We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a family summer vacation”
Review of Golden Eagle Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Golden Eagle Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Canton, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for a family summer vacation”
Reviewed August 20, 2006

My family of 5 just returned from a 4 day vacation at the Golden Eagle Lodge. The rooms were actually condos. We had a one bedroom which comfortably slept 6 - queen bed and twin w/trundle in the bedroom, pull out "wall" bed in the living room which was surprisingly quite comforatable. The kitchen was fully equipped. We were pleasantly surprised to find that housekeeping came daily which we have not usually had when staying at a condo type property. The room could have used a coat of paint and the living room furniture was a little dated, but the rooms (especially the bathroom) were CLEAN!!

Because this is a condo and not a full scale hotel, amenities are limited. There is only a front desk worker (no bellman) and there's nothing like room service. However the main room is beautiful - quite nice for reading and they have free coffee there 24 hours a day and lemonade & fruit punch during the day. There is an indoor pool and jacuzzi in the building that are small but adequate and a playground outside. And, of course, the view of the surrounding mountains is beautiful.

The best part of the Eagle Mountain was the summer package that was included as part of the cost of the room (and the room didn't cost that much more than a standard hotel room). The package included 9 holes of golf daily, use of the athletic center which includes an indoor and an outdoor pool, mountain bikes, canoes, paddleboats, kayaks, and a trip (only once per stay) up the ski lift (you can even bring your mountain bike and ride down the trails).

The lodge is about 50 yards from the "village" which has restaurants and shops. Dining options were limited and we made the mistake one night of trying to find a place to eat at 9:00 with no luck. Only some places were open for lunch. Since Waterville is about 10 miles from anything else, you are really at the mercy of the restaurants there. Wouldn't be a bad idea to bring some groceries with you (or get off at exit 26 on Rte 93 where you'll find stores). Maybe in the winter more is open.

Overall, we were pleasantly surprised with all and plan to return.

  • Liked — The outdoor activities included in price (boats, golf, bikes)
  • Disliked — Limited places to eat
  • Tips/Secrets — bring some groceries
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bc84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    100
    17
    14
    6
See reviews for
175
30
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East Setauket, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2006

Been going to Waterville Valley and staying primarily at the Golden Eagle with our family for 16 years. This once beautiful, quaint and well maintained Inn is not what it used to be. The last 3 times we were there, the units were delapadated and in desperate need of renovation. Furniture was broken and not usable. Paint, carpet, etc. was worn and dirty. When politely approached with the problem, the management was blatantly arrogant and rude. They in fact told us "NOT TO COME BACK IF WE WERE UNHAPPY". NOT a very nice way to treat a guest of 16 years. We WILL NEVER GO BACK TO THE GOLDEN EAGLE and probably wont go back to Waterville Valley AT ALL because The Golden Eagle was the ONLY upscale, high end property there and it is hard to imagine what the other facilities look like at this stage of the game. A sad state of affairs for a once fabulous family vacation spot.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank leplap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
257 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2005

My wife and I stayed at this condo over the Labor day weekend. We had a 1 bedroom unit which was very comfortable. It was not luxurious but clean. Not at all seedy. The TV was large in the living room but small and too old in the bedroom. It was quiet. The indoor pool was moderate in size and there were 2 jacuzzi tubs, but overall these facilities were dated. I was annoyed that I had to go to the front desk to get towels for the pool area, and they were small ones. However , they had a computer room with high speed internet at no extra charge. Our condo unit had no balcony. The window shades were poor at keeping out the light in the morning. There are no other amenities at this establishment.

Last year , we stayed in an updated palor room at the Valley Inn. Although, overall more dated in appearance than the Golden Eagle, our actual room was better and newer. Even though the pool area is similar to the Golden Eagle, their pool is an indoor to outdoor and better heated. Also, there is a lounge and restaurant(although not very good) at the Valley Inn. Another good feature of this establishment compared to the Golden Eagle is that they serve a nice brakfast in the morning.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank kod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 13, 2004

Great place to stay...Very relaxing...Great Staff
Very Quiet At night.. Rooms are very nice and are keep very clean...never had a problem there.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 27, 2003

If you want a ski area that isn't crowded with McDonald's and strip malls, then try the Golden Eagle Lodge and Waterville Valley. This area is located in a national park so even though there are some condos - it's quiet and feels like a wilderness. The Golden Eagle Lodge has some great views of the mountain. The rooms are your average condo style rooms unless you get the real expensive ones but again, location is everything. You can walk to a small little village on a pond. The little village is great. It has a country store, a few good shops and a huge indoor skating rink which we never found crowded, The horse drawn sleigh is usually seen right in the center of the village which makes it even more fun. It's really quiet during the weekdays which we really like. The Inn offers a pool and jacuzzi and the big health center is right across the street. We eally enjoyed our stay at Waterville Valley and this inn. We go back evey year.

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville Valley
0.2 mi away
The Valley Inn
The Valley Inn
#4 of 5 in Waterville Valley
196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 5 in Waterville Valley
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Snowy Owl Inn
Snowy Owl Inn
#5 of 5 in Waterville Valley
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Village Of Loon Mountain
Village Of Loon Mountain
#10 of 20 in Lincoln
193 reviews
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
21.5 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Eagle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eagle Lodge

Property: Golden Eagle Lodge
Address: 28 Packard's Road, Waterville Valley, NH 03215
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Waterville Valley
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Waterville Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Eagle Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Eagle will transport you back to another era when grand hotels populated New Hampshire's White Mountain landscape, hosting distinguished visitors in a style to which they were accustomed. But while those hotels only catered to the wealthy and powerful, the Golden Eagle brings this kind of distinctive lodging to everyone - families, couples looking for a romantic getaway, even large groups. Each of the 139 condominium suites offers all the comforts of home, accented by a level of hospitality that will make you feel very at home. The Golden Eagle is within walking distance of most of the Valley's attractions, including Town Square, the White Mountain Athletic Club, the Waterville Valley Golf Course, and the beach at Corcoran's Pond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Golden Eagle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Eagle Hotel Waterville Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing