We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Special Experience”
Review of Chesterfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chesterfield Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is my second visit to the Inn and I will return whenever I am in the area overnight. The accomodations are superb with beautiful antiques, modern plumbing, and scenic surroundings. For both visits I took a room in the "pets welcome" area of the inn. A truly special experience that includes a gas fireplace AND a private patio with access to the carefully manicured lawn surrounded by open fields. My dinner on Saturday was an event in itself -- thank you again to the superb chef! The staff at the desk and in the restaurant were wonderful and friendly. Overall a memorable experience I hope to repeat frequently!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Chesterfield Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 309 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed here for three nights to attend graduation at a nearby school. What a wonderful experience! The room was roomy, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The staff were helpful and friendly without being intrusive. Breakfast each day, and dinner which we had one night, were delicious. Bullfrogs and red-winged blackbirds serenaded us in the pond out front. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harriet56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I was fortunate enough to stay at the inn this long weekend and loved every minute of it! The staff was very welcoming and helpful... they were happy to suggest a variety of activities to fill our itinerary. The inn has a great location close to Brattleboro, VT (good shopping and restaurants), a variety of hiking trails and downtown Keene, NH (more shopping and more great places to eat!).

Our room was wonderful; very cozy with old country charm, a nice break from all the modernism you see in hotels these days. The beds were out of this world comfortable! We also enjoyed the flat screen TV during our downtime.

Finally, the food was divine, Excellent breakfasts were included each morning and we were lucky enough to dine at the inn for dinner one night. The filet was fantastic and I highly recommend.

Overall, I highly suggest a visit to the inn, whether for a getaway or a delicious dinner. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This was the first time I have been let down by the tripadvisor community. I really fail to understand how people give this place such good ratings. Firstly, the inn is very close to a mini-highway with lots of cars zooming by (very noisy). Second, the minute we walked into our room it smelled like urine - likely the inn's cat that used our room as its restroom. Third, the rooms were rather outdated. Fourth, the shower curtains were really quite dirty. The only reason I gave this place 2 instead of 1 star was due to the comfort of the beds. All in all, however, I would highly advise you to find a different inn.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mawifo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BettyNewHampshire, Owner at Chesterfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

First of all, please allow me to apologize for your disappointing stay at the inn. Being situated on a busy road is a blessing and a curse, because it gives us a convenient location, but not the silence that you would find at an inn at the end of a dirt road. I'm glad that you had a comfortable bed and got a good night's sleep in spite of our proximity to the road.

I wish that you had let us know about the issues with your room so that we could have made things right for you while your were here. I will certainly be in touch with you directly to try to make things right now, and to garner any other constructive criticism so that we can serve our guests better in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights during an extended weekend in April, 2013. We stayed in Room 20. My husband had originally booked this room as a birthday surprise for me during the winter, but the flu and stomach bug caused our babysitters to postpone their commitment. The innkeeper was very understanding in allowing my husband to re-book.

The Room: Very relaxing and beautiful mountain views. The chairs in front of the gas fireplace with comfortable with the perfect fleece throw for added warmth. The jacuzi tub, though a bit challenging to get in and out of, was so inviting, and suited us perfectly. We loved the extra long counter space in the bathroom, along with plenty of cabinet space, as well as, the coffee pot and refrigerator.

The plush carpet was wonderful to walk around on and the cd player was an added touch that was a pleasant surprise.

The king size bed with the mattress foam topper was the ultimate in comfort! We have never slept so well at any other hotel/inn as we did here. Because of the comfort, we are now looking to purchase a foam mattress cover for our own bed. I usually bring my own pillow, but I didn't need to here.

The weather turned warm enough that we could sit outside on our private deck. Though the inn does state non-smoking, there was an ash try on the table of the deck. Our deck was separated from our neighbor's by a large bush, but we are grateful they did not smoke, as it certainly would have affected our enjoying the air. Also, you will hear traffic from route 9, but it did not affect us from relaxing and enjoying the property.

If you use your gps to find the location, ignore your gps if it tells you to take Brook Rd. Just stay on Rte 9, as you will come upon the inn right after you pass Brook Rd.

Food: We had dinner and breakfast for 3 days and enjoyed our meals very much, as well as, the atmosphere.

Area: We spent time travelling to Manchester, VT to visit Hildene. There are also nice shops and outlets in the area. We stopped at Rachel's for delicious home made soups and sandwiches for lunch--it was perfect! We also explored Brattleboro and its shops and had soups and sandwiches at Amy's Cafe and Arts with a view on the water--very nice. To shop in Brattleboro though, you do need coins for parking meters.

We would certainly welcome another stay here at this lovely place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PattiandBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I made reservations to celebrate my husbands 30th Birthday. It was absolutely gorgeous. We purchased the couples massage package. The massages were done right in our room. We couldn't have been more pleased with the experience. The room was clean and well kept. We enjoyed the complementry breakfast. The food and service were both wonderful. The only downside was we only stayed one night! Brattleboro VT is less then 5 minutes away offering many restaurants. Great scenic area for hiking and relaxation. We can't wait to stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 20 with a private deck, gas fireplace and whirlpool tub
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I love coming here. My husband and I have been here twice and plan to come back, hopefully, at least once a year. The views are gorgeous, and the room has such a home like feeling to it. So comfortable! The food is excellent and filling. Love that it is homemade by their chef!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liliane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chesterfield
1.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
165 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
586 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
284 reviews
3.6 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#3 of 10 in Brattleboro
352 reviews
11.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesterfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesterfield Inn

Address: 20 Cross Rd, West Chesterfield, NH 03466-3208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > West Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Chesterfield
Price Range: $185 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chesterfield Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our romantic New Hampshire inn, a Select Registry Property, on 10 beautiful acres in Chesterfield, NH. Our New Hampshire luxury inn features 15 beautifully appointed guest rooms with fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, and private terraces. Enjoy unforgettable gourmet breakfasts, soothing in-room spa treatments and romantic candlelit dinners. Well-behaved dogs are always welcome at our pet friendly bed and breakfast in New Hampshire. The perfect choice for travelers looking for a romantic Keene bed and breakfast or luxurious Brattleboro B&B! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chesterfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterfield Hotel West Chesterfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing