We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice room, clean and modern.”
Review of Golden Eagle Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Eagle Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed in room 528 very clean and modern. Plenty of sleeping accommodation for family of 5. Great location. Lobby area was clean with fireplace to hang out and relax. Complementary coffee and hot chocolate which kids enjoyed.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpmboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 326 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed during the last week of 2013 at the Golden Eagle. The rooms are privately owned condos, with a full kitchen. We had Room 321, highly recommend it! Very spacious, fully equipped kitchen. Everything was very clean, and there is maid service as well. The room has a queen size bed, twin bed with a trundle and a Murphy Bed. Perfect to go skiing at Waterville, as there is a shuttle that picks you up every 10 minutes at the hotel entrance and takes you to the ski area. The hotel is walking distance (2 minute walk) to the shopping area with several places to eat, a convenience store and gift shops. You can also rent cross country and snowshoeing equipment.

Room Tip: Since these are privately owned condos, they are all different. I would inquire about the room cond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NFernandez_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We spent 3 days at the Golden Eagle with some other families - 4 rooms in total, 21 people. 11 kids from elementary through high school age.

Pro's:
Location, location, location: Easy to drive to, fly via Manchester, walk to town square, ice skating, x-country skiing, restuarants, you name it. The only thing a couple miles away was the ski area but the shuttle was easy, efficient, and better than driving there.
Amenties - we loved having the pool, hot tubs, skaing, and health club access included. This was especially great for the less avid or people in our group that did not ski. Everyone had plenty of options.
Sking was very good, not Utah or Colorado but great New England skiing and more reasonable than many mountains of comparable size
Dinner options were good not great
Some of the rooms were very nice - newly renovated, fireplaces, the works.
The price was reasonable and fair given the time of the and all considered

Cons:
There is really only one and that is our rooms and in particular heat. Our room was a furnace and even though it was 0 degrees out, we had to keep 2-3 windows open and it was still warm! The maintence crew was very nice and responsive but couldn't fix the problem - they had to get someone else and it didn't get fixed. Our friends room was warm but for one bedroom that was freezing cold. I would not stay in room 624 again unless the heat gets fixed!

Bottom line: We will definately go back but will scope the rooms out carefully.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave02048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

My wife and I started visiting Waterville Valley over 10 years ago, and we stayed at the GEL on one of our first trips. We've been going back ever since, with our last visit just last weekend. This amazing Lodge offers hotel-type benefits (daily cleaning, front desk service, indoor pool) with condo-style stays. We're frugal, but the one-bedroom condos are incredibly spacious and allow room for us and our 6 year old son. The location is prime - a short walk to the Town Square and all it's activities, shops, dining, events, etc. Also a playground and soccer field right outside the door. Not only great for skiers, but we love to visit in the summer too. The rooms are clean and modern, the staff is friendly, and we consider the GEL a home away from home!

Room Tip: Some condos are bigger than others - ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

My family and I have been coming here for years! If you are looking for the perfect White Mountain experience this is the place. We love waking up to the amazing views and the proximity of the quaint village.

Room Tip: When booking be careful to ask for a better tier room. These rooms are owned and some of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynneG42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were there to view the fall colors of NH. The lodge is located in a very nice location surrounded by hills providing best of views. It is slightly far from other attractions in the area though.

The staff was friendly and the rooms were nicely maintained.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAJUPUNU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

At first glance we were overwhelmed with the beauty of the Golden Eagle Lodge and it's incredible surroundings, ...then there was the well appointed cozy rooms that were just plain NOT CLEAN, we found pills under the dining room table, beer bottle caps on the floor in the master bedroom and dirty dishes in the kitchen all this upon check in, the next day we left money in the house keeping envolope and went about sight seeing when we returned, we found the houskeeping envelope empty, beds unmade, sinks and bathroom left unclean, vanity area left uncleaned, no new supplies such as toilet paper, soap, shampoo etc VERY disappointed, BUT overall area and accommodations were nice enough to want to give them a second chance.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ljferrucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville Valley
0.2 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 5 in Waterville Valley
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Valley Inn
The Valley Inn
#4 of 5 in Waterville Valley
204 reviews
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Rivergreen Resort Hotel
Rivergreen Resort Hotel
#19 of 20 in Lincoln
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Snowy Owl Inn
Snowy Owl Inn
#5 of 5 in Waterville Valley
255 reviews
20.2 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Eagle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eagle Lodge

Address: 28 Packard's Road, Waterville Valley, NH 03215
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Waterville Valley
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Waterville Valley
Price Range: $180 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Eagle Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Eagle will transport you back to another era when grand hotels populated New Hampshire's White Mountain landscape, hosting distinguished visitors in a style to which they were accustomed. But while those hotels only catered to the wealthy and powerful, the Golden Eagle brings this kind of distinctive lodging to everyone - families, couples looking for a romantic getaway, even large groups. Each of the 139 condominium suites offers all the comforts of home, accented by a level of hospitality that will make you feel very at home. The Golden Eagle is within walking distance of most of the Valley's attractions, including Town Square, the White Mountain Athletic Club, the Waterville Valley Golf Course, and the beach at Corcoran's Pond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Golden Eagle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Eagle Hotel Waterville Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing