We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun for the family, quiet and relaxing.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anchorage at the Lake
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great fun for the family, quiet and relaxing.”
Reviewed August 2, 2010

This was a great place for us to stay. It was rustic but not too rustic. The grandchildren ages 16 and 5 had a great time. The 5 year old swam in the lake from 9AM until 6:30 PM. He had a blast. The water and lake front were very clean an not too crowed . It was nice to get up in the morning and look out onto the lake surrounded by hills..
The 16 year old spent his days fishing and swimming. The cottages were nice and the beds very comfortable. I would go back again next year for a relaxing retreat. Thank you for such great hospitality!!!..

The Pedersons and Mulvany's

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjp1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theanchorage01, Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
Thank you for your great review of the Anchorage at the Lake, we do take pride in keeping up with the property. As you stated in your review, the cabins are rustic but not too rustic. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, we do hope to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    28
    11
    2
    17
See reviews for
75
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Cabins - Stinking, old very badly maintained. Rust in the sink, dripping shower, flooring is peeling.
Staff - not friendly, hostile and unhelpful

Outside the cabins is a different story - lovely grass, great beaches and boats complementary to take when every you like.

However - would not go back again and would not recommend, especially not with young kids

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lustigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theanchorage01, Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
We apologize that you were less than happy with your accommodations at the Anchorage, we do try to keep up with the cabins and are progressing at this more and more every year, it is unfortuneate that you did no enjoy that part of your vacation. We are pleased to hear you did enjoy the property. We do relize the rustic cabins are not for everyone and are working hard to improve going forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend with our dog. We came across it while searching for dog-friendly locations. The inn had just recently started allowing dogs in certain cabins. We were looking forward to bring ours with us and being able to sit and play with her at a beach. We had heard it was a wonderful spot to enjoy the lake. Instead we were very disappointed. The cottage we had was poorly maintained and equipped - only one stove pilot <barely> worked, the heater was broken, and there were not enough plates/utensils, not to mention dirty linoleum floors and cobwebs that needed a serious sweeping. The restrictive office hours were also a problem. The "beach" where dogs were allowed was an opening in the woods with muck instead of sand. We felt as though we were staying in a dog kennel instead of paying full price for a cabin plus an additional fee for the dog. We would never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fritzina28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theanchorage01, Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your getaway to the Anchorage. Though your heading to this review states it is a "step up from camping" as it is., Perhaps you could contact us directly so we could discuss the issues you had with your cabin and the pet beach area. We do try to keep our property clean for our guest. It is unfortunate that you were not pleased with the property.

We certainly will work harder to improve on these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2010

This is our 4th year being up at the Anchorage for the July 4th weekend! What a great time! Perfect weather, great cabin, friendly people and relaxation! My kids are 6 and 8 and don't even notice there is no tv, Wii or other electronics there. They are up at the crack of dawn ready for a day of fun on the beach and playground. We absolutely love this place and look forward to it every year. Deb is top notch in taking care of anything you need. Everyone who stays here can't help but relax. We spent this year sharing a cabin on the beach with my parents. Growing up in Michigan it brought back a lot of great memories not just for me, but my dad to a place we used to stay at out there. I am so happy there is a place like this to bring my kids so that they get to spend "real" family time together. Hoping to try and get back up in August after son's baseball is over!!

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MAtravelguy3896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theanchorage01, Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
Thank you for your great review, we are always happy to hear of the wonderful time our guest are experiencing here at the Anchorage. We wish this great time for all of our guest. We do hope to see your again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2010

My sister and I were looking for a long weekend getaway with our sons. We grew up staying in a cabin on a lake in Maine that has since closed down, so we were looking to replicate that for our children. We were fortunate to be able to rent a lakefront cabin, however there is a higher fee; the view and conveniences of being right on the beach were well worth it. The boys (ages 11, 9, and 8) were a bit skeptical about not having any "electronics" for the vacation but in no time they did not even ask for them. Everything the website shows/explains is what you will find at Anchorage; we all enjoyed the simplicity of life and activities overlooked when living in Metro NY area. The boys even declined a day at the waterpark to stay on camp and utilize the outdoor activities Anchorage offers. We were particularly impressed with the comfortable beds and extra clean linens offered. The cabins, rustic as expected, were very clean and well maintained. The staff was always on hand to offer assistance, yet not overbearing. We are hoping to return next summer with additional family members.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MomInNJ349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theanchorage01, Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Anchorage, we do appreciate the kind words regarding our staff as they do work very hard so our guest have the great vacation experience.
We are so pleased your children enjoyed themselves so much they would turn down a day at the waterpark, this is what the Anchorage is all about "families connecting". It sounds like you did just that, we are glad we could contribute to that. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2010

I have been staying at the anchorage for about 20 years, every summer. The cottages are rustic, so if you are looking for a four star hotel you should look else where. Most of the cottages are either lake front or have lake views. It is now pet friendly (in certain cottages). There are three beaches, a large playground, baseball field, canoes available, and docks for rent. We bring our boat and jet ski every summer. If you have a boat or a jet ski, this lake is great. The cabins have no tvs.. why would you even want to watch tv when you have the lake?! But there is wireless internet in the game room so if you have to check e-mail or something. Overall, this is definitely my favorite place to stay. Just keep in mind, the cabins are supposed to be rustic!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank introspectionx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theanchorage01, owner at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review, February 22, 2010
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Anchorage. The pleasant sounds of the summer birds and lake effects are calming to our guest. We hope to see you again this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2009

The Anchorage is a great place to get away and relax. There are plenty of things to do canoeing, fishing and many sites to see in that area. You wake up each morning right on the lake and spend the day on the beach. The cabins are rustic, but cozy. There are screen porches on each cabin so even the one day that it did rain we could still sit outside and enjoy the scenery without getting wet.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shann217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tilton
4.0 mi away
The Landmark Inn
The Landmark Inn
#13 of 13 in Laconia
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Econolodge Inn & Suites
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
5.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
8.6 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 13 in Laconia
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage at the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage at the Lake

Property: Anchorage at the Lake
Address: 725 Laconia Rd, Tilton, NH 03276-5329
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Tilton
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchorage at the Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchorage at the Lake is located in Tilton, NH just 3.3 miles from I-93 on Lake Winnisquam. This family oriented and pet friendly resort is located on over 30 acres of land and one mile of waterfront. There are three private beaches, a huge sundeck, beach volley ball, boat slips, a floating raft, free use of kayaks and canoes, horseshoes, weekly bonfires, family entertainment & more! Each cabin features a screened in porch, charcoal grill and picnic table. Cabins are very basic, cabin style camping. There are no frills however each cabin does have a fully equipped kitchenette, bathroom and shower and the Anchorage at the Lake does provide all necessary linens & towels. The Anchorage at the Lake brings families together in its back to basics nostalgic charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Anchorage at the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage At The Lake Hotel Tilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing