We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Geat spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand View Motel and Cottages
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Weirs Beach
Hull, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Geat spot”
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Last September my wife and I were looking to get away for a long weekend...when had been to Weirs Beach years before and had enjoyed it. We were able to get a cottage at the Grand View, which looked interesting based on their website. We can say that the spot offerered a great view of the lake from our cottage, the cottage was quant and very clean, overall we found it to be a very relaxing spot. The owners Tom & Lynda were extremly friendly and offered great advise on what sites to take in and what restaurants to eat at. We had a super time and plan to head back to the Grand View this summer !

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roomoo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    21
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
27
31
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We stayed here having seen good reviews on Trip advisor and were looking forward to staying in one of the efficiency units.

When we arrived we were so dissaponted with our unit. The unit itself was very small with a narrow corridor,a tiny bedroom with barely room for 1 double bed. The bathroom was equally small with louvred doors which did not close properly.
The main living area was barely big enough for 2 peolpe let alone a family of 4 as we were. With the sofa bed out, there was little room to move at all. In addition there was a microwave put on the dining table which also only had 2 chairs around it, which would have made it completely unsuitable for 4 peolpe to sit around.The kitchen was very basic.

The sofa bed only had a thin layer of foam and was very uncomfortable and with the air con running it was like sleeping under a jet engine as it was so noisy. The unit was also not very clean and we found a tissue and dead flys on the carpet.

After booking for 4 nights we had to book out after one as we could not face another night there. To the credit of the owners, they were very kind and did offer us a refund without hesitation. Another positive point was the view from our unit which was superb.

After arriving with high hopes we were so dissappointed with the Grand View. We ended up at the Summit resort nearby which was superb.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew7MM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed in one of the cottages for 2 nights and absolutely loved it! The owners and staff work very hard to keep this place clean and well-taken care of, and it definitely showed! Our cottage was clean/spotless, and extremely comfortable. The owners were super-nice, and were great about giving us advice on places to visit, and where to have dinner. The best part was waking up in the morning, opening the living room shades, and seeing this fairytale view of the lake and mountains right in front of you! I would definitely come back here again, and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jules5275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2009

This was our 5th year at the grand view. Tom & Lynda are wonderful people with a great deal of patience for large crowds. Our family is usually anywhere from 20 - 40 people.
We always find the motel clean and well cared for. We spent a bit of time researching the area. The Grand View is the best around. Don't miss out on the hospitality of Tom & Lynda and their wonderful place.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lsummer712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We drove by this motel and weren't expecting to stay there, but after checking out the cottages we booked it for the night. The cottages were very cozy and clean with a wonderful little porch to sit out on. The views of the lake were spectacular and we enjoyed the swimming pool every day of our stay. The area is very touristy and busy in the summer, better for small children but the town of Meredith is only a short drive. There are many things to do in Weirs beach, a drive-in theater, boat rides, mini-golf, arcades, many restaurants, fireworks etc... One of our favorite things to do was to walk next door to the restaurant/store where you could make your own waffles in the morning & make your own sundaes in the evening. Yum! We ended up booking the cottage for 2 more days. A wonderful little stay.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missbluey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
660 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

We were traveling through New Hampshire viewing the fall colors in late September. We hadn't yet booked a room when we drove past the GrandView Motel and decided to take a chance. The owners were delightful, friendly and very helpful. They offered some good suggestions on local food including Patricks Brewrey and George's Diner. The cottages were absolutely adorable. Typical 1950 style vacation cottage, nothing fancy. They had a large sitting area with couch, chair, tables, small TV and internet connection for purchase. The Kingbed was comfy and the bathroom came with lots of towels and everything was very clean. The view of the Lake was very nice and it is a short drive to Meredith, Wier Beach, Laconia. The downside is many hotels and restaurants had closed for the season after Labor Day. It was very quiet hardly anyone else here. We'd like to move in, and we'd definetly come back.

  • Liked — Great location, good views, adorable cottages
  • Disliked — We were only here one night & much of the area closed for the season.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chowa-Rides-Again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rarlen1976
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2008

Wow! Very clean..SPECTACULAR views, and wonderful service!! The owners, Tom and Lynda are wonderful people and they go above and beyond to make sure your stay is a comfortable one! The went above and beyond to help us get a package back to our home town that we couldn't get back on the motorcyles...and we were so greatful! We will recommend The Grandview to everybody! THANKS SO MUCH FOR A WONDERFUL STAY! We will see you all next year!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rarlen1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weirs Beach
0.8 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 13 in Laconia
476 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#3 of 13 in Laconia
743 reviews
0.3 mi away
Half Moon Motel & Cottages
Half Moon Motel & Cottages
#2 of 5 in Weirs Beach
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Weirs Beach Motel and Cottages
0.2 mi away
Lake Winnipesaukee Motel
Lake Winnipesaukee Motel
#3 of 5 in Weirs Beach
77 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Summit Resort
The Summit Resort
#7 of 13 in Laconia
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand View Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Motel and Cottages

Property: Grand View Motel and Cottages
Address: 291 Endicott St N, Weirs Beach, Laconia, NH 03246-1736
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia > Weirs Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Weirs Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand View Motel and Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private Hilltop Location with Spectacular Views Of Lake Winnipesaukee And Ossipee Mountains. Fully Renovated, Elegant, Hotel Style Rooms and 2 new Suites with Kitchens and Decks, plus 10 Charming and Clean Cottages with beautiful views from the porches. Huge, In-Ground Pool and multiple Picnic Areas with Tables & Gas Grills. Less than 1/4 mile to Weirs Beach, the famous Weirs Boardwalk with MS. Mount Washington Cruise Ship Dock; Arcades and attractions. Great Value for Families and that Quiet Weekend Away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Grand View Motel and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing