We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveler rating
102
47
33
19
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
102
47
33
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront desksitting areacoffee makertime sharecoyote grillroaring firehockey tournamenttown squarebeds were comfortablelong weekendhot chocolateski areahome away from homeminute drivegreat weekendtownhousevalley
Filter
Updating list...
209 - 212 of 212 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Our stay was from Sunday 8/23 thru Wednesday 8/26. The first impression we got was WOW this place is beautiful, but once we got to our room it was a different story. There was paint chipping of the wall in numerous places, there was a cracked off electrical outlet plate with a hole visible that someone could put their finger in, and the fridge did not work. We requested a different room but were told nothing was available. A little later we went to the lobby and there was a different employee (Liz) working and we explained the situation to her but she gave us the same answer - no rooms. We were contemplating checking out - when our phone rang - it was Liz saying she had a cancellation in a renovated room - would we like to look at it?, we looked at it and took it, better than the first but still needs more attention.

Monday morning's continental breakfast was terrible - no coffee, no bagels, no cereal, no juice, numerous guests complained and the Manager finally went and found some food for the guests. Tuesday and Wednesday's breakfasts were better but still needed to ask the Manager to replenish the food on a regular basis.

The web site states that it has a restaurant but when we got there the restaurant had been closed. The website also stated that there was an indoor / outdoor pool, but there was only an outdoor pool, the inside pool had since been closed.

Liz was helpful with giving us ideas of where to hike and what to see in the area. Liz was congenial and tried to make our experience at the Inn as pleasant as possible. I think the Inn has potential but it needs more staff and better management to get there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RudyMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leebruno, management at The Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2009

hello and thank you for your review, this helps us evaluate and change things constantly. Im happy to here the front desk staff was helpful and accommodating. we are currently renovating in phases and the lobby level rooms are complete and the indoor/outdoor pool of the past was replaced this summer with the new outdoor pool and pool area. The restaurant is currently closed due to a sub par economy. we offer dicount coupons to local restaurant that are at the front desk. Please contact me at you conveinence so I can talk with you further

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Never, under any circumstances, should anyone, ever, stay at The Valley Inn.

My family and I made reservations to stay there for a week, but we left after only two days, thoroughly upset (and disappointed) with the accommodations.

We were booked in a two-level suite, with a living area and kitchen downstairs and a bedroom area upstairs.

While the resort did advertise air conditioning, I would hardly call it that. The downstairs area had an air conditioning unit that was automatically temperature-controlled, with therefore no way for us to keep it permanently on. Every half-hour or so, it would turn on for literally a few minutes of a coolish breeze—certainly not enough to cool the living space down whatsoever. The upstairs had no air conditioning at all, which made sleeping impossible.

The two front desk staff members were no help whatsoever. If they were not smoking cigarettes outside the Inn’s FRONT entrance, they were seldom to be found. I would often have to stand at the front desk for several minutes, waiting for someone to show up. And when they did, they were completely unintelligent about the resort and the Waterville Valley area. They had no idea, for example, how much the laundry machines cost or how long the wash cycle lasted. And they had to look on a map to find the town’s library (particularly egregious, since there are literally a handful of buildings in the whole town).

The general appearance of the Inn resembled a two-star motel more than the advertised ‘luxurious resort’. There were several water stains on the ceiling and an endless supply of chipped paint, mold, and dirty carpets. The pull-out beds were both worn to the point of being slanted, and the sink’s water never got any cooler than what I would classify as tepid.

Add to all this the fact that the Inn’s restaurant was closed (with no notice of such on the website), and I’m sure you can see why the decision to abandon our vacation and make the three-hour drive back to our home was as easy as it was.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jeff0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leebruno, General Manager at The Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2009

Hello and thank you for your comments so I can improve the experiences here at The Valley Inn. It would be my pleasure to speak with you at your conveinence to discuss these comments. I appologize for a new front desk staff member that is no more than a month old, she is still learning some of the area. There is no smoking by employees at the front entrance. The renovations on the resort have been extensive this year, starting with the lobby level rooms, and the entirely new outdoor pool and pool area. Please call me at your convienence so I can discuss this with you and make this right.

Thank you - Lee Bruno, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.