We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical D-I-V-E” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tower Hill Tavern

Tower Hill Tavern
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Italian, Steakhouse, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Famous eatery on Lake Winnipasaukee!Open 7 days!
Medford, MA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Typical D-I-V-E”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Dark, dreary and sticky floors - yup, the typical dive bar. Drinks were decent and the only reason to go there and get out of the sun. Food is disgusting and not worth the diarrhea.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PeaceChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    23
    9
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Recent trip to Laconia to see the Fall Foliage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

I know it is late in the season to see the fall foliage - but hey we get away when we can.

I have been visiting the Weirs Beach area for years and brought my wife up this year so she could see the wonderful scenery when all the leaves are are changing. I have passed by Tower Hill Tavern on many occasions and had always wanted to stop in and give it a try. We were driving down by the board walk, after a long day driving and sightseeing, and we were hungry so we stopped for a bite and some drinks and I am so glad we did!

We were greeted by a cheery bartender named Johnna (sorry if I am misspelling her name) who promptly took our drink order and gave us our menus. We enjoyed our drinks as we wandered around the place looking at all the pictures (I cannot begin to fathom all the history in those snapshots) which cover all the walls. Our food arrived promptly - we started out with the New England clam chowder which was creamy and delicious. My wife ordered the flat bread pizza (that she still raves about) and I had the turkey pot pie that was as filling as it was savory and delicious.

They have 2 pool tables, video games, multiple flatscreen TVs, and a stage for a band (though there was no band the night we were there - but it was mid-week) and an area for dancing.

The food, drinks, and service were all excellent. I would have no problems recommending this place to my friends.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott_NYC_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
615 reviews
353 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“EHH...AVERAGE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Visited Weir's Beach to play some arcades while traveling through with family that had not been here in many years. While walking around, we were hungry and decided to try the Tower Hill Tavern. Not much to pick from so there we were in a very dark "tavern". Food was average, nothing to complain about or brag about. Waitstaff was attentive, no complaints there. One complaint was the darkness of this establishment...felt like 6pm when it was only 2:30 pm! Oh yeah, had to use the bathroom and the toliet wouldn't flush. Actually had to fix the tank area to get the "tank" to fill up with water to flush. Exciting huh? It was a great way to end my experience at the Tower Hill Tavern. NOT!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CMC_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Awful food, avoid unless you are just going for a drink”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Worst meal I have ever had in the States. I had shepherds pie - it was dry on top and underneath. Friends had chicken pot pie which they mostly left. The only satisfied customer amongst us had pulled pork sandwich

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank isobelb52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Got for a band”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Went here for dinner first night in weirs. Food was good and service friendly. Typical bar food. There was a band every firday and saturday and there is a night club upstairs( we didnt go up there) if you are looking for a quick bit and some drink, with a good band this is the place to go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Newlyweds9812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tower Hill Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Tower Hill Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing