We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Snowy Snowy Owl!”
Review of Snowy Owl Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Snowy Owl Inn
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I've always wanted the experience of cutting down our own Christmas tree, so we finally got the
chance with the Snowy Owl Christmas Tree Weekend package. It was very reasonably priced
and the surrounding amenities (convenient store, shops, sports pub, ice sculpture display, etc. were all within walking distance) Our kids had a fun time in the pool and hot-tub ( which wasn't really hot, though), but we seemed to have picked the coldest weekend of the year to go and I guess everything was struggling to stay warm! Our room was small and could definitely use an update, but we expected that so it wasn't really a problem....as long as it was clean! The continental breakfast was fine but longer hours would've been nicer..(we were on vacation after all and who wants to get up early?) Our kids like to bring their own "special blankets" with them everywhere we go, and boy were we glad as the room couldn't get warm enough and we needed them at night to sleep! Getting the tree was fun, but it was 3* F outside, so we cut our time a little short picking it out (did I mention it was FREEZING?) The best part was that it finally SNOWED and that seemed to get everyone involved into the Christmas spirit! All in all it was a fun trip! I would only go back again if the price was right and maybe upgrade to a better room!

Room Tip: Our room was close to the pool area which made it easier for the kids to "scuttle down" th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 249 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

this is our fourth year we traveled here for the Christmas package. Our room was very clean. people were friendly and everything about the place is very family friendly. the restaurant has limited hours but that is the only slightly negative thing about this place. we are looking forward to coming back here again next year!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed here for a few days in the off autumn off season. the inn is very '70s/ '80s rustic/retro which was no surprise from reading other reviews. The employees were very friendly and helpful. the only complaint that i have is the lack of heat the hotel was cold even with the fireplaces we stayed in our room most the time because of the in room heater. would we stay here again maybe during a warmer season but for the money we would check out one of the other places.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnboy169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We came here for a getaway weekend and were generally very pleased. The hotel does show a bit of wear, but is quite nice. Our room was nice. Quite clean and comfortable. The TV is an old tube set but really, who cares much about the TV? Wi Fi in the room was OK. The hotel staff were all very nice. There are a few negatives, but I'll chalk those up to our visiting in the gap between the fall foliage season and ski season. The breakfast was a bit sparse. No tea, just coffee, juice and muffins. The pool was not heated very well. That was a major point in choosing the Snowy Owl, so not being able to swim comfortably was a nuisance. We made do with the hot tub. Very nice, but as an earlier reviewer noted, some covers are missing.

I recommend this hotel, but I do hope they heat the pool up a bit by our next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sudlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I recently booked a 4-day scrapbooking retreat at Snowy Owl for myself and 8 other ladies. The food was good, staff was wonderful, and it was a great stay. Staff kept checking in to make sure we had everything we needed. It is a cozy and rustic place, with lots of little areas to escape to for some quiet and relaxation. I book these retreats here twice a year and have always been happy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I recently went here for a wedding. The reception was downstairs and it was cozy and comfortable. I appreciated that the front desk gave me my key and let me check in early so I didn't have to do it later while the reception was going on.
As a light sleeper, the inn was a little creaky, but other than that everything was great. Room was clean and had all the necessities. Very affordable group rate for the wedding too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The place is full of beautiful wood but really needs updated and cleaned up. They have two gas (!) fireplaces - not wood burning.
Food is mediocre at best and guests are expected to take their own tray and dishes from the table. There is no "service".

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanPPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville Valley
0.2 mi away
The Valley Inn
The Valley Inn
#4 of 5 in Waterville Valley
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 5 in Waterville Valley
261 reviews
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Rivergreen Resort Hotel
Rivergreen Resort Hotel
#19 of 20 in Lincoln
168 reviews
12.4 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#15 of 20 in Lincoln
632 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Eagle Lodge
Golden Eagle Lodge
#1 of 5 in Waterville Valley
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowy Owl Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowy Owl Inn

Address: 41 Village Road, Waterville Valley, NH 03215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Waterville Valley
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Waterville Valley
Price Range: $110 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Snowy Owl Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snowy Owl Inn is considered one of New England's finest country inns. Set in the heart of Waterville Valley and the White Mountain National Forest, our all-season 82 room inn offers a relaxing vacation, a great family getaway. It's also the perfect place for business meetings, seminars, conferences, reunions, weddings and celebrations. In the winter enjoy alpine and cross country skiing along with snowshoeing, tubing and even sleigh rides! In the summer we are just as busy with paddleboats, beach on Corcorans Pond, hiking, golf, tennis and even a chairlift ride up Snow's Mountain. Be as busy as you want to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Snowy Owl Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snowy Owl Hotel Waterville Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing