We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked away village and great place to just relax”
Review of Golden Eagle Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden Eagle Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2012

First off, this is not a hotel. This is a condo association at which some of the owners allow their personal condos to be rented. There is large variability between the units. We have stayed in over 4 different units and they have ranged from great to good. Usually visit once or twice a year during the ski season, but have gone up during the summer for hiking and golfing.

We have had many memorable trips with the kids there and some terrific ski weekends with the mates (you can easily pack 15 people into the 2 bedrooms).

The worst problem I have ever had is the one time we booked the room during the same time there was a kids' hockey tournament. Consequently there was an overwhelming amount of kids roaming around and poor adult supervision, but we handled it ourselves and no big issue. I would suggest asking the front desk if there is a similar event ocurring or checking the waterville website before visiting if this would matter to you (I think it is just in early January). However, the tournaments affect every rental site in the valley and not just this spot.

The staff is not a typical hotel staff as this is not a hotel. They do provide good service including making coffee all day and upon request, providing additional items, and local knowledge. During our last visit we were leaving early in the morning and promised to take the kids swimming in the pool before we left. The pool was closed till 10 a.m., but the staff was kind enough to open it for us at 8:30 or 9 so that the kids could get the promised swim.

I would criticize the hot tub jets as being too load. But, you should get free access to the health club where there are even more hot tubs and services. The attached picture is the one day of snow we had this past December. It was perfect because it fulfilled one of our kid's Christmas wishes. Hope this helped.

Room Tip: I suggest asking to see pictures of the condo unit you are going to rent before booking. They shoul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mtb1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 327 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2011

The lodge looks lovely from the outside, but our room was very dated. The furniture and rugs were old. The trundle bed creaked loudly every time the person in the bed moved, waking me several times throughout the night. There were no air conditioners, 1 of the bedroom windows was missing a screen, so we couldn't even open it to get more air. Our room was on the 2nd floor, above the front porch. Sitting in our living room, we could hear every conversation that took place on the porch as if the people were in the room with us, all day until 10pm. Even though it's designated a non-smoking area, we also smelled cigarette smoke in our room, when those on the porch smoked. The staff was not very friendly, nor helpful, they sent us on a wild goose chase to find video rentals (turns out the rental was in the health club), complimentary coffee in the lobby was gone or never set up at 7:15 on a Sunday morning. They did offer many outdoor activities, which were very nice. The little "town" is cute, however there was a lack of decent restaurants. The $9.99 per 24hrs per computer for wifi was ridiculous.

Room Tip: Stay as far away from the front porch as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 26travelfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

But, we had a great time! Although a bit dated the accommodations where prefect for our family adventure. We stayed for the BlackFly Triathalon on a last minute deal. The room was spacous and clean, and any place with a full kitchen wins my wife's vote. The kids slept on the trendle beds and loved the pool and the Town Square. We would certainly recommend the Golden Eagle for families and would have little hesitation in going back. The staff was nice, the valley beautiful and the weekend a great success.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eswheeler613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We have been coming to Waterville for over 20 years usually staying at Blackbear lodge however when there were no rooms available there we booked at the "upscale" Golden Eagle. For this visit we took our our 2 year old grand daughter with us. Upon waking the first morning we followed a trail of shredded paper towels to under the sink where we found the rest of the shredded roll surrounded by mouse droppings. Upon calling the desk we were given a key to a new room down the hall and told we could move there. No apologies, no compansation and no offer for asssistance in moving with meant meant repacking clothes and food, carrying then to a new room and once again unpacking. A room by the way directly over the pool and the adjoining patio wheer many people gathered until later in night keeping our grand daughter awake. I would not be surprised if this wsa where everyone who complains is sent. I am sure if they were mice in one condo then they were in others. We were on the fourth floor

Room Tip: look else where. Inernet 9.95 per day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dotboy3088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stayed here with multiple families and were all quite dissappointed. I've stayed here in the past and had a reasonable experience. This time however there seemed to be an outrageous level of hallway partying and noise that was not being dealt with by the hotel staff, despite several of us having complained to the front desk. Out of the three nights our family managed to get a decent night sleep on only 1. Additionally, I did not appreciate having my children exposed to the multiple groups of teens wandering the halls at night loudly shouting out f-bombs and other explitives. I won't be going back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jozal1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

we booked this place for a Christmas ski trip: 3 adults and 3 kids (9, 8, 4). It far exceeded our expectations! we are all extremely happy for the 3 nights there. Daily cleaning was great! we definitely will go back again (with ski packages if could) next time.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
2  Thank ImyTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We just stayed over Thanksgiving weekend with our 2 kids, 7 & 10 year old, and we all had a great time! Our room was clean and the kids slept on the pull down Murphy bed. Condo size (1 br- can sleep 6) was good for our family of 4, but would be tight for a family of 6 (had a trundle in master). The lobby had 2 fireplace areas, and a common room, that we visited frequently for the free hot chocolate & coffee. We spent the majority of our late afternoons swimming in the pool, which we found clean, with plenty of seating. The pool area overall was in great shape. We would definitely come again. The only down side of this trip was that WV wasn't fully open until today and today was our drive home day.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PMR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville Valley
0.2 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 5 in Waterville Valley
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Valley Inn
The Valley Inn
#4 of 5 in Waterville Valley
204 reviews
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Snowy Owl Inn
Snowy Owl Inn
#5 of 5 in Waterville Valley
255 reviews
10.3 mi away
Rivergreen Resort Hotel
Rivergreen Resort Hotel
#20 of 20 in Lincoln
169 reviews
21.5 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Eagle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eagle Lodge

Address: 28 Packard's Road, Waterville Valley, NH 03215
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Waterville Valley
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Waterville Valley
Price Range: $150 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Eagle Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Eagle will transport you back to another era when grand hotels populated New Hampshire's White Mountain landscape, hosting distinguished visitors in a style to which they were accustomed. But while those hotels only catered to the wealthy and powerful, the Golden Eagle brings this kind of distinctive lodging to everyone - families, couples looking for a romantic getaway, even large groups. Each of the 139 condominium suites offers all the comforts of home, accented by a level of hospitality that will make you feel very at home. The Golden Eagle is within walking distance of most of the Valley's attractions, including Town Square, the White Mountain Athletic Club, the Waterville Valley Golf Course, and the beach at Corcoran's Pond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Golden Eagle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Eagle Hotel Waterville Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing