We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anchorage at the Lake
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Me and my girlfriends came up for a girls weekend. We swam in the lake, we went to weirs beach (which isnt too far) and raced on the go-carts, we did mini golf, and we cooked on the bbq! We had the best time! We had such a good time that we actually booked for 2011 to bring our husbands/boyfriends! We all can't wait to go back and have a great time!

Just remember if you go, that the nights can get chilly, we went in august and i only brought shorts and a tank to to sleep in, we had to run to old navy, (the outlets are also close!! Big plus) and buy sweat pants!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xkellz17x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theanchorage01, Owner at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2011

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at the Anchorage at the Lake, we love to hear about the great times our guest have in this laid back rustic style vacation spot, it is a camping type atmosphere only with cabins rather than tents. We certainly look forward to seeing you again in 2011.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 130 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2010

Our family started vacationing at The Anchorage in 1993 when our first child was just months old. We met families here each year who have become our closest friends. We've "worked our way up" to one of the larger cabins as our family grew up. I've always called to ask if I needed to bring anything to any place I've stayed and found out that aside from an oven, the Anchorage had everything we'd need. If our cabin didn't have it, we'd just ask the cabin neighbor next to us if they had one to borrow. Deb and her staff in the office have been very accommodating. I recommend this place for families who want a home away from home. These are cabins and are rustic and have been weathered by many years of New England but have been maintained by the staff to keep their charm of the rustic New England vacation rental cabin.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theanchorage01, Owner at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2011

Thank you for your great review, we hear this over and over about families that have returned to the Anchorage for many years watching their children grow up and experiencing the family oriented vacations that we all used to have when we were children. We look forward to seeing you each and every year and hope to have you many years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

We've been visiting the Anchorage for about 15 years! Notice I said we traveled with "Extended Family". We met 6 other families here YEARS ago! We all have continued to book the same week every year and they are all TRULY our "family"! The kids came because they are just that - "kids" - they HAD to. This last year we had ALL of the same "kids" with us!. Most of them are in college now! How many college aged kids WANT to spend a vacation with their families nowadays? The Anchorage is like coming "home" to ALL of us!!! If it is a relaxing vacation you want, the Anchorage is where you want to be. The accommodations are very rustic, a step above camping. It's not the Hilton, but who cares??? Rooms are clean, staff is great! Who needs a pool when you have one of the most beautiful, clean lakes in New England? My husband is an avid Bass angler - says it's one of the best kept secrets for Bass fishing! They have docks so bring your own boat! Don't have one - rent one near by! Volleyball, canoeing, an annnual kids vs. adults baseball game (EVERYONE is invited to join our game, whether we know you or not!), reading a book lounging in the sun, paddle boats - I could go on! TV? Who needs one? At night we all gather, have camp fires and roast marshmellows and talk about our days events and what we are going to do tomorrow!!! You want to shop? Tanger Outlets are 2 miles away!!! You want to do "touristy things? Tons of attractions all within 5 minutes to an hour away! They do NOT have places like The Anchorage anymore - family oriented! I truly cannot say enough good things about this place!!!! If it is total relaxtion you want - this IS the place for you! I forgot to mention - they are "PET FRIENDLY"!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraBean55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

This was our fourth stay at "Anchorage at the Lake". Each time we go there we enjoy it even more than before. Pets are allowed, which was one of the reasons we first went to Anchorage, but we soon fell in love with the place. Rustic cabins that are clean and cozy. Nice beaches (even one for the dogs) that are kept up nicely (all the grounds are kept up), and the staff is friendly and helpful. We once had a problem with the stove and the manager was down to the cabin immediately to take care of it. If you are looking for a vacation without phones and tv (the only tv is in the sitting room in the office building) and just peace and quiet in a woodsy setting than you must stay here

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irelandaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Anchorage had everything we needed & MORE! This family friendly location is on our list for future reunions. We were given wonderful suggestions for sight seeing. Met quite a few neighbors, some who had all been coming to anchorage for years. I was most impressed with the upkeep - regular trash removal, grills cleaned & linen service! The roomy screened porch housed many homemade meals & games galore! Our porch overlooked the common area where during the day you could see children playing ball with their parents, swinging, hanging on monkey bars. After dinner, the moon would slowly rise above the lake, lighting the way for countless shooting stars on your way to the fire pit, loaded with precut wood.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatB313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

On the spur of the moment we booked a one night stay for my three person family plus dog. Unfortunately our plans changed last minute and we could not make the trip. Although the reservation was non-refundable when the management heard the reason for the cancellation they were kind enough to refund us for the amount owed. Although we did not get to stay at the property I would give the management an excellent review for bending the rules. We hope to visit next year!

Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
Thank Chefette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We spent a week there at the end of August. The family was excited to be staying in a cabin for the first time and had seen some lovely pictures of the place on their brochure and website, so we thought it would be a great trip. Boy, was I wrong. Yes, the property is very nice - maintained grounds and easy access to the water. However, even with this, the children playground equipment was EXTREMELY outdated - rusty and just old. We wouldn't allow our toddler to touch it at all. We were told we could borrow a canoe, which we did, but there was a two hour limit and they have very few boats to rent, so we wound up waiting for folks to return their oars to rent one, which was a real hassle when a whole day is planned around a boat trip. The "beach" area was pathetic - a small little hole with a few chairs. The cabin though was the worst. We paid for a two bedroom - the place was very dirty (ants all over the place), mattresses that must have been purchased when they opened to place - had back problems for days, disgusting bathroom with a broken shower curtain, stains on the faucet, no curtain on the bathroom window, so we got stuck using a towel for privacy, I could go on and on. One night, we got home from a long day of hiking and the power was out - only in our cabin. We had to call the office emergency number for someone to come. The woman did come quickly and flipped the switch, but didn't even acknowledge our frustration or apologize for the inconvenience considering we had a scared two year old with us. Then the ceiling light went out - all we were told is "I guess the bulb went out" and never gave us a new bulb! I was shocked by this response. Also, the game room - forget about it! No person could actually use it - completely run down. They should spend some money fixing up the place. I bet it was a site 30 years ago, but no updates then. Very disappointed with the place and would never return, especially at the cost!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tammykayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theanchorage01, Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2010

Dear Guest,
I am so sorry to hear you were not happy with your accommodations here at the Anchorage, perhaps if you let us know during your stay, we may have been able to place you in a more sufficient cabin, we certainly would have done that for you. I also apoligize for the lack of power when you came back from your trip, as you stated it was taken care of quickly. Our property has three beaches, perhaps you did not use the larger safe beach, it has chaise lounge chairs and is larger than deep beach.
We understand our property needs updating in many areas, going forward we are working very hard to make the improvements, we do understand this is not a property for everyone and are completely understanding to our guest expectations. Please feel free to contact us and give us the opportunity to talk about the issues you had with the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tilton
0.4 mi away
Econolodge Inn & Suites
8.6 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 13 in Laconia
497 reviews
5.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tilton
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
2.0 mi away
The Lake House at Ferry Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage at the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage at the Lake

Address: 725 Laconia Rd, Tilton, NH 03276-5329
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Tilton
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tilton
Price Range: $143 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchorage at the Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchorage at the Lake is located in Tilton, NH just 3.3 miles from I-93 on Lake Winnisquam. This family oriented and pet friendly resort is located on over 30 acres of land and one mile of waterfront. There are three private beaches, a huge sundeck, beach volley ball, boat slips, a floating raft, free use of kayaks and canoes, horseshoes, weekly bonfires, family entertainment & more! Each cabin features a screened in porch, charcoal grill and picnic table. Cabins are very basic, cabin style camping. There are no frills however each cabin does have a fully equipped kitchenette, bathroom and shower and the Anchorage at the Lake does provide all necessary linens & towels. The Anchorage at the Lake brings families together in its back to basics nostalgic charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anchorage at the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage At The Lake Hotel Tilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing