We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular service for a last minute vacation”
Review of The Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Valley Inn
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We decided on a short family vacation last minute. Mike Leon, exceptional Valley Inn host, took my reservation the same morning, found a room for that night and provided such terrific service that me and my family felt as though we were the only guests they needed to serve. Mike is enthusiastic and possesses a quick witted humor that made us laugh and enjoy our time spent at this location. All of the staff were terrific and other hotels could learn a thing or two from both Mike and Justin. The room was very clean, but a bit dated. Fresh coats of paint were being applied to interior trim work as we left, so upkeep is continual. We will return in the future!
Sue (Tracy) G

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 204 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed at the Valley Inn at Waterville Valley NH last week. The outside of the hotel looks nice, as does the lobby. However, the rooms are in need of an update. There was a subtle mildew smell in the room which seemed to eminate from the completely worn indoor/outdoor rug which is about 10 years past needing replacement. But, I suppose they are not in a rush to correct things since the sign in front of the building still says lodging and dining, but we were informed there hasnt been a restaurant on the premise in 6 years. Additionally It was nice to have a mini-fridge in the room, but we could not use the freezer since it was completely frozen over.
The Waterville Valley is a nice area, with much to do. It was a short walk to the ski resort town square,where there were dining options and the pond. Also, the mad river hiking trail is less than 50 yards behind the hotel, other trails are also close by and more can be found on top of snow mountain, which can be reached by the chairlift.
It's too bad the Valley Inn neglects its rooms. For a modest investment they could replace the doors, rugs and mattresses and make their hotel much a more comfortable place to visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SeanNY66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the valley inn for a few weeks. Every morning I was greeted by the amicable front desk staff, who's helpfulness and service cannot be overstated. Seriously, anything you need: supplies, activity suggestions, relationship advice, really anything, is just a few questions away. The valley area is a beautiful place to explore, and the valley inn makes a few days/weeks in the white mountains into a complete and memorable package. Thank you to Justin, Whitney, Mike, Flo and the rest of the staff for being awesome hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ehallzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is the third time we've stayed at the Valley Inn, but the first during the summer. The outstanding service we received certainly wasn't the first time. Arlena, the front desk person we've seen before, went out of her way to accommodate an impromptu child's birthday party, and even provided us with bday plates and napkins! She's very prepared to meet any requests with ideas and suggestions. The freedom passes that come with the hotel stay are great for the nearby amenities at WV town center. This hotel is great for families; they have townhouse rooms with kitchenettes. I would recommend this very "homey" hotel for WV area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin G, General Manager at The Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2014

Dear Beth,
Thank you for your continued patronage and for taking the time to write this review. Arlena is always striving to exceed all of our guests expectations and I'm glad you choose to compliment her!
It is always nice to read that the "going extra mile" is well received by our guests. As always it is our honor and privilege to serve you as our guest.

See you very soon!
The Valley Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Spent a few days playing tennis in Waterville Valley. The countryside was beautiful, the tennis club was great, we went mountain biking, hiking and played some golf. Where the hotel was old and dated the front desk people were awesome. Food wise the resort area did not rate high in, we found that to get a nice meal we had to travel off the resort.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alannann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin G, General Manager at The Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2014

We are glad you enjoined our staff and many of the special amenities that Waterville Valley has to offer. For meals we always recommend the "local's" favorites, one is in the Athletic club and one is in Town Square, both are walking distance from the Hotel. Thank you for reviewing The Valley Inn!

Best Regards,
The Valley Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

My wife and I just spent 5 days at the Valley Inn at Waterville Valley NH. It was a great 5 days. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We had a number of people from both sides of the wedding party staying here. The pool was great, the place was very clean and there were plenty of places to meet and relax with large numbers of people. The inn has a few nicks and dents but the staff and beauty of the place more than makes up for these small blemishes. Everything is within walking distance, making this a great place for just relaxing once you get there!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a small stove, make sure to inquire if you are interested in this style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ray16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin G, General Manager at The Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Guest,
We are so happy to read you enjoyed your 5 days here at The Valley Inn! We just love hosting wedding groups as it's always a special time for all. There are in fact many unique areas here to gather and relax while on the property and we are glad your group took advantage of this. Thank you for recommending our hotel as a great venue for weddings, I imagine your review will help future brides and grooms out!
We hope to see you again in your travels north.
Kind Regards,
The Valley Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

This is the third time that my son's Hockey team stays at the Valley Inn for a hockey tournament. Twice in the winter and now in the summer. The service is always great. The front desk staff are always incredibly friendly and they go out of their way to help a guest. I needed some labels printed for my son's hockey game score sheets and they were very helpful. They let me use their
printer and I could get the job done with their help. Upon arrival we are receive information about all the various activities going on for the weekend and all the free passes are a plus, specially if you have children. The pool is definitely a great place to be. After a hockey game the kids love jumping in the pool and this hotel offers just that. They also let us use the grill and the table outside for our cookout. Thank you so much and we will be there again in October.

Room Tip: I had a room with a kitchenette that sleeps 4. Great room, a lot of space and a full size refrigera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nmelo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin G, General Manager at The Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear mmelo67,
Thank you for returning to The Valley Inn and for writing this kind review. I am thrilled to read that you always have a great experience here! It is our absolute pleasure to serve you and assist your family in any way possible. Thank you also for recognizing the friendliness of our team we love sharing these positive comments at our weekly team meetings. We look forward to welcoming you back in October!
Best Regards,
The Valley Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville Valley
0.2 mi away
Snowy Owl Inn
Snowy Owl Inn
#5 of 5 in Waterville Valley
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 5 in Waterville Valley
260 reviews
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Rivergreen Resort Hotel
Rivergreen Resort Hotel
#19 of 20 in Lincoln
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Eagle Lodge
Golden Eagle Lodge
#1 of 5 in Waterville Valley
324 reviews
10.3 mi away
RiverWalk Resort at Loon Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Valley Inn

Address: 17 Tecumseh Road, Waterville Valley, NH 03215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Waterville Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Waterville Valley
Price Range: $105 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Valley Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Valley Inn is a classic country inn, faturing oversized rooms with whirpool baths, cable tv, complimentary wi-fi in our lobby, air conditioning, elevator, pool (seasonal), and fantastic mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Valley Hotel Waterville Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing