We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great customer experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Black Bear Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great customer experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We took our three children to BBL for a long weekend. The pricing is on the steep side but, we saved money on meals with the in unit kitchen... I feel that the staff, location and amenities provide a worth while value. We were very pleased with our overall experience and because I am retired from the Marines we were able to take advantage of the very generous discount that BBL offers veterans. We will return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RickT0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    73
    28
    21
    11
See reviews for
143
35
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leominster, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

The room we had for the weekend ($350 plus) had plenty of sq footage but was extremely outdated. It was our first stay at the Black Bear and I found that its room interior to be extremely outdated and kind of "din-gee". There was no food service on the premises, which I made having to drag younger children out in the cold for breakfast not that appealing at all. We were onsite for a hockey tournament, the people were nice to all the player and parents.

For the price point these hotels are charging I would consider staying outside of Waterville and commuting in from Lincoln or Plymouth. Just not worth the money.

Just expected more. Buyer beware.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank EDAWSON01453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

I wish they had explained when we were booking the resort that there is basally no talking after 10:00pm for either adults or children. The children were yelled at promptly at 10:00p for NO reason and we were asked to keep it down in our room at 10:01p for playing a family game of charades. For over $300/night I think we should be able to stay up until 11:00p. Very disappointing! They should explain the rules before booking....

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt H, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
I am terribly sorry that you had a negative experience this past weekend. Our efforts during this tournament weekend were to control the noise after quiet hour in an attempt to take every guest's experience into consideration. Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and provide us with feedback. We will definitely use this information to better our training and make a better experience for all. I look forward to the opportunity to serve you and your family again in the future.

Best Regards,
Matt Hesser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

we really liked this room, it is very pretty, very comfortable, quiet, out of the way. the owners have taken the time to have lots of special touches, for the enjoyment of guests. We would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Book room 222 as your first priority - very pretty, and very comfortable and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Wynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt H, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review. That is a great unit. I'm glad you enjoyed everything. We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Matt Hesser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Our family enjoyed our stay at the Black Bear. Our room was very clean and had everything we needed. Our kids had fun in the pool and enjoyed the game room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only thing missing was a treadmill in their workout room. It's a 2 minute walk to Town Square - which has fun shops and places to eat. The skiing was perfect and close by.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank PrincessRuby0997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt H, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your great review. I'm glad you enjoyed the Black Bear Lodge and the Town Square. I'm so sorry that not having a treadmill affected your experience. Unfortunately the one we had broke beyond repair. We are planning to replace it in the very near future as a part of the continued upgrades we've undergone in recent years. I hope we are able to serve you and your family again soon.

Best Regards,
Matt Hesser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

My family of four had a wonderful time during fall festival. We enjoyed lots of activities. We stayed in suite 422 and it was lovely and clean and cozy!!! We will return, it was beautiful and people were great!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joneshugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt H, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
The Fall Festival is a great weekend. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Black Bear Lodge and for writing this great review. I'm glad to hear your enjoyed the event as well as your stay with us. 422 really is a great unit to stay in. We will look forward to your future return. Please let us know how we may assist you with your plans.

Best Regards,
Matt Hesser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

This was our first time at Black Bear Lodge. We were there for a hockey tournament. The lodge was a great place to stay. Our room was in the basement right near the pool. I was a bit hesitant at first but, it actually turned out to be a great spot for us. The room it self was very nice and up to date. The game room, pool and conference room- which was made available for the teams to play knee hockey was right outside our door. We had a great experience and will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kari Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt H, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write this review. I'm glad to hear you and your family enjoyed all the amenities we have to offer. I really appreciate your anticipated return to stay at Black Bear Lodge. Please let us know if we can be of any service for your next getaway.

Best Regards,
Matt Hesser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville Valley
0.2 mi away
Snowy Owl Inn
Snowy Owl Inn
#5 of 5 in Waterville Valley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Valley Inn
The Valley Inn
#4 of 5 in Waterville Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Village Of Loon Mountain
Village Of Loon Mountain
#10 of 20 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
12.4 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#11 of 20 in Lincoln
3.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
20.2 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Lodge

Property: Black Bear Lodge
Address: 23 Black Bear Road, Box 357, Waterville Valley, NH 03215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Waterville Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Waterville Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the White Mountains in picturesque Waterville Valley Resort, the Black Bear Lodge is a family friendly, well appointed all suite hotel with one bedroom condominiums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Black Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Waterville Valley
Black Bear Waterville Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing