We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An abundance of food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northern Embers - CLOSED

Northern Embers
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“An abundance of food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a fabulous dinner at this place. It's not a fancy place, but they give you enough food to feed four people off of one plate. The fish and chips were great.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OKTraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    32
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maine, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not great. Not bad.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The food was OK. The service was incredibly and horribly slow. I will definitely not return there. One can find much better places nearby.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JackKMaine_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I ate at Northern Embers while on vacation in Twin Mountain. We got the chicken parmesan and the marinated sirloin steak tips.

Good: The chicken parmesan was good (chicken crispy, sauce flavorful, pasta cooked just right) and the portion was HUGE. We were able to split the leftovers for dinner the next night (fortunately our hotel had a fridge). The steak tips were very tender and flavorful. Our server was very nice.

Not so good: Restaurant was understaffed. Our service wasn't too slow, but a couple tables hadn't been fully cleared, and weren't while we were there. Also, the rice that came with the steak tips tasted like smoke, to the point where I didn't eat it.

Overall, not a bad choice. It's a good deal, especially when you consider the size of the portions.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastham
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good hearty food, super service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Checked out this newer place with Pam and a friend and was very impressed. I remember it as a hotel many years ago, but now it's a restaurant with a separate motel in the back. We started with a shared Fried Calamari appetizer, served with banana peppers and a marinara sauce. A wonderfully light, crisp batter application and cooked to perfection. Two of us had the prime rib au jus dinner, served with fresh hot rolls, butternut squash and baked potato - great flavor and a huge portion - took half home for at least another meal. Pam had salmon with rice, and while it was quite tasty it was a bit overcooked for her taste - she prefers just a touch of heat with most fish. Again the portions were generous. The friendly and attentive waitstaff made the day - and brought me a piece of superb cheesecake (with a candle) for my 68th birthday.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NH
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Northern Embers review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The food was very good, large servings, very nice staff. May have been short-staffed when I was there, because the service was just a tad slow.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scooter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northern Embers also viewed

Twin Mountain, White Mountains
 
Bretton Woods, White Mountains
Twin Mountain, White Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing