We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All in for next summer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anchorage at the Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Randolph, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All in for next summer”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We are one of six families that have vacationed here together for the past two summers. We searched for a pet friendly place that had a nice location, clean beach, open space and activities for 17 kids to enjoy, decent sized cabins, and helpful staff. We found it at Anchorage at the Lake. Swimming, fishing, kayaking, volleyball, horseshoes, ping pong, a playground, a large grassy field for all kinds of activities, a sundeck overlooking Lake Winnisquam, TV for a rainy day, fire pits, and a nightly bonfire keep the kids and adults happy and relaxed all week. The staff are extremely friendly and try very hard to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. It's not a resort. The cabins are rustic, but more than adequate for families looking for this type of vacation lodging. The only complaints I read seem to belong to people who either had unrealistic expectations of cabin lodging or have booked their reservation through a third party. Hard to fault Anchorage for either, in my opinion. Anchorage at the Lake may not be for everybody, but it works great for us. Thanks Alyson and Chris.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank-you Steve. We are so happy that your family and the rest of the crew found us last season and enjoy the many things The Anchorage at the Lake has to offer. This is a fabulous family cabin-style camping resort located on over 30 acres with a mile of waterfront and is steps from the lake, has beautiful views, nightly campfires and is an escape from the hustle and bustle where families can reconnect. Cabins are basic but efficient and offer the amenities you miss when tent camping such as electricity, a kitchen, bathroom, shower & linens. If these are your expectations then you will love it here! See you next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    28
    10
    2
    17
See reviews for
68
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

A large group of us booked several cabins here last weekend and it was a big mistake! The cabins are very old and outdated. The appliances and fixtures were disgusting. The bed sheets were dirty with cob webs when turned down. And the overall smell in each cabin was just rank! All eight of us were extremely disappointed :( The only good thing going for this place is the view of the lake. If you choose to stay here bring your own air mattress, linen, pillow, lysol, and bleach!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CapeCotter726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
These types of reviews are very hard to respond to and it is unfortunate that you were not informed that we are cabin style camping. It is very important to us that guests know the type of basic, cabin style camping that we offer here at The Anchorage at the Lake. The cabins were built in the 50’s and we do what we can to improve them every year and some are better than others, but overall they are still very basic and provide comforts that regular camping does not at a location that is second to none. If you weren’t aware of the type of property we are and expected plush comforts and updated fixtures etc. then your dissatisfaction is understandable. It is disheartening to read your comment about cleanliness when you or the seven other people staying with you did not give us any indication that you felt your cabin was not clean while you were here or afterwards. Seeing your damaging post is the first we have heard of your complaint which gives us no opportunity to make it right for you if in fact your cabin was not cleaned to your satisfaction. Please contact directly us if you would like to discuss the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night in a tiny lakeside cabin. It was perfect, even though we didn't have a tv. We had a kitchenette and a fire pit. It really was lakeside. This was the best value right on the lake. It's definitely a hidden gem. The cabins are a little rustic but bigger and modern ones were available. We will definitely return every year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAMABEAR919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank-you Elizabeth. The Anchorage at the Lake truly is a hidden gem and is the perfect destination for families and those who enjoy camping but want a little more comfort. Having your own fully equipped kitchenette, bathroom, shower & screened in porch makes those camping getaways more enjoyable, especially when you can step out of your cabin and be enjoying one of the three private beaches in just a few steps or a short walk. Thank-you for your post and we look forward to seeing you next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Rustic (very simple) cabins, a bit rundown, but fine for the purpose intended. I suppose, had it rained the whole week, we would have noticed. But the sun was shining all week, so we were out at the beach, kayaking, canoeing, fishing, enjoying the evening bonfires... The staff were excellent, lots of good tips, great service and generally nice folks. If you want a nice hotel room, this isn't the place for you. If you want a simple, affordable, friendly place where your family can feel safe and relax, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimberSteakhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank-you Daniel. Your comment is very well put. The Anchorage at the Lake offers relaxed cabin-style camping at a spectacular location with over one mile of waterfront on Lake Winnisquam. It offers the kinds of amenities that bring you back to the basics where you can disconnect from the everyday hustle and bustle that this busy world is used to and enjoy precious family time and make memories. We are so glad you enjoyed your getaway and look forward to seeing you again next season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

If your looking for a 5 star resort this isn't it ! But what it is , is a very scenic and very pleasant place to unwind with beutiful views and a spectacular lake ! The employees there were very pleasant and very helpful and I can't wait to go back again next year !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arty72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank-you Arty. What you said is true, true, true, true and true! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and are happy to hear that you are enthusiastic about coming back to The Anchorage at the Lake again next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2013

If you come here knowing what is meant by rustic camp you will have a great time.We are campers so we bring an air mattress in case the bed isn't comfortable.We spent most our time either swimming, boating,sitting by a huge community fire pit or staring at the lake from our screened-in porch.I went there not expecting a Vermont b&b.Our cabin was clean and simple and we loved it.Alison and Chris the couple running the camp were perfect.They could not have been more friendly and accommodating. We chose this place because they allowed our pets(for a fee of course) and they have three beaches,one which is pet friendly.My two dogs loved this place.Lastly if it rained the whole time i was there i would get in my car and go find some fun or food or both.Then i would come back to my screened porch drink some hot coffee and stare at the beautiful lake. "it's camping people".

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Walter you are absolutely right. If you enjoy camping, sitting on a screened in porch overlooking the lake, meeting others at a big bonfire, swimming, kayaking, canoeing, fishing, boating etc. then The Anchorage at the Lake is the perfect destination for you. If not, that’s perfectly understandable which is why we try to make it very clear that we are a Cabin-Style Camping Resort and explain exactly what we have to offer our guests.

Yes, pets love it here too. It’s great to hear guests’ stories about their “water dog” that has missed the water and is happy to be back or their puppy who had its first swimming experience here on our pet friendly beach. It’s just great!

Chris and I are so happy that you and your wife enjoyed your first time here at The Anchorage at the Lake and we hope to see you again next year to celebrate another wedding anniversary with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revere, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2013

All I can say is Henrique S and Annie E must have thought they were at the Hyatt Regency and do not no what its like to rough it up a little. I've been staying at the Anchorage for years now and as matter of fact just got back from spending a week there and the service and the staff couldn't have been any better. The place was Beautiful, staff was great and very friendly, and didn't see a sign of any mice so these people must have taken them in with them, as a matter of fact I've been in business for years and have seen people like this come and go and all they want is something for nothing so please keep the place the same and don't change it because of people that think there in an old age home where they complain about everything and expect everything for nothing. Will definitely be looking forward to staying at the Anchorage at the lake next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank-you Joey. It’s a tough situation only because at a Cabin-Style Camping Resort, there are different variables that can make each individual person’s experience different from one another. Weather is the biggest culprit when it comes to mice, ants etc. If someone spent time here after along wet spell or had an extended stay that unfortunately included lots of rain, it is quite possible that their experience with pests would be different than a guest who spent time here while it was dry and the weather was great.

As you know, our resort is very similar to camping but we have all those little extras that you miss when camping at a campground. A screened in porch, linens, towels, a fully equipped kitchenette, bathroom and shower. Also similar to camping…if the weather isn’t great it does impact your enjoyment. Fortunately, The Anchorage at the Lake is located in the heart of everything so local area indoor attractions are never very far away.

Thanks for the support Joey! We look forward to seeing you again next season but if you can sneak away again before the end of October don’t forget that we have great fall rates and specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tilton
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
0.4 mi away
Econolodge Inn & Suites
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
6.7 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#3 of 13 in Laconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
5.1 mi away
Steele Hill Resorts
Steele Hill Resorts
#1 of 1 in Sanbornton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage at the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage at the Lake

Property: Anchorage at the Lake
Address: 725 Laconia Rd, Tilton, NH 03276-5329
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Tilton
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchorage at the Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchorage at the Lake is located in Tilton, NH just 3.3 miles from I-93 on Lake Winnisquam. This family oriented and pet friendly resort is located on over 30 acres of land and one mile of waterfront. There are three private beaches, a huge sundeck, beach volley ball, boat slips, a floating raft, free use of kayaks and canoes, horseshoes, weekly bonfires, family entertainment & more! Each cabin features a screened in porch, charcoal grill and picnic table. Cabins are very basic, cabin style camping. There are no frills however each cabin does have a fully equipped kitchenette, bathroom and shower and the Anchorage at the Lake does provide all necessary linens & towels. The Anchorage at the Lake brings families together in its back to basics nostalgic charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchorage at the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage At The Lake Hotel Tilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing