We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite hotel”
Review of Snowy Owl Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Snowy Owl Inn
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is easily one of the most comfortable hotels I have ever stayed in. My wife and I have stayed here 5-6 times (including our honeymoon) and each time has been pretty much the same.

Pros:
- The price is fantastic. I'm sure it's the cheapest in town.
- The rooms themselves are nothing spectacular, but are nice and have what you need.
- The actual hotel itself is what really has the character. The nooks and crannies on every floor offer some cozy spots to relax after a long day hiking or skiing. It really has a unique, comfortable feel.
- In all the times we've been here, we've seen maybe 8 people total at the pool. You don't need a hot tub room here because you can just sit in the hot tub downstairs pretty much anytime you want.
- The employees seem perfectly fine. They are not overly friendly but have responded to us when we had an issue. That's really all I ask for.
- Proximity to town is perfect. Granted, Waterville Valley isn't huge so anyplace is probably close enough, but Snowy Owl Inn is the closest (helpful for those subzero New Hampshire days!).

Cons:
- My only real complaint is it can get noisy. If there are children running around, you will hear every step. We generally stay at off times and so we're usually the only ones there. You might want to check ahead to see if there will be a group of kids.

Overall this place was quite a find for us 6 years ago. We have never had a bad visit and plan on going many more times!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elfmanlives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for Snowy Owl Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 244 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at The Snowy Owl for a family holiday getaway and everyone had just what they needed. Room options are varied so those with pets, those who needed a kitchen, those who needed adjoining rooms and those who needed something more private all got just what they wanted. The staff is friendly and very helpful and I was impressed that they were so in tip of things for a busy holiday weekend.
This is a great place to stay to enjoy the variety of attractions and skiing in the valley!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mammagirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Snowy Owl is great! Everyone was friendly and accommodating. Keep in mind that it is an Inn in the mountains...not a major hotel chain. Think homey and well loved not corporate and shiny. Some of the rooms have a small kitchen so you can cook if you want, or you can have a nice breakfast in the dining room(not open everyday.) Free coffee, orange juice and donuts in the morning. Walking distance to virtually everything in the town. We went over Christmas and there were a number free or reasonably priced things for the kids to do, and fireworks over the pond at 7:30 on New Year's Eve. it was snowing and beautiful. Much better than a condo in my opinion because someone will make the beds, vacuum and bring you clean towels everyday. :-) The kids loved the pool and a little time in the sauna before bed was heavenly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I was worried about the reviews from the past year, but I think the managers must have taken them to heart. I did go expecting the worst, but was very satisfied in the end. The building is older and rustic, but there's a lot of common space throughout the Inn. We had the loft room. It was clean, warm, and smelled good---that's always a critical factor for me. The king bed was nice and soft. The pull out sofabed was uneven and only tolerable to kids, but they slept OK. The pool area is large and lovely. I wish they would skip the horrible, stale donuts and muffins for "continental breakfast", which it is not. I also think there should be free tea and coffee anytime for cold travelers. There is one microwave in the lobby. You can't beat the location to Waterville town center, takes a minute to walk there. Shuttle bus took a while to get you to the downhill slopes, because there are a lot of pick ups. But it's nice to have the service just the same.

Room Tip: The loft room is good for families.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michnich02143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I've always wanted the experience of cutting down our own Christmas tree, so we finally got the
chance with the Snowy Owl Christmas Tree Weekend package. It was very reasonably priced
and the surrounding amenities (convenient store, shops, sports pub, ice sculpture display, etc. were all within walking distance) Our kids had a fun time in the pool and hot-tub ( which wasn't really hot, though), but we seemed to have picked the coldest weekend of the year to go and I guess everything was struggling to stay warm! Our room was small and could definitely use an update, but we expected that so it wasn't really a problem....as long as it was clean! The continental breakfast was fine but longer hours would've been nicer..(we were on vacation after all and who wants to get up early?) Our kids like to bring their own "special blankets" with them everywhere we go, and boy were we glad as the room couldn't get warm enough and we needed them at night to sleep! Getting the tree was fun, but it was 3* F outside, so we cut our time a little short picking it out (did I mention it was FREEZING?) The best part was that it finally SNOWED and that seemed to get everyone involved into the Christmas spirit! All in all it was a fun trip! I would only go back again if the price was right and maybe upgrade to a better room!

Room Tip: Our room was close to the pool area which made it easier for the kids to "scuttle down" th...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

this is our fourth year we traveled here for the Christmas package. Our room was very clean. people were friendly and everything about the place is very family friendly. the restaurant has limited hours but that is the only slightly negative thing about this place. we are looking forward to coming back here again next year!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed here for a few days in the off autumn off season. the inn is very '70s/ '80s rustic/retro which was no surprise from reading other reviews. The employees were very friendly and helpful. the only complaint that i have is the lack of heat the hotel was cold even with the fireplaces we stayed in our room most the time because of the in room heater. would we stay here again maybe during a warmer season but for the money we would check out one of the other places.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnboy169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville Valley
0.1 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 5 in Waterville Valley
255 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Valley Inn
The Valley Inn
#4 of 5 in Waterville Valley
200 reviews
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#18 of 20 in Lincoln
232 reviews
12.4 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#12 of 20 in Lincoln
623 reviews
9.6 mi away
Village Of Loon Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowy Owl Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowy Owl Inn

Address: 41 Village Road, Waterville Valley, NH 03215
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Waterville Valley
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Waterville Valley
Price Range: $110 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Snowy Owl Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snowy Owl Inn is considered one of New England's finest country inns. Set in the heart of Waterville Valley and the White Mountain National Forest, our all-season 82 room inn offers a relaxing vacation, a great family getaway. It's also the perfect place for business meetings, seminars, conferences, reunions, weddings and celebrations. In the winter enjoy alpine and cross country skiing along with snowshoeing, tubing and even sleigh rides! In the summer we are just as busy with paddleboats, beach on Corcorans Pond, hiking, golf, tennis and even a chairlift ride up Snow's Mountain. Be as busy as you want to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Snowy Owl Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snowy Owl Hotel Waterville Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing