We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful and inexpensive trip to spectacular area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Half Moon Motel & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Weirs Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2010

we needed our yearly get a way to climb and see the colors of Autumn. We found this unique Hotel build high on a bluff overlooking Weirs Beach and lake Winnepesaukee. The view from our two room efficiency was spectacular. We had all the amenities of home so we could savor our home cooked meals overlooking the lake and save a bunch considering the high priced restaurants as the only alternative. The location was close to the spots we wanted to visit and mountains we wanted to climb. We saved so much staying here and will definitely come back. We could walk the beach or climb mountains and it was extremely quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrbunny21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 204 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2010

Even though this motel is just okay, we've stayed here several times because the location is so good. It's across the street from the beach and right above the boardwalk (with shops, restaurants, bars, and arcades with pinball, video games, and ticket games), so different people can do different things on their own with no need to fight over the car or worry about parking. The rooms are somewhat dingy and dim, with decor from the 60s, but passably clean.

The central location has a downside in the morning, with the train and the boat across the street blowing their whistles starting at 10am, plus the kids running around the pool and screaming, so it's not a good place to sleep in.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tzarac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tower28, Owner at Half Moon Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2011

Our Motel was built in the 1960's. At the time it was considered Modern. Now it is considered Retro. We value its personality. We understand that some people think the rooms are dark. Dark wood paneling was typical then.

We have recently refreshed the decor with new artwork, furnishings, carpet and lamps.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

My husband and I were attending a family reunion on the lake and our family booked several cottages and rooms. The pros were the views, decent pool with patio area, and location. Even so, we were all less than impressed. For starters, the proprietor was rather unfriendly. We arrived early on the first day and stopped by to inquire about checking in early - instead of simply saying she couldn't accommodate that, she was quite rude and nasty.
The cottages are rather cute and cozy, but many of them need to be updated badly. My husband and I stayed in a one bedroom cottage and the bathroom was quite gross. The shower did not drain well, the tap on the shower was broken, and the walls of the shower were crumbling. The sink seemed stained and dirty. The cottage was not insulated so the window unit A/C was fighting a losing battle at keeping the heat out (luckily it cooled off a lot a night). The smoke detector in our room started malfunctioning on the last night of our stay and randomly went off, necessitating a move at 12:30AM to another cottage. The rooms are only serviced twice a week and don't expect much in the way of amenities - you'd be better off at a Motel 6. At least there you'd get WiFi - Halfmoon Motel advertises they have free WiFi and we were given a paper with the password, but neither I nor any of my family members were ever able to find their signal.
I had other family members that stayed in two bedroom cottages and were promised kitchenettes - one of them had nothing in her room, not even a mini fridge. The other got a hot plate (that didn't work), and yet another had a full kitchen with four burner stove.
The location has it's good points and bad points. Yes it's right on Weirs Beach, but it's also right above a bunch of bars that play live music until all hours of the night. Don't expect to get much sleep if you are a light sleeper. The beach was also closed while we were there due to high levels of bacteria, which made it unsafe for swimming - I know this isn't something the motel can help, but it still detracted from our stay. The whole area honestly seemed like an expensive tourist trap.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mybuddyguts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tower28, Owner at Half Moon Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2011

We do our best to accommodate our guests. It is disappointing to hear that this guest had so many issues.

We are a family business with casual Cottages and a Motel at a historic lake beach area. Our Cottages were built in the 1930's. We value their uniqueness and rustic personality. As the guest stated "the Cottages are rather cute and cozy".

Over the years the Cottages have been thoroughly modernized. Major renovations have been ongoing since the fall of 2009. We have been working diligently to renovate the property. We enlarged several cabins, replaced bathroom showers and fixtures, and flooring. We have refreshed the decor with new paint, furnishings, carpet and lamps.

The Cottage this guest stayed in had not been updated at the time of her visit. We have been working all winter to complete this unit as well as the other units that needed updating.

We understand that our WIFI reception is not consistent across all of our units. We will be upgrading our WIFI service this spring to extend the range.

Our property is close to, but certainly not right above a live music venue. This is a lively beach area with music venues throughout. A new venue opened up down the street and they would leave the back door open upon occasion. We have contacted the owner, with whom we have a good relationship, and he has corrected the problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

We have stayed here now 5 times over the years with either friends or my children. I am not sure exactly what other people are looking for but this is not the "horrible" place many are complaining about. No it is not the Hilton and if that is what your looking for what are you doing in Weirs Beach? Go to Paris! We rent the cabins (small and large) everytime we come up. The ones with kitchenettes are fully equipped with everything you need to cook (and clean) on your own. There is maid service for the cabins if you stay for more than 2 nights and the staff is the friendliest bunch I have ever met. Our last trip we had a problem with the key for our cabin and went to the office. We had to go to the store and figured it would be a while before it could be fixed but when we returned just 20 minutes later the maintenance staff had already been there and gone and the lock was fixed. Yes we did see some spiders on the outside of the porch area but that is to be expected. You are close enough to everything at Weirs Beach and the boardwalk but still high enough off the road for a relaxing and peaceful trip. I plan to stay here at least 2 to 3 times a year and would gladly bring and recommend others to this place.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whoopie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

I do not understand why people complain about the price for this great location,This is the second year we beck here for our wedding anniversary,We paid for a regular cottage but we received an upgrade for no extra charge for our spacial occasion ,The staff was very friendly and we are plaining to bring the kids for a weekend next summer.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfamily123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

We decided to stay one night in Weirs Beach and choose the Halfmoon Motel because of the rating in the internet. A bad choice! Except the realy beautifull view from the motel over the Lake, the motel itself is a clean miss. The furniture are near bulky waste, the room smells muggy, if you want warm water you have to wait for hours, the heating isn't working properly at all, the personel is quite unfriendly and last but not least the price is much to high. Maybe it's nice in summertime with kids, but for all other travellers it is imperative to stay away from that place. The only two recommandations in Weirs Beach are the Smoke Shak for dinner (great food for small price) and Donna Jeans Dinner for Breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank El-Colonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tower28, Owner at Half Moon Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2011

We are always dismayed when we hear from a guest that they were not satisfied. This customer was clearly not happy with the price they paid. Our off-season pricing is extremely economical, so we don't understand why the customer felt that way.

Our Motel rooms are snug and comfortable in cold weather, and have plenty of hot water. Also, since this customer's stay, we have renovated the Motel rooms and refreshed the decor with new artwork, furnishings, carpets and lamps.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

I stayed here with my son the year before last and was kicking myself for not staying here this past year. I will be back next year. The location is perfect. Minutes to everything. The rooms are tiny, but that is something that you need to check out before you decide if you want to stay there. I had no problem with the size of the room since all we did was sleep there. The staff was wonderful and helpful and was even able to accomidate our request to stay an extra night at the last moment.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadtripper20088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weirs Beach
0.6 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 13 in Laconia
497 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#4 of 13 in Laconia
768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand View Motel and Cottages
Grand View Motel and Cottages
#1 of 5 in Weirs Beach
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lake Winnipesaukee Motel
Lake Winnipesaukee Motel
#3 of 5 in Weirs Beach
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Weirs Beach Motel and Cottages
1.1 mi away
Lazy E Motor Inn
Lazy E Motor Inn
#5 of 5 in Weirs Beach
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Motel & Cottages

Address: 28 Tower St, PO Box 5183, Weirs Beach, Laconia, NH 03247
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia > Weirs Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Weirs Beach
Price Range: $97 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Half Moon Motel & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most convenient location in Weirs Beach. At center of boardwalk, across street from cruise pier, train station. Walk to shops, restaurants, amusements. Closest lodging to public beach. King-size pool. Scenic view from every room. Modern motel, comfortable cottages. All units feature CCTV, AC, heat, carpeting. All cottages feature cathedral ceilings, ceiling fans. Available: two-room cottages, cottages with kitchenettes, motel suites with kitchens. Reasonable rates, friendly service. Inquire about our special savings packages. Since 1957. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Half Moon Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon Motel And Cottages
Half Moon Motel & Cottages Hotel Weirs Beach
Half Moon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing