We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, but limited options out of season”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Silver Fox Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The hotel was comfortable, the staff very friendly and helpful and the room and bed comfortable - except for the top sheet which felt 'pilly', but it was just the embroidered pattern on the material.
This is in the resort of Waterville Valley and out of season (mid May) there is not much choice of where to eat, so we checked in and had a 40 mile round trip to Plymouth to buy some supplies. The room had no fridge or microwave, so we didn't get a much needed warm meal that evening. This was made worse by the smell of the dinner that had been cooked on site for a group of quilters on retreat!
Breakfast was good as there was some pie and apple bread pudding - presumably from the quilters' evening meal. Strangely the scrambled eggs were very pale and looked as if they had been made with powdered egg! The black bread didn't pass European muster as it was too light and fluffy, but if this is the worst one can say about a stay it shows how good the rest of the offer is at this comfortable hotel.

Thank sdsw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torze, Owner at Best Western Silver Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. I am sorry the black bread didn't pass muster but I want to assure you that we never...and have never....use powdered eggs. It was probably some sort of souffle that my wife, a chef, often whips up for breakfast. We hope you come visit us again if you find yourself this side of the pond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 357 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

As hoteliers ourselves we know when a hotel is going to be good ,we can assure all future guests that this is a well run, hospitable comfortable hotel. We had a well proportioned room ,cheerful ,well maintained , welcoming and clean. The quality of sleep was excellent as the high quality matress was comfortable and supportive. Good bathroom with a recently refurbished granite surface, shower was excellent.
The hospitality of the owners was exemplary and we thank them for thier generosity towards us.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thefeedbacksystem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torze, Owner at Best Western Silver Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Comments coming from someone "in the business" mean a great deal. Thank you! I hope you enjoyed the remainder of your stay in the states.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We really liked our stay - could cross-country ski practically out the door. The breakfast was way more than the continental listed - yummy too. The view of the mountains was breathtaking. Only concern was that the hallways had a slight cleaning smell. Maybe wouldn't have that another time. We'd go back - very reasonable rates too!

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torze, Owner at Best Western Silver Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking time to share your experience with others. Since we're in the heart of the valley there are views from every room and there's a mountain in every view. You probably had a room facing Mount Osceola. It is a popular photo subject for many who stay in the valley. Thank you, also, for speaking so highly of our breakfast. You're right that it is way more than a continental breakfast. My wife and partner Susan, is a chef and considerable care and creativity goes into every breakfast. The Silver Fox is, I believe, the only lodging in all of Waterville Valley that has a free breakfast every day of the year which make the value even greater. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I wish that trip advisor had a category between poor and average but being that there isn't one I am afraid that I must knock this "hotel" down a notch. This is based on the one simple problem we encountered - absolute discomfort. imagine this: a room that's rumbling, rattling heater kept cycling on and off trying with futility to keep up with the dipping winter temps. A bed with only one thin blanket and a lightweight quilted spread. Cheap Walmart-style pillows that were hard as a rock. A minuscule bathroom and as a good morning gesture watery Instant coffee. The empty pop bottle wedged between the nightstand and bed was a "nothing" event in scheme of things. Unfortunately there is a dearth of decent hotel rooms in Waterville valley, NH. Because of this, I will ski (and stay) elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenny l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torze, Owner at Best Western Silver Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

I am truly sorry to read of such a negative experience from one of our guests. As you can see from our many, many reviews this is not the sort of comments we're accustomed to reading. I can only offer my apologies, assure you this is not how the vast majority of our guests feel and off my wish you'd give us another try. If you do the later, please ask for the owner and I will make sure everything about your stay is perfect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Friendly and accomodating staff. Decent breakfast choices and comfortable bed. Large bathroom and good water flow from shower. Fantastic location - extremely close to Waterville Valley Ski Area. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Douglas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torze, Owner at Best Western Silver Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you! And I hope you do come see us again. I hope you enjoyed our free breakfast which many of our guests say is the best they've ever had at a hotel. See you next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We always have a great time in Waterville Valley . This time the snow conditions were super.The room and food at the Silver Fox Inn with Norwegian owners was impeciable.
I'm sure that you'll find plenty of things to do with your family from skiing to ice skating to snow shoeing.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torze, Owner at Best Western Silver Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We have had a tremendous winter season. I hope you come back and enjoy our valley when the snow is gone. You'll find the same great room & breakfast and you can trade in your skis for some hiking boots or a mountain bike. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We were happy to be able book a room here for a last minute skiing getaway. One excellent benefit of this inn is that you can have a hot breakfast before heading out. The room was nice, except for a clogged shower drain (which they fixed right away) and a somewhat noisy location near the kitchen (only room available.). The real problem, however, was an extremely noisy and annoying heater. This unit has a very loud fan, and the unit would constantly cycle on and off; literally, it would turn back on no more than 30 or so seconds after it had turned off. There was no way to leave the fan on (which would have been less disturbing.) We were up most of the night due to this heater. During the 30 seconds of off time, you cold feel the cold air blowing in thru the heater from outside; we imagine this is why it kept turning on. We asked to move to a different room, but they said the heaters in all the rooms were the same. It's too bad if this is the case, because for any light sleepers, this is a real deal breaker in an otherwise nice place.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torze, Owner at Best Western Silver Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

I'm sorry about the heater issue. Thanks to your comments we have solved the issue which only occurs during cold winter periods. The solution is to simply not turn the system off as many guests do because the normal room temperature is so pleasant. However, even when the system is off if it detects that the outside temperature is dropping it goes into "save itself" mode by turning on to prevent a freeze. It quickly discovers itself to be ok and turns back off. And so on and so on. Thank you for helping us realize what a simple fix this was. Please come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville Valley
0.1 mi away
The Valley Inn
The Valley Inn
#4 of 5 in Waterville Valley
204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#3 of 5 in Waterville Valley
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Snowy Owl Inn
Snowy Owl Inn
#5 of 5 in Waterville Valley
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
0.1 mi away
Golden Eagle Lodge
Golden Eagle Lodge
#1 of 5 in Waterville Valley
327 reviews
24 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Silver Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Silver Fox Inn

Address: 70 Packard's Rd, Waterville Valley, NH 03215 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Silver Fox Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Waterville Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waterville Valley
Price Range: $139 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Silver Fox Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Silver Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fox Hotel Waterville Valley
Best Western Waterville Valley
Waterville Valley Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing