We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Silver Fox Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is not your regular Best Western hotel. Our experience at the Silver Fox Inn was made wonderful by the most friendly people who own and manage this place. The hotel is located in the Waterville Valley which is a beautiful place. Not play did we enjoy the outside but also the inside. We are a family of four (2 young kids) and prefer eating home cooked food which we carried along with us on our 3 day trip. The wonderful couple who manage the hotel welcomes us to use their kitchen, dining area and cutlery which meant more work for them. There also provide bicycles which hotel guests can use without any extra charge. Overall it was a wonderful experience - a perfect location with perfect hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RKM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torze, Owner at Best Western Silver Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

As a family owned and operated hotel we have the ability to treat guests more like family & friends and whenever possible we do just that. We're glad you chose us for your stay. Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 357 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

cant beat wine-cheese at 4;00 f this price;;very relaxing;;and home made breakfast was great;;love this inn;;also saw bear at dust on road to diner a bonus!;;go and have fun;;pedro fron boston

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wpaul1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torze, Owner at Best Western Silver Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

We're glad you got a chance to stay with us and to see one of our local celebrities, the bear. It's wonderful to come from a city and realize that just a short drive from the hustle and bustle the wonders of nature about. It's why we chose to operate our family owned hotel here what makes our guest come back again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

What a great place to stay in lovely Waterville Valley. My mother and I shared a nice ground floor room with two double beds, only for one night. We arrived early and it was right before summer busy season so they cheerfully let us check in early. Room was clean and comfortable, not a lot of frills. Hotel is laid out nicely, with a large living room type area to hang around in , a GREAT library upstairs, and lots of deck area outside. Location is supurb. Although we didn't, there wewre bicycles that were available for guests to ride. Everything was within an easy walk. Beds were comfortable, shower was great. There was a nice wine and cheese time in the afternoon, and a really noteworthy breakfast in the morning. The breakfast was so above and beyond what they really had to do. Staff was pleasant. I would be happy to return and to recommend this hotel to anyone. Great value.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torze, Owner at Best Western Silver Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

We're glad you enjoyed our mountain retreat. It definitely isn't a typical Best Western but, rather, more like a bed & breakfast and that's just the way we like it! I wish everyone would stop raving about how great the breakfast is because my wife, our chef, is going to demand a raise. Please come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed here off season for a workshop. I loved the homemade food and personal service. The chef is amazing! I would like to see more electric sockets however. I did not find one in the room to charge my phone, laptop or kindle. Also, the only socket in the bathroom was placed ideally for the hair dryer, which I did not use, but was completely unsafe for use of the coffee maker, which I did use. They really need to update this if marketing for class and workshop getaways. For a ski getaway without plugging in, it would be ideal.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brown-eyed-girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torze, Owner at Best Western Silver Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are family owned and operated inn and the chef is my wife Susan who also owns a catering company that serves the region. So, guests at our hotel always get great tasting, freshly prepared meals. Our breakfast has become almost legendary if I might brag a bit. I did want to comment about the electrical outlets. Per Best Western brand standards there is a large, 3 outlet plug located on each desk in the room, right next to the coffee maker. Perhaps because you hadn't had that first cup of coffee when you went looking you missed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

This is a very reasonably priced property that includes a a nice breakfast. You get more of a feeling that you are in someones home as there are several large gathering areas with comfortable sofas. The staff was very friendly and attentive. Great for families. Internet if free and available in the rooms.The rooms are a bit outdated but are clean. There is also a small business center. Just a short 5 minute drive to the slope (also near the shuttle route). Easy, ample parking.

Room Tip: We had a room next to the Kitchen. I expected it to be loud but I was pleasantly surprised. I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atarnove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torze, Owner at Best Western Silver Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave your comments for others to read. That feeling of being in someone's home is what we always strive for. Thank you for noticing. Please come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Located in the heart of Waterville Valley, the Silver Fox is a fine choice for a short stay. Rooms are clean, and generally comfortable, though the beds and climate control system leave a bit to be desired. The beds were standard Best Western issue-not Westin's Heavenly Beds or Super 8's hay filled mattresses, but something in between. It wasn't the worst night's sleep I had, but couple the somewhat lumpy bed with the impossible turn dial climate control, and it made for a long night. It was 20 degrees outside, but the heat had no in between settings. It was either too cold, or stiflingly hot in the room, so I had to get up 3 or 4 times a night to adjust. Other than that, the rooms are what you'd expect from a Best Western. Clean, decent rooms. Breakfast was above average, with homemade offerings each morning, including omelettes, souffles, cobblers, fresh jams, and oatmeal in addition to the standard breakfast fare. Staff was friendly, and they try to keep the feel of an "Inn" as opposed to a hotel. Despite a somewhat restless sleep, I'd stay here again and would recommend the Silver Fox.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Crusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torze, Owner at Best Western Silver Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

We really appreciate your comments. Since your stay we have upgraded bedding in all rooms and we think you'll sleep like a bear when you next return. We are a family owned and operated hotel and we try to run it more like a bed & breakfast mountain lodge than a hotel. The breakfast is prepared each day by my wife who actually is a chef, hence the great variety, and deliciously prepared breakfast our guests enjoy each day. We hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Went for a Hockey Tournament. The rest of the team stayed in a run down glorified college dorm rooms near the skating rink. We were very glad we stayed here. It was quiet and nice as well as less expensive. Breakfast buffet was homemade and staff were very attentive to our needs. The happy hour was nice touch with wine and cheese. Passes to the very well run health club made the sub zero temperatures feel better. We planned to ski but it was too cold. They have a ski storage area inside.

Room Tip: all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank govworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torze, Owner at Best Western Silver Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We think we have the best value in the valley and there's no doubt we have the best breakfast, prepared fresh daily by our chef, my wife Susan. We try to make everyone feel like they're a guest in our home and it sounds like we succeeded. Visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville Valley
0.1 mi away
The Valley Inn
The Valley Inn
#4 of 5 in Waterville Valley
204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 5 in Waterville Valley
261 reviews
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Snowy Owl Inn
Snowy Owl Inn
#5 of 5 in Waterville Valley
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Eagle Lodge
Golden Eagle Lodge
#1 of 5 in Waterville Valley
326 reviews
10.4 mi away
RiverWalk Resort at Loon Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Silver Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Silver Fox Inn

Address: 70 Packard's Rd, Waterville Valley, NH 03215 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Silver Fox Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Waterville Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waterville Valley
Price Range: $151 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Silver Fox Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Silver Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fox Hotel Waterville Valley
Best Western Waterville Valley
Waterville Valley Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing