We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a nice little activity”

The M/S Mount Washington
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Weirs Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: No visit to New hampshire is complete without a cruise on Lake Winnipesaukee aboard the M/S Mount Washington. Scenic cruises on Lake Winnipesaukee, New Hampshire's largest lake depart Weirs Beach daily late May through October. The lake is surrounded by mountains and dotted with islands and offer some of the most spectacular scenery in New Hampshire. Alternating ports: Wolfeboro, Alton Bay, Meredith and Center Harbor. Breakfast, lunch and cocktails are available on board. Sunset dinner dance cruises feature buffet dinner and dancing to live music.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Lincoln, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“a nice little activity”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I did the one hour tour of the lake on the Doris C. It was nice and I got some great pictures. The Captain points out things of interest and gives you some facts about the lake. The views were really great and I loved just being on the water. I would suggest a hat and a camera. It is a great activity to do with kids, and I think it was fairly priced. The times are convenient and there are other tours and activities offered such as a sunset cruise and a dinner and theme night cruises. There are three boats to choose from and all offer different things to do. It was a nice time.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jamie1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    126
    32
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dedham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

The Cruise was really beautiful. We saw a lot of Lake Winnie and really learned a lot of cool facts about the lake. Wear sunblock if its sunny....gets very hot on the top decks! There is minimal food available, which we figured so we did not anticipate on eating, but we did enjoy a few beers. But mainly we were there to enjoy the Lake and that we did!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurenitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We were looking forward to a night of dinner and dancing. Looking at the web they showed wonderful meals and live bands. We paid our 100.00 and were ready to eat and dance. Dinner was mediocre....chicken or fish in steamer trays, left the ship hungry. Then the entertainment, they had one guy with taped music on one deck and a group of people with taped music on the other deck. No bands. All in all the website sets you up for a big let down. The boat trip was ok, maybe a little long as we couldn't wait to get off and get some decent food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielson, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely cruise but ok food”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

The sights were lovely, the entertainment was great and the weather was amazing for the cruise, but the food was not great at all. Very disappointed with the selection and overall quality of the food for the price.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DebbieH31378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEBRASKA
Level Contributor
323 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 456 helpful votes
“Not a pleasant evening”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We went on the dinner cruise and overall, we found it to be very disorganized. When we boarded no one told us anything about where to sit or what was going on. Most meal cruises have assigned seats. We asked and were told that the food was on the first floor. In fact, it was on the first and 2nd floors. Drinks however, were served on the first and third floors, and the third floor bar only had half of what the first floor bar did. They did not have any regular beer, which was most disappointing. The seating was much nicer on the 2nd floor, but the only restrooms were on the 1st floor. The only fairly peaceful place to sit is on the front of the 2nd floor.
At 5:30 they wanted everyone to eat. I am not used to eating that early and would have definetly preferred to have cocktail time before dinner. They were in a rush though, and put all the food away before 7:00. I don't think I've been on any other cruise that put all the food away, especially an hour before the cruise ended. My kids were hungry already before the cruise was over. I would have much preferred to have eaten at 7:00. Several passengers were complaining that there were no labels on the food and no one knew what was in the dishes. There could be issues if you have allergies. The server didn't want to give anyone more than a sliver of turkey, and seemed put out when you asked for more. At least the food was tasty.
Unfortunately, we had very bad weather for our trip. When we boarded it was unbearably HOT. It was like an oven inside. We were dripping wet with sweat before we got done eating and felt like we were going to pass out. We were only able to sit out on deck for half an hour before it began to storm. So we had a miserable meal, didn't get to enjoy much of the scenery, and spent 90 min. inside a stuffy cabin watching it pour the rain. It would have been a little better if we could have enjoyed cocktails outside while the weather was still clear and then had dinner later during the storm, but that's not how they operate. The weather wasn't their fault, but we would have much preferred to enjoy the scenery than listen to the loud band and DJ and all the rowdy kids on board.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HUSKERTRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cruizin603, Owner at The M/S Mount Washington, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Huskertraveler,
We are so sorry to hear you had a bad experience on board the MOUNT.
It sounds like you were cruising on a Wednesday night which is our Family Party Night.
Because children under 12 cruise free that night, we get a lot of young children on this cruise. This is one reason we board early and and start serving immediately. It also helps keep the buffet lines shorter. The buffet is available for those who want to eat early but we don't rush people who want to wait. It is unusual that the food is removed by 7 PM. Since this is only a 2 hour cruise, it may have seemed to the personnel like people were done by then. We apologize for that and thank you for the input.

It sounds like you would have enjoyed another evening more. We do offer dinner cruises with far fewer children on Mondays, Fridays and Saturdays. These cruises also last longer and there is more time to relax and enjoy especially when the weather co-operates. I hope we can have a chance to please you on another occasion in the future.

Sincerely,
The crew and owners of M/S mount Washington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The M/S Mount Washington also viewed

 
Weirs Beach, Laconia
 

Been to The M/S Mount Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing