We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland tasteless food.”

Anthony's Pier Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Restaurant details
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Bland tasteless food.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stopped by the Pier restaurant while boating on the lake. We ordered at the counter just after our friends and proceeded to wait out on the deck for our food. The view was beautiful. Our friends who we were eating with finished their food before we got ours. My husband go a hamburger that was fair and I got haddock bites that were more batter than haddock. Everyone was disappointed with their food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    16
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stop here before your M/S Washington Boat Cruise”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great views of the lake from here. The food was pretty good and the staff is really friendly. This is a short walk to the pier that the lake tours go out of, so stop here before your cruise.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Twogr8danes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Hill, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great view, mediocre food and service”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Having read the reviews, we had some low expectations. I was there with my husband and 3 adult children (18-24). We only had beer and appetizers - and for that, it worked. When we entered, we were led to believe it was order at the counter and pick it up when they call your number, but we later saw a waitress waiting on another table (saved us a tip, I guess). The nachos were large and yummy. The cheese quesadillas and onion rings were gobbled up. The seats were just picnic tables - but the view of the lake and the beach were relaxing and just what we were looking for.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We went to dinner at 830 and they were still serving at the counter. Shortly after that we received our food and after 5 min sitting down to eat, the owner turned the lights off. We thought it might have been a mistake but after a few min the lights were still off and the employees were closing up. At that point we approached the owner and told him we just got our food and you turned off the lights. He said "it's my restaurant, I can do what I want". We said we would never come come back then and he said, "then don't come back". We were appauled that this situation forced us to put our food into to-go boxes, chug our beer, and then eat in the car. Don't waste your money at this place becasue it's obvious the owner only cares about collecting it. The owner should not be in the restaurant business. The food was mediocre and over priced.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Bad food, Good view”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We ordered a lobster strudel, cheese steak and hamburger. All three of us were disappointed. The only good thing the place has is abundant seating and a nice view. Maybe stop by for drinks.

The owner really needs to reconsider the chef / kitchen manager. This place has the potential to be flooded with satisfied customers. Maybe because it is a holiday town, they don't really care about repeat customers.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anthony's Pier Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Anthony's Pier Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing