We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and quiet”

Pillsbury State Park
Attraction details
Concord, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
“Relaxing and quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was a great for relaxing in nature. No crowds, fairly quiet, large private site. A long way to resupply, so bring what you need.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tamara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hopkinton, MA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great campground and park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We loved this campground. It's remote, it's peaceful, it has some great campsites, and there are lots of outdoor activities in the area. Like most of the NH state campgrounds, there are no organized activities or a recreation hall or anything like that, so if that's what you're looking for, this isn't the place. There's also no beach, and swimming isn't recommended. But if you want to be in the woods away from it all in a really peaceful place, this park is great. We had campsite 26, which is a fantastic site. It's huge and extremely private, and it has a tent platform and its own path to one of the ponds. You can only see one other site from site 26, and that one's pretty far away, through woods and over a brook. (The only downside is that it's a long walk from your car to site 26.) There are quite a few other sites that are excellent too. We hiked at Mt. Sunapee (about a 20 minute ride) and used the showers at the beach at Lake Sunapee (access to Lake Sunapee is included with your Pillsbury camping fee). We also rented a kayak at Pillsbury and saw two loons with a new baby up close. There are hiking/biking paths within Pillsbury State Park, but we didn't have time to do those this time. We will definitely go back to Pillsbury.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The only Henniker on Earth
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Kayak Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Not as far as you may think! The sights and wildlife abound. Fall foliage is just awesome - great fo a hike.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank janewms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great family camping trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We had a great trip in the beautiful foothills of the white mtns last weekend. The ponds are pristine, plentiful with fish. The kids had a great time casting off shore. They do rent canoes and kayaks (pretty pricey - we should have brought ours with us, oh well). We did rent a tandem kayak to use & got much use from it.
Love the hiking trails as well. Wish we spent more than 1 night, although it would have been rough without showers there. It is nature at it's finest, no doubt. Must be amazing in the fall. Would highly recommend this park to any serious campers looking to relax and unwind.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank colleen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Great place to kayak. A ways out for us but a wonderful drive. Launching a kayak is somewhat easy. We bring our own boats but you can also rent. The only place I have ever noticed windmill power generators. Interesting sound but the only sound except for local wildlife and a few people.

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pillsbury State Park also viewed

 

Been to Pillsbury State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing