We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner - Over priced”
Review of Weirs Beach Lobster Pound - CLOSED

Weirs Beach Lobster Pound
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dinner - Over priced”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Both my boyfriend and I went there for a nice quiet dinner, but it was ok --- nothing special,
it was loud, people about us - scraping there chairs. Music was loud, food could be better and portions to go with the price. I rather have gone to a mom and dad diner instead. Pasta was not cooked enough, and my boyfriend's shrimp scampi -- not enough portion for the cost. We will not come back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anniem4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    22
    20
    20
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Conway, New Hampshire, United States
2 reviews
“Great food”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This place continues to be consistently good! Great seafood, prices and service. We were a large crowd and we had an excellent experience. The seafood is fresh and tasty.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ginabeana46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lobster and Champagne”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Need I say more? It was wonderful! Fresh lobster and even if it was cheap champagne, it went down very well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nomad1248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Its a seasonal restaurant in a tourist area.”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a typical small town seasonal restaurant. No red lobster and such so you have this. They serve mostly Italian and some seafood.
Being in a small town, inland, ask yourself... Where do they find talented staff to keep up with the overwhelming summer season? How do you find a talented chef to prepare complex seafood? And, how do they keep the restaurant afloat the rest of 8 months of the year?
Answer: inconsistent quality, standard prices, and very young wait staff.
That being said. Stopped by for bite to eat Saturday night around 8. The place is clean, and friendly. Great outdoor seating. Our wait staff was great and our lobster roll was great ( note: get it double stuffed). The fries are seasoned and probably fresh cut. Complimentary fresh bread to start too. Had a great experience, but I kept my expectations low. Tip: if you sat down and are having a bad experience before you have even ordered your entrée, leave.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canadiantraveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Worst Lobster in New England”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I was told that the Lobster Pound was a great place to eat. Not on this occasion. We arrived to a nearly empty restaurant with and easy 15 table open and told that it was an hour wait because they had a party of 40 people and couldn't serve people but we could go to the bar and order. We went to the bar area and told that they didn't want to add more customers because they didn't have enough wait staff, yet we watched two waitresses and the bartender hanging out with friends talking.

We stayed because we were just waiting for the drive-in movie to start so we had time to kill. I always wanted to try the Lobster Roll and was told that the Lobster Pound had the best Lobster Roll in New Hampshire. If that is the case than I believe that the Lobster Pound needs to shut it's door. The Lobster Roll that I experienced had a slightly better taste than Elmer's paste. I couldn't choke down a second bite. It was just horrible. The other food ordered was average at best, mostly frozen food reheated and sold.

I suggest save your money and not venture to this restaurant unless you are actually looking to eat paste.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ty_Swartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weirs Beach Lobster Pound also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing