We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Clean and Friendly with reasonable price”
Review of Carlson's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carlson's Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Twin Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location, Clean and Friendly with reasonable price”
Reviewed March 9, 2009

Stayed for skiing for couple days. Very clean and spacious room with great view. Worm and hommy interiors. Friendly owner. Close to all mountains.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SergeyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    34
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
47
65
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NJ
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2009

After reading other reviews, I was expecting a nice place with a friendly atmosphere and clean rooms. The folks at Carlson's Lodge delivered. My family really tries to avoid cookie-cutter hotels when we can. Finding a clean, friendly, unique and reasonably-priced place like Carlson's is part of the adventure when planning a vacation. We were all very happy with our stay. The kids, ages 5 and 6, immediately started referring to our room as our apartment. It had a small kitchenette with 2 twin beds and a fullsize bed. Everything was very clean and ready for use. As an added bonus, the shower water pressure was AWESOME, especially after a day of skiing at Bretton Woods. Now we have to go back in the summer to try the pool. The only negative was the 'game room'. Not much in the way of games, only a pool table and a table tennis table. GREAT PLACE!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — odd room arrangement
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffrides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2008

We just returned from another wonderful vacation at Carlson's Lodge in Twin Mt. I am still amazed at the quality and size of the room you get for such an outstanding price. Staff was very accomodating and FREE breakfast was another added perk. We enjoyed many attractions in the area. My favorite - The Flume ! We will be back again for sure .

  • Liked — Large, clean, great price.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CarmenRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
100 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2008

Homey, relaxed, sparkling clean, and less expensive are the real plusses of Carlson's Lodge. We spent 3 nights here and slept very well. It was great to have windows that opened and a ceiling fan so we did not have to run the air conditioner and could breath fresh mountain air. The room had many signs of improvements - fresh wall coverings, updated plumbing but I would suggest new carpeting be put on the list of things to do. There is a refrigerator and microwave in the basement for guests to use. So for a place to get a comfortable night's sleep, it was great. We did not use the pool, but saw some families enjoying it on a warm afternoon. But there were some negatives. The public spaces could be wonderful - large lobby, breakfast area, upstairs deck, downstairs game room - but they are in need of some major updating. Dim lighting and sheets covering roll-a-ways did nothing to invite people in. The game room is in the basement and it really is mostly just a basement. And the deposits and rules surrounding using the pool and ping-pong table just seemed to make it too much trouble. The owners were very responsive with suggestions for restaurants and hikes but directions were hard to follow for us having never been there and not being familiar with local place names. The continental breakfast "available" means they were asking for a donation for whatever you ate. We by passed it all together and did breakfast in our room with cereal and milk we kept in the basement frig. I'm not disappointed in our stay, but I would probably look elsewhere if we were in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ProfMercator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2008

I seldom take the time to give feedback, but Carlson's definitely warrants it! They offer very clean, comfortable, family-friendly accommodations, at a reasonable price. (If you travel, you know that can be a difficult combination to find in lodging.) We're looking forward to returning again this year. It's so nice to stay where you are made to feel welcome, and at home, and can have all of your questions answered honestly by local folk. Coffee and continental breakfast are included, as are beautiful views, a pool, rec room, and more. If you prefer the local flavor to chain hotels, as I do, don't miss Carlson's!

  • Liked — Guests are made to feel welcome, and comfortable, for the duration of their stay
  • Disliked — liked pretty much everything; that's why we're going back
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KNorrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, NH
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2007

I stayed at this place a few years ago and remembered it to be alright but really enjoyed that they had breakfast on-site. I remembered it being pretty good and inexpensive...things like bacon eggs and pancakes.... Now, it's a "continental breakfast"...this means your choice of cornflakes, raisin bran, or store-brand white toast. I was really disappointed, I would've paid for breakfast...

The place itself is in need of updating but it's clean and homey. The bed is incredibly hard and we woke up quite stiff. The lady who checked us in was very nice and helpful in suggesting a restauraunt, but no one was around when we wanted to check out. So I just left the keys on the desk.

I don't think I'd come back.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — hard bed
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suriaah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2007

Firiendly and cozy little place. They waited up for us cuz we said we would be arriving late at night to check in. Room was fine, not luxurious. Great ski and stay package--$50 lift tickets available at the front desk. Less than 10 minutes from the mountain. Continental breakfast included. Jan 2007.

Helpful?
2 Thank soleilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twin Mountain
5.1 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
7.2 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
18.7 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
5.7 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,358 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlson's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlson's Lodge

Property: Carlson's Lodge
Address: 330 Route 302, Twin Mountain, NH 03595
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Twin Mountain
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Twin Mountain
#4 Family Hotel in Twin Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlson's Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlson's Lodge is a family owned and operated Lodge located in the White Mountain's of New Hampshire. Built in 1973 by Carl Carlson it has been passed on and is run by his daughter Carol and grandson Will. The lodge is located on 50 wooded acres and is central to local attractions and outdoor adventures in any season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Carlson's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlson`s Hotel Twin Mountain
Carlsons Twin Mountain
Carlsons Hotel Twin Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing