We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome B & B!”
Review of Maples at Warner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maples at Warner
Ranked #1 of 1 Warner B&B and Inns
Bedford, MA
1 review
“Awesome B & B!”
Reviewed November 1, 2009

Fantastic Stay! Cheryl & Kevin are wonderful hosts! Very knowledgeable about the area and provided great day trips for us during our stay. Warner is an absolutely lovely village, not ruined by commercialism and the hustle and bustle of every day. A great escape! Breakfast was to die for and we rolled out of there not even bothering to stop for lunch. Lovely room, huge (and I mean huge) bathroom. Just a great visit. We'll certainly be back. Love to AJ and Jesse!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daytripper025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    6
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
21
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga County, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

When my wife and I arrived, there was no one to greet us (I had told Cheryl when I made reservations when we would be arriving). After tentatively walking into the open door fo the Inn, we saw a note to call a phone number for assistance. We called and talked to Cheryl, the owner, who told us she was in her car 45 minutes away and that she would have her husband come over to meet us (they live next door to the Inn). Her husband arrived in a few minutes, was very nice, showed us to our room, but left other information for his wife to provide. A few minues later another couple (from England) arrived and tried to call the phone number only to receive a message that it was out of the service area. Cheryl arrived about 90 minutes later and after several minutes belately came to the living room to greet us and the other couple. When asked by the othe couple why no one had been present to greet them, she became very rude and argued with them in front of us. During the argument she stated that she had personal errands to run, asked if they were trying to tell her how to run her business, and repeatedly referred to her husband as being useless. When asked about where to go to dinner, she referred us to restaurants located a 20-minute drive away. She stated that the only restaurant in town was a pizza place more than a mile away (note, the web site says you can walk to restaurants).

The living room in the Inn is very small, crowded, and the lighting is so poor it was impossible to read. Our room had a significant layer of dust on the bed headboard and there were a large number of insect remnants on the window sills. There was only one wash cloth in the bathroom (and no way to contact anyone for another) and no cups in the bathroom. Earlier Cheryl had announced that there were no keys for the rooms and that the Inn door is always left open as they never have any trouble in town. When we went down for breakfast there was no discussion of what was to be served. After wating several minutes Cheryl served french toast covered with blueberrys. My wife does not eat blueberrys and asked if she chould have an egg. Cheryl subsequently served her a sorry looking single fried egg on a plate - no meat, toast or other garnishment.

This was by far the worst Bed and Breakfast at which we had ever stayed.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HappyCampers2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajjesse, Owner at Maples at Warner, responded to this review, February 9, 2010
It is with our deepest regrets that you were not happy here. Although we strive very hard to ensure all of our guests happiness, it is with the compassion of excellence that I engage in my work, and not that of perfectionism. As I recall that day in particular, I had attended a funeral with my youngest sister who is mentally handicapped. It was indeed a long day and perhaps I may have appeared to be a bit irritable having just driven in 2 1/2 hours of traffic under emotionally stained conditions. However, although I did apologize for my tardiness, that is no excuse for behaving rudely as your fellow guests did that evening. To be accosted and insulted directly in front of everyone was truly uncalled for. As for a restaurant referral, the nearest facility to us is seven doors down on the same side of the road. We are, unfortunately, limited to pizza and occasionally the cafe opening for our evening dining options. There are, however, two additional cafe's in town within walking distance and three additional food establishments within 1.5 miles.

I believe your visit was at the tail end of foliage season. This is also lady bug season. We are graciously blessed with our winged guests from mid-October through Mid November when they congregate by the hundreds and even thousands in some areas preferring light colored buildings exposed to the sun for long hours. Such as is the front of our Inn. A natural attraction for the Asian Ladybird Beetle as they are formally called.

Our rooms do lock, and on occasion, we've had guests locked out of their room by our roving spirit "Uncle Frank". On days when there is someone in residence full-time, the side door is always unlocked as was the case during your stay. Except for the one time that "Uncle Frank" decided to lock and deadbolt EVERY door and window and cause one late night arrival to crawl through the kitchen window (which he took out completely), we never have a problem! Ah, the problem with ghosts.

Thank you so much for your feedback. It is always great to see how we can help our guests better! Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

The photos and info on the website did not accurately reflect what we saw and experienced when we checked in to The Maples. First, we were not given the room we were told we would have. Secondly, the website states our room had a private bath but it did not- it was a shared bath. There were notglasses for the bathroom and not a box of tissues to be found. There was no place to hang our wet towels- neither in the shared bath nor in our room. Our room was sparsely decorated and uninviting, with only one chair to sit in. When we woke up the next morning at 7, the innkeeper (who doesn't live on the property) was no where to be found and the coffee pot was cold and empty. We waited almost 45 minutes for a cup of coffee. It felt more like a boarding house than a B&B but with a very expensive price for what you get (or not get).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 3arewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape cod ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2009

IThe Maples at Warner is the best B&B I've ever visited. Each room is decorated differently and they blend together with the rest of the Inn's decor to capture the feeling of Victorian New England.at it's finest..
I normally stay in a hotel or motel when I travel but The Maples has converted me to the wonders of the B&B experience
I could barely bring myself to get out of the luxurious comfort of the bed until I smelled the aromas of breakfast..On my first I was treated like a queen and dined on a homemade frittata, pastries, fresh fruit and great coffee. I've also fallen in love with the homemade blueberry pancakes and sausage during another stay. The food is always scrumptious and plentiful.
The room and breakfast would be enough to earn this Inn a 5 star rating but the addition of Cheryl and Kevin the innkeepers put it over the top.
Cheryl treats every guest like a treasured relative. You feel at home as soon as she greets you. Her bubbly personality, wit, culinary skills, knowledge of not only Warner but all of New England make her an innkeeper extrodanaire. When she is unavailable her husband Kevin steps in as innkeeper. He is a good looking, down to earth, hardworking guy who goes out of his way to accomodate you.His quiet solicitous manner makes him a great guy to have around.
I've gone back repeatedly just to have The Maples at Warner experience and recommend it to everyone who enjoys a good time. I'm sure I'll be back again soon. Liz Kelly

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank boondockerliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tewksbury, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2008

We stayed at The Maples at Warner this July as a brief escape. We loved our room - very clean and nicely appointed. The BEST bed we've ever slept in at a B & B! The ultimate in comfort!

We didn't expect that we would be treated like royalty! The innkeepers went out of their way to make sure our time spent there was exceptional! They even went out of their way to repair another guest's vehicle which had broken down while they were here. They are extremely knowledgeable about the entire region and helped us organize our daily trips. The dogs are great! They have four labs, but only two were at the Inn when we were there! These are the true innkeepers!!

The food was yummy and the snack jar was always full. We really enjoyed the easy 2 minute walk to downtown and the hike up Mt. Kearsarge! Although there is no restaurant in town, we were given outstanding recommendations for places in both New London and Concord, both of which are an easy 15 minute drive. This is absolutely the best value of any place we've ever stayed at. We'll be back next year!

  • Liked — Great hospitality! Comfortable environment, easy access, GREAT VALUE for a B & B!
  • Disliked — Back yard undergoing renovations! Can't wait for the shuffleboard court to be completed!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank katscheaptravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamlin NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2008

Just returned from a long weekend trip with a friend and stayed at the Maples at Warner. The stay at this B & B was just amazing. The accomodations were beautiful with beds you really wanted to take home with you. The breakfasts were beyond description from homemade muffins and sauage served on fine china by the wonderful innkeepers, Cheryl and Kevin.

The B & B is pet friendly even though we didn't bring our dogs with us this trip but it made up feel like home with their dogs welcoming us in our rooms.

Cheryl and Kevin took time out of their extremely busy schedules to sit and talk with us about themselves and informed us of the many attractions in the area.

Our experience with them was not at all like any other B & B we've were spent time at. They made us feel like we were visiting family instead of staying with strangers.

We would highly recommend the Maples at Warner. Try them out and you will remember them forever.

  • Liked — Innkeepers, breakfasts and great beds
  • Disliked — Having to leave!!!!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Lalka10301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warner
14.5 mi away
Centennial Hotel
Centennial Hotel
#3 of 8 in Concord
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
15.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Concord/Bow
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn - Concord Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Best Western Concord Inn & Suites
15.7 mi away
Residence Inn Concord
Residence Inn Concord
#1 of 8 in Concord
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
6.9 mi away
Colby Hill Inn
Colby Hill Inn
#1 of 2 in Henniker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maples at Warner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maples at Warner

Property: Maples at Warner
Address: 69 E Main St, Warner, NH 03278-4408 (Formerly Jacob's Ladder)
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Warner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Warner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maples at Warner 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Maples at Warner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing