We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very peaceful weekend with spectacular views and very friendly people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anchorage at the Lake
Certificate of Excellence
East Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very peaceful weekend with spectacular views and very friendly people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

If your looking for a 5 star resort this isn't it ! But what it is , is a very scenic and very pleasant place to unwind with beutiful views and a spectacular lake ! The employees there were very pleasant and very helpful and I can't wait to go back again next year !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arty72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank-you Arty. What you said is true, true, true, true and true! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and are happy to hear that you are enthusiastic about coming back to The Anchorage at the Lake again next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    28
    10
    2
    17
See reviews for
68
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

If you come here knowing what is meant by rustic camp you will have a great time.We are campers so we bring an air mattress in case the bed isn't comfortable.We spent most our time either swimming, boating,sitting by a huge community fire pit or staring at the lake from our screened-in porch.I went there not expecting a Vermont b&b.Our cabin was clean and simple and we loved it.Alison and Chris the couple running the camp were perfect.They could not have been more friendly and accommodating. We chose this place because they allowed our pets(for a fee of course) and they have three beaches,one which is pet friendly.My two dogs loved this place.Lastly if it rained the whole time i was there i would get in my car and go find some fun or food or both.Then i would come back to my screened porch drink some hot coffee and stare at the beautiful lake. "it's camping people".

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Walter you are absolutely right. If you enjoy camping, sitting on a screened in porch overlooking the lake, meeting others at a big bonfire, swimming, kayaking, canoeing, fishing, boating etc. then The Anchorage at the Lake is the perfect destination for you. If not, that’s perfectly understandable which is why we try to make it very clear that we are a Cabin-Style Camping Resort and explain exactly what we have to offer our guests.

Yes, pets love it here too. It’s great to hear guests’ stories about their “water dog” that has missed the water and is happy to be back or their puppy who had its first swimming experience here on our pet friendly beach. It’s just great!

Chris and I are so happy that you and your wife enjoyed your first time here at The Anchorage at the Lake and we hope to see you again next year to celebrate another wedding anniversary with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revere, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

All I can say is Henrique S and Annie E must have thought they were at the Hyatt Regency and do not no what its like to rough it up a little. I've been staying at the Anchorage for years now and as matter of fact just got back from spending a week there and the service and the staff couldn't have been any better. The place was Beautiful, staff was great and very friendly, and didn't see a sign of any mice so these people must have taken them in with them, as a matter of fact I've been in business for years and have seen people like this come and go and all they want is something for nothing so please keep the place the same and don't change it because of people that think there in an old age home where they complain about everything and expect everything for nothing. Will definitely be looking forward to staying at the Anchorage at the lake next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank-you Joey. It’s a tough situation only because at a Cabin-Style Camping Resort, there are different variables that can make each individual person’s experience different from one another. Weather is the biggest culprit when it comes to mice, ants etc. If someone spent time here after along wet spell or had an extended stay that unfortunately included lots of rain, it is quite possible that their experience with pests would be different than a guest who spent time here while it was dry and the weather was great.

As you know, our resort is very similar to camping but we have all those little extras that you miss when camping at a campground. A screened in porch, linens, towels, a fully equipped kitchenette, bathroom and shower. Also similar to camping…if the weather isn’t great it does impact your enjoyment. Fortunately, The Anchorage at the Lake is located in the heart of everything so local area indoor attractions are never very far away.

Thanks for the support Joey! We look forward to seeing you again next season but if you can sneak away again before the end of October don’t forget that we have great fall rates and specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

My weekend in this place was the worse weekend I have had in my whole life. The outlets in the kitchen were always dropping, it does not have enough parking, the shower was broken, the refrigerator was not working well..... When I asked them to fix, a guy came by check it out and complained that we have more people than usual in the house, after that he COMMANDED us to GET OUT! Yes! He gave us an order as they were doing a favor for us. Come on! We paid $872.00 dollars to stay 2 nights in a crap house. I felt so humiliated ! I DEFINITELY DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE NOT EVEN TO MY ENEMIES! I WILL NOT RATE ZERO STAR, BECAUSE THE WEBSITE DOES NOT HAVE THIS CHOICE, I would if I could.

A summary of my weekend in this place would be compared with a nightmare!

Be far of them!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Yes Henrique, your experience here was far from pleasant and is actually the first time we have ever had to call the police on a guest which was very unpleasant for us as well. It is unfortunate that you booked a house that slept 14 people and expected 40 plus people to be allowed to stay in that one unit. It was your responsibility to inform your 40 guests what the accommodations were so essentially, each person in your group spent $21.80 for your mistake. You were offered the option to stay as long as the maximum number of people allowed in that unit would be staying, not all 40 people. This was unacceptable to you. You and your friend became belligerent at which point you were asked to leave. After refusing to do so, the Tilton Police Department was called and your group was removed from the property. It was a very sad situation.

We would never want a guest to be unhappy or have to be removed by the police like you and your group were. It is our goal to provide excellent guest service and our responsibility to inform you of exactly what you are booking when making a reservation. Had you asked if 40 people could be accommodated in that unit we most certainly would have told you absolutely not. Had we allowed you to stay, we would have knowingly been disregarding the Fire Code set forth by the Tilton Fire Department and potentially be putting your group in danger. Furthermore, it is not fair to the many other guests here at The Anchorage at the Lake to adhere to the maximum occupancy only to see 40-plus people coming from one unit overtaking the private beaches.

Hopefully a lesson was learned and you will not make the same mistake when making a reservation with another property in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Took my kids camping for the first time this week (july 15-18). My kids and I had a great time. nice quiet fun place to go and relax. Cabin was perfect, water was sweet, service n staff friendlyness was perfect. I will definetly come back every year. my kids were sad to leave.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pookie34_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank-you for your positive feedback. Yes, The Anchorage at the Lake is a great destination for families who are looking to kick back, relax in the sun, swim in the beautiful lake and enjoy all the Lakes Region has to offer. We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your vacation here and hope that you make us an annual vacation destination! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Beautiful location, but the dirty uncomfortable poorly maintained cabin severely tainted our time on the lake.

Don't put any food in the cabinets, there are tons of ants (and no ant traps) - I threw away a lot of food. The floor was filthy, there was cobwebs and dirt in some of the cabinets, mouse droppings on the shelf on top of the closet in the bedroom, grime everywhere. I couldn't even find a clean place to put my grocery bags. The refrigerator was wet with condensation on the top and inside, the setting was set too cold and my veggies froze, the ancient white drop ceiling in the bedroom was warped and stained from water, even the stove had rust stains, and the floor had burn marks.

There was zero consideration for comfort here - of course the beds were horribly soft and our backs still hurt; but the small couch was uncomfortable and the cushions wouldn't stay in place. And there wasn't enough furniture or kitchen items either - one tiny couch, and only one person could get enough light to read.

The innkeepers seemed nice, but should spend at least three rainy days in a one bedroom cabin together if they lack the imagination to understand the basics of what is needed. It really wouldn't take much effort to make it a great place - a thorough cleaning, some paint, fixing the door that won't close, adding a light, another chair to sit in.... please at least make an effort!

And please don't say we should have told you we were unhappy - I asked right away for paper towels since I didn't have any and the place was so dirty, and someone came right away with a tiny rag and no interest or understanding of how to clean. No one followed up; and it was so obvious there was no interest in our comfort in the cabin it wasn't worth raising.

You have a great property, please learn from these terrible reviews - I wish I had read them before I booked the place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Chris and I are disappointed that your experience here was not as wonderful as most. We do know that during your stay there was a miserable rainy spell and can imagine that spending your vacation in a very basic cabin-style camping cabin would be trying under those circumstances. We would have been happy to suggest great local area attractions that guests can enjoy during those rainy days.

Please understand that because we are a seasonal, basic cabin-style camping resort, these cabins are not insulated in a way that will keep bugs & critters completely outdoors and these things do tend to happen from time to time, especially when they are trying to find refuge from a long rain spell.

Obviously things such as the weather and critters are something that are out of our control however we do expect for each cabin to be cleaned thoroughly and are sorry that you feel as though your cabin was not. Because seeing this post on Trip Advisor is the first time we have been made aware of your total unhappiness with your cabin, we cannot determine if your complaints are warranted however we have shared your review with our housekeeping staff in an effort to ensure that if this was in fact how your cabin was cleaned prior to your stay that it will not be tolerated.

With that said, although this post is most definitely damaging, The Anchorage at the Lake is still very proud to have just received the Trip Advisor 2103 Certificate of Excellence as a result of our outstanding reviews in the past.

We look forward to seeing those reviews again this year because if you enjoy camping, one mile of waterfront, three private beaches, free use of kayaks & canoes, nightly campfires and great people…The Anchorage at the Lake is the place for you! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

A quick trip away for the weekend with my wife and this placed worked. Rustic cabin right on the lake with beautiful grounds. It rained but did not dampen our weekend. Very relaxing, cooked lobster and shopped at the Tilton Outlets. Staff were very friendly and they have some nice walking trails right on the property.

Room Tip: book one of the waterfront cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank-you for your positive feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay despite the rain and hope that you come back again this summer and see just how amazing the property is on a sunny day..and get to use our complimentary kayaks and canoes this time around too! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tilton
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
0.4 mi away
Econolodge Inn & Suites
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
6.7 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#3 of 13 in Laconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
5.1 mi away
Steele Hill Resorts
Steele Hill Resorts
#1 of 1 in Sanbornton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage at the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage at the Lake

Property: Anchorage at the Lake
Address: 725 Laconia Rd, Tilton, NH 03276-5329
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Tilton
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchorage at the Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchorage at the Lake is located in Tilton, NH just 3.3 miles from I-93 on Lake Winnisquam. This family oriented and pet friendly resort is located on over 30 acres of land and one mile of waterfront. There are three private beaches, a huge sundeck, beach volley ball, boat slips, a floating raft, free use of kayaks and canoes, horseshoes, weekly bonfires, family entertainment & more! Each cabin features a screened in porch, charcoal grill and picnic table. Cabins are very basic, cabin style camping. There are no frills however each cabin does have a fully equipped kitchenette, bathroom and shower and the Anchorage at the Lake does provide all necessary linens & towels. The Anchorage at the Lake brings families together in its back to basics nostalgic charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchorage at the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage At The Lake Hotel Tilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing