We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Silver Fox Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

That was our second time in the hotel. We loved it last year, and loved it this time. Very pleasant, nicely decorated, fireplaces. It has that B&B homey feel to it. We also loved the 4pm cheese and wine reception. The staff is very friendly and make you feel welcomed. We like the cross-country skiing there. One of the best places to ski. The forest is beautiful and there is something to do for all different level skiers. The sport bar is a convenient place to have lunch. The coyote grill is a nice place to have dinner.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank NewtonMam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tor B, Owner at Best Western Silver Fox Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your nice comments. I'm glad you had good snow. Good call on the dining suggestions too. There are a number of other great places to eat in the valley as well. We'll see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    83
    26
    6
    7
See reviews for
129
110
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Great place to stay, clean and cozy. Good value for all that the hotel offers. The rooms are basic but adequate size and the heating worked fine. The bathroom was updated.The breakfast is fantastic and we really enjoyed coming back from skiing to the wine and cheese.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tor B, Owner at Best Western Silver Fox Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you! I hope the skiing was to your liking. And thanks for your nice comments about our breakfast and the free daily wine & cheese social. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Nice affordable bed and breakfast for ski vacation with a central location. They have a decent breakfast and after ski cheese snacks - providing good value. The rooms are clean and comfortable. They have free wifi and a shuttle bus that brings you up to Waterville Valley mountain so you don't have to wait in line. We visited during a busy holiday weekend and the whole resort seemed a little bit overwhelmed with the volume and the staff was all new so they didn't know when anything was open or have good recommendations of where to eat dinner, etc. I recommend the Wild Coyote Grill for dinner and you can walk there. Also, for $20 extra, pick up a freedom pass for everyone in the room to use the pool down the road or the ice rink in town.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sabrina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tor B, Owner at Best Western Silver Fox Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. And thank you, as well, for pointing out what a great deal the freedom pass. Depending on the season it also entitles you to a whole host of other activities including: indoor tennis, climbing wall, various town recreation programs, ice skating, 9 holes of golf daily, 2 hrs. free bike rental, 2 hours boat rental and more. It's the best $20 you'll spend o vacation. And the pass is good for as many days as you stay...all for $20.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We only stayed for one night, but our room was neat and clean. Wi-Fi Internet service was excellent and the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We especially enjoyed the breakfast, which was great, and the awesome view of the White Mountains in the dinner room where breakfast was. This hotel is definitely recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tor B, Owner at Best Western Silver Fox Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you! Thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and shared with others what a great stay the Silver Fox Inn is. The location is beautiful and because we are a small, family operated hotel we take great pride in knowing that our guests leave us feeling like they've stayed with friends rather than a hotel. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wis
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

very impressed with the Silver Fox--in a resort area way off the beaten track. Like a family inn--visited in late sept so the ski season hadn't started yet. very quiet and serene--beautiful mountain scenery right outside room window. very clean and well maintained..definetly would recomend..perhaps during ski season things get more hectic, but when we visited it was wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Wegner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tor B, Owner at Best Western Silver Fox Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
You discovered one of New Hampshire's best kept secrets; Waterville Valley in the off-season. While it is beautiful year round, when the crowds are down it becomes even more magical. Please come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed here last year and again this year, in November each time. Last year was better regarding service and cleanliness. It was not very clean this year, sheets were not spotless, phone was covered in dust, touched the blinds in order to open the window and had an allergy attack from the amount of dust on them. Any fixture that doesn't get daily use is covered in dust. It is very old but comfortable, not great, just comfortable. It is in dire need of updating.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebraLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tor B, Owner at Best Western Silver Fox Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
I'm very sad to read your comments. No one ever mentions cleanliness as an issue because we are so particular. I've printed this out and personally given it to my housekeeping staff with a stern reminder that I don't ever want to read something like this again. And I'll bet I won't. I hope you'll come again and let us make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at this inn on October 1st, near the height of the foliage season at its somewhat higher altitude, and found this inn to be delightful. Our room was large, clean, comfortable, and quiet. The mattress was on the firm side; we slept well. The bathroom was modern and clean, a bit on the small side, but very workable. The inn was not crowded; it seemed very peaceful in that valley. We enjoyed the wine and cheese offered at 4pm and the breakfast was excellent--really a fairly full, hot breakfast. A huge deck with chairs was very inviting.The inn's setting among the mountains was just beautiful and particularly at that season.The price of our room was reasonable. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tor B, Owner at Best Western Silver Fox Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you. And, I love the photo you took!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville Valley
0.1 mi away
The Valley Inn
The Valley Inn
#4 of 5 in Waterville Valley
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 5 in Waterville Valley
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Snowy Owl Inn
Snowy Owl Inn
#5 of 5 in Waterville Valley
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
9.8 mi away
Village Of Loon Mountain
Village Of Loon Mountain
#10 of 20 in Lincoln
236 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Silver Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Silver Fox Inn

Property: Best Western Silver Fox Inn
Address: 70 Packard's Rd, Waterville Valley, NH 03215 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Silver Fox Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Waterville Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waterville Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Silver Fox Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Best Western, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Silver Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fox Hotel Waterville Valley
Best Western Waterville Valley
Waterville Valley Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing