We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weirs Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Proctor's Lakehouse Cottages
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We've been going to Proctor's every summer for the last 6 years. The owners, Fred and Maureen, are very welcoming, very kind, and run a clean establishment. Be forewarned though, once you go, you are never going to want to leave!

It isn't a hotel vacation, there is still cooking and dishes to be done but the relaxed atmosphere make it seem like no big deal. Plus there are plenty of good restaurants within 20 minutes, so you don't even have to cook if you don't want to! (The steaks at Christmas Island are not to be missed!). The linens are clean, there is no musty smell, and the beds are relatively comfortable.

It is close enough to town (supermarkets, restaurants, gas, cvs) to not feel isolated, but far enough that it isn't on top of you. There is a boardwalk and arcade, a water park and miniature golf. You can rent jet skis, kayaks, even parasailing! But even just jumping in the lake and hanging out on the floating dock is still a good time. They also have a small dock if you bring your own boat. You can go fishing but make sure you get a permit for the week. We got blasted with a fine for fishing without a permit.

The lake is at the bottom of a hill, so you will have to walk down a considerable staircase, which is something to consider if you have problems walking. I don't mind it. I think of it as a great work out every morning. They do have rooms available at the top with a great view of the lake, so don't let the staircase deter you from this great destination.

There is a place called NASWA right next door, which on the weekends plays pretty loud music. So if that concerns you, try to stay in the cabins farther away. I also notice that if I keep my windows shut at night with the ac on, you can't hear it (and with the July heat, the ac has to be on). But they shut down around 11 or so, which is nice. However, if you are into the bar/club scene, it is a nice short stumble home from there!

We will definitely be back to Proctor's next year! Thanks for another great season!

Room Tip: Our favorite cabin is #6 (Timber). The layout is favorable and is up high enough so that you get th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakehouse2, Owner at Proctor's Lakehouse Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you! Your family is wonderful - you all seem to be having such a great time while you are here! It makes us happy to know that you love Proctor's - because we do too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 97 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was our first stay at Proctor's Lakehouse Cottages. We stayed for one night on a weekend while visting family in Laconia but wished we could have stayed longer (they only had vacancy for the one night). The room was cozy, but clean and well appointed (the kids loved the touch lights), the beds were comfortable and the A/C worked well. Because we were visting family we did not get take advantage of all the amenities (hence the 4/5 rating) but it was an easy walk to Weirs Beach and the boardwalk. Fred and Maureen (owners) were very pleasant, personable and accommodating. When we return to the area next year we will be sure to make reservations earlier so we can plan our entire stay at Proctor's.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakehouse2, Owner at Proctor's Lakehouse Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for the nice review! We look forward to your next visit when you can stay longer and see more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

As a child, I spent many summers in this area. Every time we cruised passed Proctor's, I'd ask my parents if we could stay there (My maiden name is Proctor)! My parents were more the camping for two weeks with minimal supplies kind of family so their reply was always...NO! Sigh.. When I became a grownup, we decided we would continue to visit the area for nostalgic reasons. So for about ten years we've been staying on the Weirs strip. Being a mom with two young children, it all the sudden wasn't my scene anymore.. So we decided to check out Proctor's...so glad we did! The owners, Fred and Maureen, have done a great job! What a beautiful spot! We didn't have a cottage, but the suite we had was perfect. It was clean and we were able to eat our meals right there because of the kitchenette. I was worried the place being so close to the road would interrupt our sleep, but we just cranked the AC and it was fine! And we happened to go on the week Weirs was hosting the fireworks. We were able to go to the beach and watch the show from there. The guests were super friendly too! We hope to go back next year and make this am annual trip!
PS only a 15 minute walk to the boardwalk! It was awesome! Close enough yet far enough away to escape!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jurassika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakehouse2, Owner at Proctor's Lakehouse Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you! We are so glad that you finally made it to Proctor's and look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Once again, Proctor's has proven to be the go-to place to relax and have family fun on and around Lake Winnipesaukee. Strategically located, you are a comfortable walk from a long list of attractions and good eats. Upon arrival you cannot help but notice the attention and care that Proctor's has received from its gracious owner/operators, Fred and Maureen. Situated on a small hillside, you overlook a meticulous beach and the Weirs channel that produces the best boat parades, every weekend. Adults and kids both enjoy the view while taking full advantage of the fact that their cabins are front row center and a dip in the lake is but a few footsteps away. The family size cabins and suites are fully contained, modernized, comfortable and fun. The kind of fun that goes with watching kids totally enjoying themselves in a safe, clean and respectful environment. My wife and I have been Proctor guests for many years and we get a big kick out of seeing many of the same families returning, year after year. You definitely should try it but, be warned, its extremely habit forming and good for your health!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T0ny2897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakehouse2, Owner at Proctor's Lakehouse Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for the very nice review! We always enjoy your visit to Proctor's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The best place to stay. The owners Fred & Maureen Clausen are extremely nice. The cottages and beach area are kept clean.. We have been to this area over 20 years and I think you would find it very comfortable. Excellent restaurants nearby.My husband and myself and family highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pumpkin2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakehouse2, Owner at Proctor's Lakehouse Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for the very nice review! We always look forward to your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Proctor's is a great place to spend your vacation. The owners, Fred & Maureen, are very nice. I wouldn't hesitate recommending Proctor's to anyone. The beach is always kept up nicely, and the cottage is always clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenKJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakehouse2, Owner at Proctor's Lakehouse Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Had another wonderful week at Proctor's on Lake Winnipesaukee. We have been coming here for years and always look forward to our visit. This year my husband and I enjoyed walks along the boardwalk and our children 16 and 19 spent a lot of their time at the arcades. We made sure we had breakfast at Donna Jeans Diner, cocktails and appetizers at The Naswaa, as well as several trips to Kellerhaus for ice cream and fudge. The kids enjoyed the Weirs Beach Waterslides, as well as the Drive-In. The thing I like the most about this place is being able to walk out the door onto the sandy beach and spend the day in the sun. Fred and Maureen are always very welcoming and will do everything to make your visit comfortable. We are already looking forward the next years visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakehouse2, Owner at Proctor's Lakehouse Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for the nice review! You really take advantage of Proctor's close proximity to so many attractions and restaurants. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weirs Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Lazy E Motor Inn
Lazy E Motor Inn
#5 of 5 in Weirs Beach
122 reviews
0.7 mi away
Weirs Beach Motel and Cottages
0.6 mi away
Lakeside Getaway
Lakeside Getaway
#7 of 7 in Weirs Beach
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Cedar Lodge at Brickyard Mountain
0.5 mi away
Lakeview House & Cottages
Lakeview House & Cottages
#2 of 7 in Weirs Beach
95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Half Moon Motel & Cottages
Half Moon Motel & Cottages
#2 of 5 in Weirs Beach
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Proctor's Lakehouse Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Proctor's Lakehouse Cottages

Address: 1144 Weirs Blvd, Weirs Beach, Laconia, NH 03246
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia > Weirs Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Weirs Beach
Price Range: $90 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Proctor's Lakehouse Cottages - Weirs Beach "A New Idea in Old-Fashioned Hospitality". 350' private sandy beach with docking for 5 boats. Within short walking distance to Weirs Beach Attractions, yet far enough for quiet times. ALL UNITS ARE NON-SMOKING. 12 Cottages & 8 Family Suites. LIVE WEB CAM on our web site. Free wireless internet access. Units sleep 2-7 persons. Picnic tables, charcoal grills and Adirondack chairs for each unit right on the beach. Memories begin here. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing