We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Relaxing Get-Away (Plus its Family-run!)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lakeview House & Cottages
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My family and I stayed in the Maple Suite in the Cozy Inn which is the perfect place for a small family vacation (we ranged from 2-5 throughout the week).

Highlights-
- Friendly service: The owner and manager is available in her office most of the time and responds to the bell if not. She was extremely helpful with advise for where to adventure out to and didn't mind letting us into our room when we locked ourselves out! Very welcoming and friendly but clear on her policies a
- Comfortable living space: One thing I love about the suite is that there is a kitchen within our space so we can make our own food. There is a kitchen downstairs for the other rooms. Its a great way to save money and fun with the family (we try out all our new recipes each year and try to out do each other). There is also a porch that guests can use that I ended up reading a whole bunch on and sometimes we ate dinner there. The rooms are spacious and homy.
- Proximity to pool and lake: The heat wave in the beginning of the month was uncharacteristic but it was AMAZING to have a pool a few steps away and the lake a short 5 minute walk down the road. The expanded beach at the Wiers was great to relax and I saw a number of young families taking their kids out in the shallows. My dad was pretty proud of himself for doing a number of laps near the buoys.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank basaki1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 95 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

My family has been vacationing at the Cozy Inn for many years. It is not a fancy hotel. We don't want a fancy hotel. It is not part of a chain. We don't want that either. We WANT the simplicity of a cabin or a suite. (We've stayed in both.) There is WIFI and cable, which my adult children are happy to have, but I head right for the porch, with its rocking chairs, pleasant breeze, and lovely view of the lake and the mountains. Add in some swimming, some hiking, and some boating and waterskiing, and I am happy with the world. I go on vacation to get away from the demands of everyday life, not to bring it along with me. I can report from YEARS of vacations there that Dyan and Joe are not only pleasant but delightful and very hardworking. I don't mind getting my clean towels in the same laundry basket. I do that at home! The rooms are always very clean, and we always hate to leave.

Room Tip: Figure out what you are looking for that will make you happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Decided on the lake for our honeymoon, and the term cottage was appealing, you would think romantic right? Not at all....when I called the inn to express my concern of romance, hence the fact we were on our honeymoon, they explained they were very clean and nice. When we arrived, we entered into our honeymoon nightmare. We were unable to see the cottage prior to checking in, and now I see why (the website pictures do this dump no justice). When we opened the door, we were floored by the age of the building and prayed it wouldn't fall in on us. The smell was overpowering, and the uncleanliness was unbearable. The bathroom was the size of a shoebox, and the toilet was leaning to the right and falling through. The shower was a single tiny stand up shower and the bottom was layered in roofing tar. How do you get this clean? You left your dirty towels in a nasty old laundry basket on the front deck, and they would come by and put clean towels in the same dirty basket and leave them on your deck. The front door was loose on the hinges so I didn't even dare leave anything in my room including my clothes. There was a creeper hanging outside of our room so romance was out of the question. We left after the second night and when I went to the office the owner was outrageously rude and advised we would receive no refund. Well here's a piece of advice....maybe you should take the $200 you just stole from us and use it to renovate the dump, and or buy a peronality. - The angry honeymooners

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Angel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CozyInnWeirsBeach_NH, Owner at Lakeview House & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

We have always maintained that if you are not happy with some aspect of your accommodations, please let us know so that we may have the chance to rectify it by offering a change. If we are not told that something is wrong, we cannot attempt to make it right. These guests did not let us know at any time that there was a problem - even upon check-out. We have simple cottages at the beach with small bathrooms. We are always making upgrades, repairs and renovations. Cleanliness is our number one goal. If the accommodations were in the condition as they describe, we wouldn't be in business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Have been staying here for years. Theres a cottage or room to meet pretty much anyone's price point. They have a pool too. Everything's always clean when you arrive and if you need anything the owners are always very helpful and accommodating. Its just a short walk down to the boardwalk. all the landscaping they've done last year or so looks so pretty. I would live here all summer if i could.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAP09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CozyInnWeirsBeach_NH, Owner at Lakeview House & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

So happy that you are happy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Diane, the owner was very helpful and accomodating
Our stay was during bike week. The cottage (14) was very adequate for our needs. Done in knotty pine, it is a summer cabin, that was built many years ago. This unit has a Microwave, cofee maker, and small beer fridge. The shower has a wood slat floor, washroom is very small. Overall the cabin served our needs well, dont be expecting a luxurious summer resort, the dated decor gives a cabin feel.The cabins are real country cabins, and work well for the price and fabulous location.
Would love to see some more hooks to hang up clothes.

Room Tip: Cottage 14 is small, maximum stay would be 2 people, very soft bed. Great view of the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we truly appreciate it. It was a pleasure to meet and host you and we hope to see you again. As you pointed out, the cottages were built in the 50's and bathrooms are small but we can definitely add more hooks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We have stayed at Lakeview SO many times in the past 20years in many cottages and met many friends. Never had a bad time and am going back in August with grand kids. Great place to relax and enjoy low key time.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
Thank 1Queenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

We're so happy that you enjoy staying with us and look forward to your upcoming stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We decided on a last minute trip to Lake Winnipausakee. We really wanted to stay in Meredith but everything nice was booked. This was one of the places that had last minute availability (now I know why). We stayed in Cottage 11 which overlooks the pool area and does have a nice view of the lake. Our cottage was extremely dated and you almost didn't even want to sit on the furniture much less get into the bed at night. It had the absolute bare minimums. The bathroom was ridicously small, the sink was actually a half sink and you couldn't even wash up without water spalshing all over the place. The shower had a wooden bottom to it, I don't even want to imagine how unclean that must be... All you got were a few bars of cheap soap, no shampoo, conditioner, lotion. On the website it said that you must bring your own towels... are you kidding me?? The hot water never got hot, just warm. Luckily we were only staying for one night. Weirs Beach is certainly not a classy place, we went into Laconia for dinner. Do yourself a favor and stay someplace else, look into Meredith. I would not recommend the Cozy Inn and never will return.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PamiJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CozyInnWeirsBeach_NH, Owner at Lakeview House & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Guilty as charged – no, Weirs Beach is not Meredith and the Cozy Inn Lakeview House and Cottages is not the Inns at Mill Falls. We’re always disappointed when visitors are unhappy here as your satisfaction is of great importance to us. Comparisons should be fairly made, however and we fail to see the fairness in these comparisons.

A stay in Meredith is a stay at The Inns at Mill Falls which is a complex of new and relatively new luxury resort facilities spread throughout the waterfront area of town. These facilities include multiple restaurants, lounges, spas and banquet facilities. It’s a very nice place to stay with a decidedly upscale image and feel and you are going to pay for it, as you should. Their rates for a single room range from $259 to $329 with specialty rooms and suites from $329 to $459 (from their website) plus tax.

A stay in Weirs Beach is a stay in one of a half dozen or so family owned lodging establishments including the Cozy Inn. Weirs Beach is the affordable family fun center of the region with a beach, boardwalk, arcades, pizza stands, rental boats and so forth. We are a decidedly unpretentious laid back casual kid friendly little beach community.

Weirs Beach is also an historic area proudly home to the NH Veterans Association, the oldest veterans group in the country. The Cozy Inn and the Lakeview house date from 1880 and 1869 respectively, built by those original veterans of the Civil War. Cottages in Weirs Beach were mostly built by the veterans of WWII, so yes our buildings are old.

Our room rates at this time of year begin at $45 for a room without a view and a shared bath. The rate paid by the above party in cottage 11 was $110 plus tax so clearly we are not competitors with The Inns at Mill Falls nor do we pretend to be.

Our furnishings are eclectic to be sure, especially in the cottages. The chairs may not match but they certainly are not broken or torn. The king bed the above party slept in is no older than the beds at Mill Falls. Cottage 11 received a complete interior paint job this past spring. We’ve been nice so far but any claim that our units are less than clean are fighting words to us. The Cozy Inn Lakeview House and Cottages has an established reputation for cleanliness and any claim otherwise is a lie.

One might ask how we can continue to offer accommodations at affordable prices - something we remain committed to doing. Providing fewer amenities is part of that effort. If you want luxurious soaps, shampoos and lotions by all means stay up the road in Meredith and pay five times our room rate or more than twice our cottage rate. To clear up the towel issue, we don’t expect our single night guests to bring their own towels. We provide them just as we did for the above party. We do ask our weekly guests to bring them as laundry costs particularly for towels are considerable and keeping costs down helps keep rates affordable.

Please judge us for what we are and not for what you wish we were. Please be an informed consumer and do the appropriate research into where you are going and what to expect when there. Don’t buy a Toyota and complain that it’s just not anywhere near as nice as the Bentley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weirs Beach
0.7 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 13 in Laconia
498 reviews
3 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#4 of 13 in Laconia
770 reviews
0 mi away
Half Moon Motel & Cottages
Half Moon Motel & Cottages
#2 of 5 in Weirs Beach
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lakeside Getaway
Lakeside Getaway
#7 of 7 in Weirs Beach
14 reviews
0.2 mi away
Weirs Beach Motel and Cottages
0.8 mi away
The Summit Resort
The Summit Resort
#9 of 13 in Laconia
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview House & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview House & Cottages

Address: 12 Maple St, Weirs Beach, Laconia, NH 03246-1804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia > Weirs Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Weirs Beach
Price Range: $91 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lakeview House & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where You Belong ...You've been looking for a great value - just the place where you can enjoy and afford life's simple pleasures - sun, fun, family, each other. The search is over...You belong at The Cozy Inn-Lakeview House & CottagesWe are located in the heart of Weirs Beach overlooking Lake Winnipesaukee in New Hampshire's picturesque Lakes Region. We are just a mere 350' away from the beach, the boardwalk and the Weirs Beach attractions and feature spectacular views of the lake and mountains.You will find our two historic Inns and fifteen cottages comfy and unpretentious, with all the conveniences of home. Free wi-fi. Whether it is our two sparkling pools, inviting wraparound porches, or just the scenic views, you will relax, unwind and feel cozy here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Lakeview House & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing