We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harmony Abode is as Advertised”

Harmony Mountain Abode
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Twin Mountain
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harmony Mountain Abode
Tyngsboro, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Harmony Abode is as Advertised”
Reviewed July 8, 2011

A group of us stayed here for a friend's birthday party, and were very delighted with the experience. This BandB and its unique rooms all feature a classic European feel of the Alps, and it is located close to many of the best attractions of the White Mountains. Word to the wise--request dinner at the Abode. It's proprietors, an exceedingly friendly Chinese couple, prepare the finest and most authentic Chinese cuisine you have NEVER had. It is light, healthy, and delicious. All in all, a real gem.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wandering_not_lost78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Acton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2010

My family and I recently stayed at the Harmony Mountain Abode for a weekend. The room we stayed in was very clean, and the furniture was very beautiful. The rooms are a little old, but that doesn't really detract from the charm of the place. The Chinese couple who own the place cooked extremely delicious Chinese food for us for dinner. They were very nice and welcoming to us, and we enjoyed our stay a lot.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twen198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

If you are looking for luxurious accommodations or a beautifully appointed home, look elsewhere. There are such inns in the area but you will also pay luxurious prices. Perhaps some of the furniture is a little old and some walls may not be perfectly painted, but this B&B has a lot of character and is well priced. It feels more like an old farm house and is reminiscent of a European-style, mountain chalet. In fact, I thought it was the perfect place to stay for the price, and for mountain and outdoor lovers like me or anyone who come to enjoy the beautiful White Mountains. There are great views of the Presidential Range from the house, and the location is central to White Mountains hiking, skiing (Breton Woods just around the corner), and family activities, although not right in town - Lincoln and North Conway are wonderfully busy, but for those who like a more quiet setting, this is a good location within minutes of wilderness and close to charming Bethlehem. There are several good restaurants within ten miles. The house was clean and all the rooms I saw were spacious and comfortable, with nice wood floors and full private bathrooms. Road noise can be a bit loud in the front of the house, but traffic was infrequent at night. If available, ask for a back room. The walls were decorated with pictures of the Swiss Alps, which is in tune with the surrounding mountain setting, although I would have preferred local pictures. There was a large common area for guests with a kitchen and an enclosed porch facing south that must be a great place to seat in winter. The high point of my stay was the Chinese owner, Shehong Chen. He and his wife run the B&B. She was in China, so I did not meet her, but both are well educated, she a university professor. Mr. Chen was a great host, a very amiable person. He bent over backwards to make sure I had everything I needed and was of great help in providing directions to nearby attractions. Warmly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mountain_traveller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific NW (USA)
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2009

This inn, located in the White NMountains close by Bretton Woods, is as charming and comfortable as I have experienced in many years of travelling. It is small (7 rooms, all en suite), not pretentious or frilly, well appointed, quiet, and stars the couple who own it. Shehong and "Joe" may not have started as innkeepers, but they are outstanding in that role now. They are attentive to their guests' every need, have oodles of information of where to go and what to do in the neighborhood [including nearby restaurants], prepare a fine American breakfast that is cooked to order [included], and will even lay out a gourmet Chinese meal for dinner for a modest per person rate [they are from China themselves). Most importantly, they are gracious and intensely interesting hosts. The rooms are almost unbelievably modestly priced and a real bargain. We shall certainly return; in fact, we are thinking of booking the entire inn for a weekend family reunion in 2010, to include at least one of Joe's authentic Mandarin banquets.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orangulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, md
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

My wife and I routinely stay in B & B's everywhere we go - often with very mixed results. No problem here - Harmony Mountain Abode is easily the best we've ever stayed at. The hosts were wonderful - friendly, polite and engaging. The place was beautiful and absolutely spotless. There is a beautiful front porch / sun room that is perfect for reading. The breakfasts were fantastic with piles of wonderful and healthy food. For an extra fee our host, Joe, cooked us an 8 course traditional Chinese dinner that was absolutely sensational. The location is also great - about halfway between the Bretton Woods / Mount Washington area and Franconia State Park - conveninet to everything. We are definitely looking forward to a repeat visit next Fall. We've been coming to the White Mountains each year for more than 15 years and we've finally found the perfect place to stay.

  • Liked — The friendliness of the hosts and the sparkling, clean facility
  • Disliked — We liked everything
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steves1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2008

This B&B just re-opened under new owners in Dec. 2007. It's located in a 19th-century house with enormous front windows and 7 delightful rooms. Two of the rooms are suites with separate living rooms (including sofa beds) and a mini-kitchen. All rooms have their own bathrooms. The bedrooms and the rest of the house were exceptionally clean--it's obvious that the owners take great pride in this new venture. The B&B is located just minutes from Bretton Woods resort as well as a vast network of trails for hiking, skiing, snowshoeing, and walking.
We booked the entire house for a group of friends, and the owners were very accomodating to all of our requests. The price of the room includes an abundant breakfast cooked to order, which was delicious. The backyard opens onto a small forest and includes a meadow that was a great place for children to play.
The owners, who are themselves Chinese, prepared an elaborate 8-course Chinese feast for us on Sat night at $35 per person. It was fabulous!
All in all, this is a great place to stay for exploring the White Mountains. We skied at Bretton Woods and did some hiking on local trails.

  • Liked — location, cleanliness, helpfulness of owners
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2008

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at Harmony Mountain Abode. It is run by a delightful Chinese couple who recently purchased the property. The B and B is in great condition overall - the rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious. There are two suites with mini-kitchens, a living room and bedroom area - perfect for a family with kids. The two owners are so nice and helpful, eager to make sure your stay is comfortable. Their breakfasts are healthy and filling. It is also in a perfect location, close to several nordic and downhill ski areas and plentiful hiking.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — No opinion
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerSBZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twin Mountain
5.0 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
278 reviews
7.3 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
110 reviews
5.5 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort
0.4 mi away
Carlson's Lodge
Carlson's Lodge
#2 of 6 in Twin Mountain
158 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Skywood Manor Inn
The Skywood Manor Inn
#3 of 3 in Jefferson
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Mountain Abode? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Mountain Abode

Property: Harmony Mountain Abode
Address: 222 Route 3 South, Twin Mountain, NH 03595
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Twin Mountain
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Twin Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B is located in the center of New Hampshire's White Mountains with easy access to ski resorts, hiking trails and bike routes and affords views of the majestic Mount Washington. The natural setting makes an ideal romantic getaway or retreat from the outside world. Five units and two suites with their own bathrooms. A sun-soaked front porch. Wireless high-speed internet access available. A wood-burning fireplace in the dining room. Offers full-course authentic chinese dinner. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing