We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great group dining experience”
Review of The Lantern - CLOSED

The Lantern
Price range: $7 - $27
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: An upscale family friendly restaurant featuring New England cuisine in collaboration with seafood & Italian delicacies. Located on the second level of Town Square, overlooking Corcoran Pond and the Town Square.
Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great group dining experience”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We booked a private function at The Lantern with a group of 18 people. Good food, good service, great bar, and beautiful venue/space. The Lantern is definitely at the top of my list for dining options in the Waterville Valley area. We'll be booking our group dinner there again next year and I would happily dine there again with my family. Thank you, Woody and team, for a great meal and a wonderful experience!

For a bit of background and more detail, I connected with head chef Mike "Woody" Woodman several weeks in advance of our trip and he was very helpful in planning the menu and was transparent with pricing the event. Our group dined at the Lantern on late-ski season Thursday night. We started with a round of outstanding cocktails that were expertly crafted by the head bartender. Dinner was very good -- a buffet of baked fish, grilled veggies, pasta primavera, soup, mixed green salad, and fresh bread. Every course was fresh, tasty, and not over-cooked (a common issues with any buffet meal).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank N_Chesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVResort, Manager at The Lantern, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
We're so glad to hear you enjoyed it. Woody has been an amazing head chef. He and his staff work hard to provide a memorable dining experience and it's great to hear that straight from our guests. Thanks for sharing and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    7
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Canaan, Connecticut
2 reviews
“LOVE the Lantern at Waterville!”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Excellent spot! We were a party of 10 with a reservation and our table was ready right on time. Great vibe in the restaurant. Friendly, experienced service. Food was hot and served in a timely manner. Some nice kids selections as well as adult options. Beautiful, fresh salads. Delicious burgers. We enjoyed grilled pork chop and chicken pot pie the most. Fish (Haddock I believe) was fresh as were the beautiful mix of veggies served with it. Completed the meal with a sampling of desserts. Loved it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CSP484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVResort, Manager at The Lantern, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
So good to hear you had a great experience at The Lantern! Big table, small table, kids or adults we're happy to accommodate anyone. Our new chef is outstanding so I'm glad that he made a good impression. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Try the Duck”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We had a wonderful dinner with kids at one table and adults at the other. Great view into a winter wonderland in an attractive, fun atmosphere with high ceilings and bright windows. I had the duck with a very tasty orange glaze. It was a generous portion and cooked to perfection. Rolls were warm - loved it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVResort, Manager at The Lantern, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thanks James! The duck is awesome, so glad you enjoyed it. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire
1 review
“Great Burger”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Caramelized onions, home made BBQ sauce, perfectly cooked, and a great bun. Even the fries were perfect.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVResort, Manager at The Lantern, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Glad you loved the burger Rick! It's one of my favorite's too. We have a fantastic chef. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great everything!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We hadn't been to this restaurant in a while, and were pleased with our entire experience. We just went in for an appetizer and a glass of wine at the bar. House red was quite nice, and we loved the buffalo potato skins. The ambiance was nice, music choice and level was perfect, and the staff was very friendly and attentive. Our server, Jessie, was very nice. Can't wait to go back for dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVResort, Manager at The Lantern, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
So glad you had a nice time at The Lantern. We worked really hard to get the right staff and right chef in place and we're happy that you had such a great experience. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lantern also viewed

Waterville Valley, White Mountains
Waterville Valley, White Mountains
 
Waterville Valley, White Mountains
Waterville Valley, White Mountains
 
Waterville Valley, White Mountains
Waterville Valley, White Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing