Hildene. There are also nice shops and outlets in the area. We stopped at Rachel's for delicious home made soups and sandwiches for lunch--it was perfect! We also explored Brattleboro and its shops and had soups and sandwiches at Amy's Cafe and Arts with a view on the water--very nice. To shop in Brattleboro though, you do need coins for parking meters.

We would certainly welcome another stay here at this lovely place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PattiandBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chesterfield
1.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
3.6 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#2 of 10 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
2.3 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#5 of 10 in Brattleboro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesterfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesterfield Inn

Property: Chesterfield Inn
Address: 20 Cross Road, West Chesterfield, NH 03466
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > West Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chesterfield Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our romantic New Hampshire inn, a Select Registry Property, on 10 beautiful acres in Chesterfield, NH. Our New Hampshire luxury inn features 15 beautifully appointed guest rooms with fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, and private terraces. Enjoy unforgettable gourmet breakfasts, soothing in-room spa treatments and romantic candlelit dinners. Well-behaved dogs are always welcome at our pet friendly bed and breakfast in New Hampshire. The perfect choice for travelers looking for a romantic Keene bed and breakfast or luxurious Brattleboro B&B! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Chesterfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterfield Hotel West Chesterfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing