We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anchorage at the Lake
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Dirty!! Had to sweep the cabin floor four time before moving into our cabin!
We did not have enough dishes or towels for 4 people..and this cabin was for 6 people!
Wayyy tooo much money for what you get...
People are very nice but have no clue!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank molucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Chris and I apologize that you were unhappy with your experience here. Unfortunately, your experience wasn’t as wonderful as most of our guests’ have been this season. Please know that had you let us know that you had any issues whatsoever while you were here, we certainly would have remedied the situation and assure you that you would have left here happy and with a different outlook on the Anchorage at the Lake.

We wholeheartedly hope that you will give us another chance and revisit the Anchorage at the Lake and we will do our best to ensure that your experience is as wonderful as the many guests who have enjoyed their stay here this season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 130 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

I just returned from staying a week at Anchorage at the Lake. I had a large group of people for a bike event at nearby Highland Mountain Bike Park and it was a perfect place for us to stay. In past years, we have camped but this was much better being that we had a house, beds, showers, and kitchen. We throughly enjoyed the lake. It was also very nice that there were a couple of beaches so that though there were many kids and families on one, I was able to go to the other more quiet beach. They even have beach chairs so all I needed was sunscreen! I also took advantage of the free canoe rental and had a blast. The water was warm, there weren't any mosquitoes (which really surprised me, since they love me), and all the staff I encountered were so unbelievably friendly. If you are looking for hotel service, this is not the place to go, and I believe most of the poor reviews are because they were expecting a hotel.

This is definitely a place I will go back to, with a large group, my small family, or even with just another couple. It's really good for everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thank-you very much for your positive feedback and kind words. We are thrilled that you had a great time and got to take advantage of Lonely Beach and the free canoe use. You’re not kidding about the lack of mosquitoes. As a matter of fact it has become a popular topic of discussion amongst guests because it seems almost unbelievable that they are so scarce! We are very fortunate to have such a wonderful staff and are especially thankful when people like yourself take notice of everyone’s willingness to be as helpful as possible.

We’re glad to hear you’ll be coming back and we think you hit the nail on the head about our accommodations. We are basic cabin style camping, no frills but tons of fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have been going here since I was a kid (more than 20 years now) and we just love it! It definitely has a campground feel to it. The new firepits that they added are wonderful for roasting marshmallows at night! Pet friendly too! There's three beaches (one deep beach, one shallow beach perfect for kids, and a more secluded beach for the dogs). If you have a boat, definitely bring it! The lake is a beautiful place to explore. We go in a larger group with four families, and it is perfect for us. You won't want to leave the lake! But if you decide to go somewhere for the day, there's lots of fun stuff to do in the area. It's close to a bunch of grocery stores & restaurants & has a very convenient location. The Anchorage is perfect for a traditional family vacation!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank introspectionx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Another great review from a Top Contributing Trip Advisor! Thank-you so much! :) We are happy that you noticed and utilized the additional fire pits and that your family has been supporting the Anchorage at the Lake for so many years. Yes, the beaches are wonderful and it is hard to leave once your vacation has come to an end.

You are very right about being conveniently located. Just 3.3 miles from the highway with the Tanger Outlets just down the road as well as many restaurants & attractions nearby… yet when you’re here on the property it all seems so far away. The best of both worlds are right here at the Anchorage at the Lake and we look forward to the many summers ahead that your family will continue to enjoy here! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We just returned to NY after spending last week at The Anchorage and want to return. We had a blast. Chris and Alison are very accommodating and help you with anything. The lakefront beaches and playground were perfect to entertain my seven year old son. My son asked us why we could not stay all month! We had fun at movie night and the nightly campfires let us meet other guests. This is a great and affordable place for families to relax and enjoy the White Mountains. As soon as we get our pictures together we will post.Chris and Alison keep up the great work !

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thank-you so much for your positive feedback! Yes, kids absolutely love the Anchorage at the Lake which is so comforting to say because in today’s world of “high tech everything”, seeing kids and teenagers actually enjoying the outdoors and all the Anchorage at the Lake has to offer is pretty amazing. Smiling faces and eagerness to come back…that’s what it’s all about!

The Anchorage at the Lake is the perfect place to reconnect with your family, sit by the nightly campfires and roast marshmallows, make new friends, play board games, fish and paddle away on the lake in our free use canoes and kayaks. We’re glad the kids enjoyed the movie in the common room during the rainy day and we can’t wait to see the great pictures you have to share! Thanks again and Chris and I look forward to seeing you next season!! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My two friends and i stayed here the beginning of june and loved every bit of the place!The couple who run it are extremely helpful and friendly.We found ourselves wishing ancorage was closer to ohio so we cld spend weekends there.We will def be back

Room Tip: Cabin 11 is right on the lake with awsome views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacque C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Chris and I are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time here at the Anchorage at the Lake as much as you did! Yes, waterfront Cabin 11 is fantastic, especially if you are renting one of our many boat slips available. Without a doubt we wish you lived closer too, but are so happy to hear that you will be coming back! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

the hotel and wonderful
people who work is very good
the beach is wonderful
summarizing it and all the best for those who want to relax and enjoy all the good
the second time I'm at this hotel
I already have reservations for next year

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agnaldo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thank-you very much for your kind words, for taking the time to write a review and for supporting the Anchorage at the Lake. You couldn’t be more accurate about being a wonderful resort to simply relax. We look forward to seeing all of you again next summer! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed at Anchorage after discovering the hotel we intended to book at had been sold out. Our unexpected change in plans turned out to be a pleasant surprise when we were placed in a waterfront cabin overlooking a sandy beach. In addition to the full kitchen in the cabin, there was also a charcoal grill -perfect for two city apartment dwellers who dearly missed being able to grill kabobs and corn on the cob! Instead of spending our evening watching TV in a run of the mill franchise hotel, we lit a campfire in the designated fire pit located in front of our cabin. Although this was a last minute trip, we were able to get the few things we needed for our impromptu cookout from the nearby shopping center. Things like plates and cooking utensils were already in the cabin.

The staff was welcoming and extremely helpful! They really seemed to take the time to explain everything we needed to know about the property to enjoy our stay. We did not have a chance to take advantage of the complimentary canoe rentals, but we're looking forward to using them on our next visit. While the cabins are "rustic", ours was clean and filled with fresh linens and comfy beds. Great for those who love the outdoors, but still want to enjoy the basic comforts of home!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Melbee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

We are thrilled that your unexpected change in plans worked out so well! Yes, the “Americana” nostalgic feel here at the Anchorage at the Lake is second to none. It’s almost like stepping back in time for a while and getting away from the hustle & bustle of everyday life. It’s amazing how many people love the idea of no televisions or high tech gadgets. Thankfully, for those who need a quick technology fix, we have a television, desktop computer and WIFI in our common room!

Yes, there’s nothing like food cooked on a real charcoal grill and sitting by a campfire enjoying your peaceful surroundings. Being so close to major grocery stores to boot makes it ideal for those impromptu getaways and for our guests traveling from out of state so that they don’t have to pack up the car with groceries too. Let’s not forget about the big bonus of not having to pay sales taxes here in the great state of New Hampshire! :) Thanks again for your positive feedback, we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tilton
5.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Econolodge Inn & Suites
3.1 mi away
Super 8 Tilton/Lake Winnipesaukee
4.3 mi away
The Tilton Inn
The Tilton Inn
#2 of 3 in Tilton
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage at the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage at the Lake

Address: 725 Laconia Rd, Tilton, NH 03276-5329
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Tilton
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tilton
Price Range: $144 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchorage at the Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchorage at the Lake is located in Tilton, NH just 3.3 miles from I-93 on Lake Winnisquam. This family oriented and pet friendly resort is located on over 30 acres of land and one mile of waterfront. There are three private beaches, a huge sundeck, beach volley ball, boat slips, a floating raft, free use of kayaks and canoes, horseshoes, weekly bonfires, family entertainment & more! Each cabin features a screened in porch, charcoal grill and picnic table. Cabins are very basic, cabin style camping. There are no frills however each cabin does have a fully equipped kitchenette, bathroom and shower and the Anchorage at the Lake does provide all necessary linens & towels. The Anchorage at the Lake brings families together in its back to basics nostalgic charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Anchorage at the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage At The Lake Hotel Tilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing