We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All in all very good!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlson's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlson's Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Twin Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“All in all very good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Carlson's lodge for 2 nights,it is really lovely from inside with very clean and comfortable rooms! However,they should really switch the matress(es) once in a while,cause it is extremely old and therefore gives you backpains. Also they should really think about offering free (!) continental breakfast,which unfortunately they don't. All in all,it was still a very good stay and we would always come back:-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath260686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonsLodge, co-owner at Carlson's Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Kathy,
We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us and wish you had told us of your concerns while you were here. The majority of our rooms with two beds have one firm bed and one pillow top softer bed; those with one differ as well. I’m so sorry that you didn’t let us know after the first night so that we could have changed your room or provided a bedboard to make your second night comfortable. Please let us know your preference when you come again. Additionally, though many people do contribute to the basket on the table, there is no charge for our breakfast of cereal, juice, toast, & coffee or tea. We hope to see you again soon and make your second stay more enjoyable than your first. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    34
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
65
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moultonborough, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

My significant other and I were looking for a place to get away from the daily grind and Carlson's Lodge was perfect! As hard-training triathletes we were looking to be right in the midst of the notches so we could do some hiking, running, and bicycling, and found the quiet area to be perfect for us! Not only are the rooms spacious yet cozy for the evenings, but the location of the Lodge put us in a prime spot for the activities we were looking to do. Most of the roads boasted wide shoulders and scenic views (ideal for cycling), and the trails for hiking and running are seemingly endless! The owners were very welcoming and easy-going, the pool was top-notch for that leisurely end-of-day dip, and there are plenty of spots to sit outside, enjoy the views and not have to worry about being overheard by neighboring groups. I would highly recommend this lodge to anyone and will be returning again soon!

Room Tip: Look out your window at sunrise for phenomenal mountain views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cory G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laconia, New Hampshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Carlson Lodge has the perfect location for any active adventure you might think of! We planed our trip up to this beautiful area with a purpose to do some training for triathlons – and what a great decision it was to stay at the Carlson Lodge!! Right upon arrival we were welcomed by one of the family members and made feel like at home. Before we knew it, we were in our very specious room – which was so perfect as with all the gear we need to triathlon training it isn’t always the case. The room was impeccably clean and bed very comfortable.
We woke up to a beautiful view of the mountains and headed out for a great 40 mile bike ride up to the Cog station and then over to the Crawford Notch. For anyone looking to do some riding, we would strongly recommend this location as there is always a nice shoulder to ride on and the traffic is never bad... oh and the views are absolutely fabulous! Following the ride we did a rather hot, but very scenic 13 mile run – again, the lodge location worked out perfect.. and the bonus was a nice cool swim in the pool! Yes, they have a pool right by the lodge! .. We will definitely come back!! This is the perfect place for an active get-away!! You will only wish you had more time to take advantage of all the options!

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to talk to the inn keepers - they are so helpful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TriFan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

A lovely place overlooking the Twin Mountains! Impeccably kept and full of charm, we were warmly welcomed by wonderful hostess Carol. My wife and I immensley enjoyed our stay to take the nearby Mount Washington Cog Railway. A superb experience; we will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a family built and operated inn where you get lots of personal attention. The proprietress welcomed us and walked us to our rooms. She was quick to answer any questions and provided directions and advice to help make our stay more enjoyable. The motel is not new, but it is impeccably kept. It is a great value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CCRPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is what we think about Carlson's. In October, 1983 my wife and I honeymooned there. (We lived in the NY area at the time.) From that point on, a foliage season visit there became an annual event for us. We also visited a few times in the summer. Now, even though we live in Las Vegas (a bit more distant), we will be spending the night of October 6, 2013 at Carlson's, to celebrate our 30th anniversary!

There is absolutely everything right, and nothing at all wrong, with this lodge. The only thing we will miss this trip is the presence of Carl and Ruth Carlson, our original hosts, who have passed away. But Carol, who has been working there since back in the day, is simply wonderful.

I cannot recommend a place more highly!!

Room Tip: Try for a deluxe corner room, in the 200 wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobL1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming, RI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at Carlson's lodge several times throughout several years. The location is great, whether you are there for skiing or snowmobiling! You can snowmobile right from the lodge to the base of Mt Washington at the Cog Railway. Have enjoyed many stays, enjoying the warm atmosphere!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetCWyoming_RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twin Mountain
5.1 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
7.2 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
18.7 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
5.7 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,244 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlson's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlson's Lodge

Property: Carlson's Lodge
Address: 330 Route 302, Twin Mountain, NH 03595
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Twin Mountain
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Twin Mountain
#4 Family Hotel in Twin Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlson's Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlson's Lodge is a family owned and operated Lodge located in the White Mountain's of New Hampshire. Built in 1973 by Carl Carlson it has been passed on and is run by his daughter Carol and grandson Will. The lodge is located on 50 wooded acres and is central to local attractions and outdoor adventures in any season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Carlson's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlson`s Hotel Twin Mountain
Carlsons Twin Mountain
Carlsons Hotel Twin Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing