We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anchorage at the Lake
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“relaxing weekend”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

A quick trip away for the weekend with my wife and this placed worked. Rustic cabin right on the lake with beautiful grounds. It rained but did not dampen our weekend. Very relaxing, cooked lobster and shopped at the Tilton Outlets. Staff were very friendly and they have some nice walking trails right on the property.

Room Tip: book one of the waterfront cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank-you for your positive feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay despite the rain and hope that you come back again this summer and see just how amazing the property is on a sunny day..and get to use our complimentary kayaks and canoes this time around too! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    28
    11
    2
    17
See reviews for
75
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod, MA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went on a family vacation in September, it was the perfect getaway. A great camping type of atmosphere, but with cabins. If you are looking for a hotel or an inn, then this is not the place for you. If your looking for a great family relaxation trip, you will love it here. We had a lake-front cabin with two bedrooms. The kitchen & bathroom were small, but did the job. We cooked most of our meals on the grill anyways. There was a fire pit right in front of our cabin(great for me 7 my husband to relax around at night once our lil one was asleep) My daughter loved the beach & the playgrounds. We also took a morning to walk though the wooded trails... it was very relaxing. Definitely remember to bring a portable dvd player or computer if you have little ones. It did rain during our trip and my daughter would have gone crazy without it. Although the facility is older, it has charm & is very clean. We will be returning next year for sure!

Room Tip: Spring for the lake-front cabins, they may cost more but its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelista2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank-you very much for such a wonderful review. Chris and I are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation last season. You are very right about the kind of resort that we are. For those who enjoy connecting with family during a vacation rather than connecting to the internet, The Anchorage at the Lake is definitely for you. Although we do know that sometimes you have to connect for business or watch that special game on television and that is why our common room offers a television, desktop computer and WIFI. The Anchorage at the Lake is perfect for those who enjoy camping without the hassle of packing up gear and also for those who don’t want to leave their pets at home as we are pet friendly too! Thank-you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again this season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acushnet, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I have stayed here for bike week several times and again last year. At the least I can say is awesome. If your expecting hotel service then this is not for you if you want the most relaxing atmosphere in the world with some of the best views then stay here. Alyson is as sweet as they come. My first dealing was with her last year as she and Chris are new inkeepers and it was nothing but pleasurable. I just booked my cabin for 2013 and Alyson was noithing more than accommodating with helping me out. Thank you again Alyson. I look forward to another great stay and if you keep getting these good reviews its gonna be harder for me to book my cabins.

Thanks again
Shawn

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Yes! For those who love cabin style camping and getting back to the basics and away from the hustle & bustle The Anchorage at the Lake IS the best place in Tilton! Bike week is always a blast with karaoke & best bike in show and it’s a good thing you booked in advance as space is becoming extremely limited. With that said, for those of you who haven’t booked for the 90th Anniversary Laconia Bike Rally, book now before it’s too late! Thank-you Shawn and we’ll see you in June!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Canaveral, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had a great time at Anchorage (August, 2012) - The cabin was very comfortable and the setting by the lake was beautiful! As new innkeepers Alyson and Chris told us, they are working really hard to bring a few of the structures "up to date" and you see that throughout the property. They are also terrific hosts! They went out of their way to make us feel welcome and answered every one of my 1,000 questions with warmth and professionalism. We took out the canoes and kayaks (free for all guests!) for fun trips along the lake, grilled salmon and steaks on our own private grill and spent hours at their select private beach areas. Would I recommend Anchorage at the Lake? Absolutely!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank-you! Yes, we are doing our best with updates and you should notice things in specific cabins this season such as new showers & flooring. It's definitely a big project and updates are being made annually to make The Anchorage at the Lake that much better! See you this season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Went to The Anchorage in early June. The weather not so great but our cabin and the hospitality of Chris & Allsion (Innkeepers) was second to none !! Would refer The Anchorage as an awesome place for your vacation on Lake Winnesquam. Have already booked our vacation for next year. :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank-you Carol. It’s so great getting to know all of our returning guests and we appreciate your kind words and enthusiasm about the Anchorage at the Lake. This year we’ll have a pool table too for those rainy days. No worries, we’ll be keeping the ping pong table too! See you this season
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This is an annual vacation! The property was even better this year. Allison & Chris the innkeepers were awesome and so was the staff!!! People need to keep in mind this is not a "four seasons" resort. It is cabins on a beautiful lake!!! It is not the end of the world if you need to ask the front desk for an item your cabin is lacking......it is relaxation time!!! If you're uptight, this is not the place for you! If you want to relax and meet some awesome people...stay here!!! My girls look forward to our annual stay on the lake!

Room Tip: Ask for lake front!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeAunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much! Chris and I are here again this season and expect it to be even better than last year! If you haven’t done so already, check out the promotions we have on our web site right now…while they last!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at The Anchorage with my mother & Boston Terrier "Blue". We came right after Nascar ended on a Sunday & left tues. I really wish we could of stayed longer!
Alyson, her bf and entire staff are friendly & very accommodating! We stayed in one of the renovated cabins. Such a peaceful beautiful lakeside vacation spot. Just what I needed since I live just outside of Boston. So close to the grocery store which made grilling at the cabins easy. Not at all buggy besides spiders outside around the porch BUT you are staying in a cabin that's expected.
We will def be back! Happy I found a affordable place to vacation at that is actually dog friendly ALL YEAR round.
**extra tip** After you check out you could grab breakfast 3 miles up the road at a real farm. I think it's called "Heritage Farm pancake house" omg num num num
It was a great way to end our trip!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ells617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
We’re so glad that you all had a great time while you were here! Yes, the Anchorage at the Lake is extremely pet friendly and our guests with pets most definitely enjoy the pet friendly beach. It’s easy to be pet friendly when guests are as conscientious of their pets as our guests have been this season.

You are so correct about the lack of bugs here at the Anchorage at the Lake. It’s amazing how few mosquitoes there are and here and it’s actually been a topic of conversation amongst guests all season long. Just one more great reason to stay right here with the refreshing breeze off the lake that helps to keep the bugs away from the Anchorage at the Lake!

We look forward to seeing you again next season, but don’t forget that we are open into October this year and have some AMAZING fall specials so perhaps you can make it back one more time this season and Blue can say “bye-bye” to the summer at the spot he enjoyed so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tilton
4.0 mi away
The Landmark Inn
The Landmark Inn
#13 of 13 in Laconia
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Econolodge Inn & Suites
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
5.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
8.6 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 13 in Laconia
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage at the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage at the Lake

Property: Anchorage at the Lake
Address: 725 Laconia Rd, Tilton, NH 03276-5329
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Tilton
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchorage at the Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchorage at the Lake is located in Tilton, NH just 3.3 miles from I-93 on Lake Winnisquam. This family oriented and pet friendly resort is located on over 30 acres of land and one mile of waterfront. There are three private beaches, a huge sundeck, beach volley ball, boat slips, a floating raft, free use of kayaks and canoes, horseshoes, weekly bonfires, family entertainment & more! Each cabin features a screened in porch, charcoal grill and picnic table. Cabins are very basic, cabin style camping. There are no frills however each cabin does have a fully equipped kitchenette, bathroom and shower and the Anchorage at the Lake does provide all necessary linens & towels. The Anchorage at the Lake brings families together in its back to basics nostalgic charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Anchorage at the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage At The Lake Hotel Tilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing