We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Request your Unit!!!”
Review of Black Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Bear Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Request your Unit!!!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed at Black Bear Lodge over the summer and had a great time. We stayed in a 1 bedroom unit on the first floor (unit 104), which is one of the recently renovated units. Keep in mind all units are not the same and ask if the unit has been recently updated when booking. We had five people in the unit and it was very comfortable with the murphy bed. We found the unit location to be very quiet when compared to the rest of the building, but still close to the pool which the kids thought was great! This proved to be beneficial as it was a very busy weekend. We also found the direct access to the outdoors (only available on the ground floor) through the slider to be a big plus when traveling with young children. It was great to sit outside and relax or pull up your bikes at the end of the day. The unit was also equipped with a Wii game system with plenty of games which the kids loved for nighttime entertainment. Also walked over to see a band in village square on Saturday night. All and all it was a great weekend and we highly the black bear and unit 104.

Room Tip: Request an upgraded unit and ask for a quiet location esp. on busy summer weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nellie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt H, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Nellie,
Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to write this review. 104 is a great unit. I'm thrilled to hear it met your family's needs. It's important to us to meet every guest's expectation, so thank you for your tip about inquiring about newly upgraded units.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Matt Hesser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    73
    29
    21
    11
See reviews for
143
35
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Frostproof, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had a nice stay except for one thing. The unit that we rented was ( unbeknown to us at the time of rental) was on the ground floor right next to the main entrance to the lobby. Very noisy, what with people coming and going. In the evening and sometimes in the early morning hours, folks would stand out side having their smokes.
The price was fair, seeing how it included all the activities. Golf, bike rental, boats and use of the two huge pools at the Athletic Club.
You must be aware of the fact that each unit is individually owned and the way it is furnished and decorated might not be to your taste. Some of our furniture was nice while others looked like they came from Goodwill Industries.
But thank God it had air conditioning. 2 years ago we stayed at The Golden Eagle Lodge and it had no AC. We had some hot days that were very uncomfortable.
So make sure you ask questions about what you're getting before booking.

Room Tip: Already mentioned above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asphaltkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt H, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. All of our units are independently owned condo units and each have their own style and decor. We are continually working hard with each owner to keep the upgrades going to best serve all of our guests. The AC is one of our great amenities and comes in handy in the summer. I'm glad you were able to get out and enjoy the many great activities that the Summer Unlimited Pass has to offer. It's one of the many things that makes Waterville Valley so amazing.

We hope to see you up here again soon. Please let us know if we can serve you in the future.

Best Regards,
Matt Hesser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Summer Unlimited Special included rooms that allowed 4-5 guests. No meals, but free daily pp. 9 holes of golf, tennis, athletic club,1 chair lift ride but closed for the season which was a HUGE disappointment as many in our group were mountain bikers & had brought their own bikes. Views, trails & waterfalls - magnificent. Our party of 30, ages 5 mos - 75, all had a fabulous weekend. It was a 5 min walk to Town Sq. which had live music most of the day plus numerous stores, restaurants, a pond with canoes, kayaks, paddle boats & chairs to rest & watch the world go by. A free trolley stops in all locations every 15 minutes. Hop on & ride all through the Waterville Valley Resort. Something for everyone. Check with front desk about event reservations.
Some rooms tired but clean. Full kitchen to easily prepare your meals.

Room Tip: Some condos have lofts so check if they have windows as no AC in loft. Other condos have1 main bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 327cmc38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt H, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
I'm so gald to hear that you enjoyed so much that Waterville Valley has to offer. I'm terribly sorry that the lift is not operating for the remainder of the season. It's a fun service and we all are looking forward to it being in service next summer. Thank you for taking the time for this review. You were a great group. I hope you come to see us again soon.

Best Regards,
Matt Hesser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have been coming to the Valley for 18 summers, and have stayed in private condos, and Golden Eagle, this was the first time at the Black Bear. I was extremely disappointed in the condition of the condo. The furniture was not comfortable at all, and extremely out dated. There were 4 of us in the condo, and they only had 6 sets of dishes, so I was constantly either running the dishwasher or washing dishes to have for the next meal. The televisions were very out dated and small. 3 pots to work with. Housekeeping, if you had your "do not disturb sign" on your door, the only thing they would do is leave a bag of fresh linens, and they never came back to clean your room once the sign was removed. In our case with teenage boys who like to sleep a little, we removed the sign by 11. But it was always too late. The few times they did come in, there was no real cleaning or vacuuming done just trash removal. I thought the pool area was extremely small, jacuzzi not working. There is a reason their rates are much lower. I can safely say I would go back to renting a private condo next season.
The staff at the front desk however were extremely pleasant when you walked by..

Room Tip: I don't know. From other reviews it sounds as if they need to do some major updating of their r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt H, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Your review has been very helpful. Thank you for taking the time to write it. Please accept my apologies for your experience and for us not meeting your expectations. Since your review we have addressed and altered our maid service policies and are looking into enhancing the kitchen supply inventory. I'm sorry that the Jacuzzi is out of order. Unfortunately it was damaged and it is taking some time to resolve. We are working towards a replacement. Thank you for letting us know the staff was pleasant. The team works incredibly hard to make a great guest experience. I would like to request that you accept my invitation to visit us again and experience one of our updated premium units and allow us the opportunity to earn your loyal business. Thank you for being such a supportive traveler of Waterville Valley. Please contact me directly to discuss. 603-236-4501.

Best Regards,
Matt Hesser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed in a loft unit that was supposedly renovated - if that is the case, then it needs to be RE-renovated. The A/C unit in the downstairs living room does not reach the upstairs enclosed bedroom at all, & there are no windows on that upper level that open which made for a couple of hot nights (notwithstanding the fan I found in the bedroom closet). The carpeting throughout the lodge was badly stained. The management seemed pleasant. There is a small indoor/outdoor pool in the building as well as coin laundry and a game room for kids. This is essentially an oldish ski lodge located in a very sleepy small town with just a few restaurants, none of which I'd particularly recommend. The lake is tiny! The tennis courts seemed fine. We spent 2 days hiking in the area (bring plenty of bug spray!) & played a bit of golf on the local 9 hole course - a special shout-out to Michael at the golf shop who was rude and showed no regard & no courtesy for visiting tourists. Kudos to Jeff, our waiter at The Coyote Grill, for being the only person who seemed to understand that restaurants need to actually provide service to their customers. The chair lift was out of service during our stay. Our loft unit could have easily slept 7 [murphy bed (double size) in the downstairs living rm, loft had 3 twin beds, bedroom had a double bed. The kitchen area was small & old, but serviceable. There was a flat screen tv in the living rm, another in the loft area, & another in the bedroom. No fireplace. The nearest movie theater is 45 minutes away. This is a very isolated locale.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sun_ski33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt H, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for the time you took to write this review. We really appreciate the feedback. I have shared your review with the other companies in town that you referred to so they can benefit from your insight as well. We are all actively working hard to improve our services and accommodations. I hope we are able to have the opportunity to serve you and your family again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any further service in the future.

Best Regards,
Matt Hesser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

spacious suite with loft... room proportions are great for a larger group... too bad the furnishings were like visiting a state college dorm room of the 1980's.... outfit each room with the log furnishings of the lobby and you'd have sealed the deal!
Room for improvement by increasing the public outdoor areas and rehab the porte cochere with some heavy timber and stone columns --- now it looks like a cheap motel.
Potential is there for great "lodge-like" feel... currently it feels exactly like the price... rugged and raw.
Sleep Quality is fine... would like operable windows in BR....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbm-yek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt H, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Please accept my apologies for your room not meeting your expectations. We are still in the process of upgrading more rooms. I would truly appreciate it if you could contact me to discuss your experience further so we may make the appropriate changes. The suggestions illustrated in your review are great. Thank you for seeing our vision of a lodge style décor. We have already started making some changes based on your suggestions. Thank you for your help. Please contact me anytime at 603-236-4501.

Sincerely,
Matt Hesser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

The pricing was decent for a suite. Lot of sleeping space, but there was only the two of us. The unit was starting to show its age. Some peeling paint, peeling wall paper. Certainly the place was clean enough and most acceptable. I guess their pricing reflects their accommodations. Very small flat screen TV in thriving room and two tube TVs (1 didn't work) in the bedroom. The recliner did not recline (broken) and the sleeper couch is VERY uncomfortable to sit in. It is time to renovate the rooms and the whole building. Heck, it is time to renovate the whole resort! The public buildings in the Town Square also are showing their wear and tear. Food at the Town Square restaurants are ok, just ok. The fireworks on Saturday night was a very nice surprise. Nice display and lasted longer than expected. I played golf at the 9 hole course. I am glad I did not have to pay to play. It was so so maintained. Unfriendly staff at the clubhouse and course ranger. It the price is right,I might come back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mi99amigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt H, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. I am incredibly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. I was able to track down which room you are referring to and each of these issues are being address with the owner immediately. There will be actions taken to eliminate these concerns for the next guest. Please accept my sincerest apology for your negative experience and I hope we have an oppotunity to earn back your business in the near future. If you have a moment, I would greatly appreciate it if you would contact me directly to discuss further. 800-349-2327.

Best Regards,
Matt Hesser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville Valley
0.2 mi away
The Valley Inn
The Valley Inn
#4 of 5 in Waterville Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Snowy Owl Inn
Snowy Owl Inn
#5 of 5 in Waterville Valley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Village Of Loon Mountain
Village Of Loon Mountain
#10 of 20 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
20.2 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
12.2 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#11 of 20 in Lincoln
3.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Lodge

Property: Black Bear Lodge
Address: 23 Black Bear Road, Box 357, Waterville Valley, NH 03215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Waterville Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Waterville Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the White Mountains in picturesque Waterville Valley Resort, the Black Bear Lodge is a family friendly, well appointed all suite hotel with one bedroom condominiums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Black Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Waterville Valley
Black Bear Waterville Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing