We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable Place for vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anchorage at the Lake
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Don't go if you're expecting a Sheraton. If you want some great family and dog friendly fun right on the lake, this is a charming spot. Our cabin was immaculate, the beds comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful. Big lawn, playground, beaches - even a dog beach. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staciamiele, Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2012

You hit the nail on the head! It's important for incoming guests to be ready for a rustic, relaxing, campground-like experience. If you are expecting a hotel, you may be disappointed. There are few properties like The Anchorage at the Lake and because of this we are always posting new photos and videos to our website and Facebook page. We do not have televisions or internet access in our cabins or house rentals, which is why families that choose The Anchorage at the Lake tend to spend more time outdoors relaxing on the beach or traveling Lake Winnisquam on one of our onsite canoes or paddle boats.

We're so happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Best regards,
Stacia Miele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 130 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is a really quaint place and the new owners could not have been nicer or more helpful. It is an older place and the new owners will have their hands full deciding what updates to make, but it has an excellent location, amenities and layout for a family or group outing. We had 5 families share the Farm House and Farm House Apartment, which adjoin and that worked out terrific! Way better than I expected even. Beaches and deck area overlooking the lake were terrific and even with a full crowd on the holiday week there was plenty of chairs and space to accommodate all groups while still feeling private and secluded. Volleyball area was a highlight for our group also! We especially liked that they don't nickel and dime you to use their canoes/volleyball and other activities. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank July12visitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

We appreciated the opportunity to host your group at the Farm House and Farm House Apartment!
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I'm happy to hear that our new management team took such good care of you and you found the features at our property to your liking. It's great that you enjoyed playing volleyball and taking out the complimentary boat rentals.

Hope to see you and your family soon!

Sincerely,
Stacia Miele
The Anchorage at the Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Had a very nice relaxing weekend at Anchorage at the Lake. Loved that there were canoes, paddleboats and a kayak that you could use complimentary. Nice lake for swimming right by our cabin. Cabin was clean - nice towels, curtains, dishes. However, floors and countertops were old(but clean). We did not care about that but if you are really fussy and expecting a new place you may not like that. The new management Alyson and Chris were very nice and accommodating and clearly are trying very hard to please their guests. The grill right outside of our cabin that you could use for a charcoal cookout was nice and they had a wood fire in main area for all to enjoy. We went to Weirs Beach one afternoon so girls could go on waterslides and go-carts- it was not too far away. Also there is a mini-golf place close by and ice-cream place too. Overall I would recommend this place for a relaxing getaway- lake is great for small children as well as everyone else. I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Anchorage at the Lake. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that Alyson and Chris were helpful! I will be sure to share your comments with them. I'm also happy to hear you were able to do a little local exploring as there is so much to do in the NH Lakes Region. Weirs Beach is one of my favorite spots! I hope you will return should your travels bring you back to Lake Winnisquam.

Most sincerely,
Stacia Miele
The Anchorage at the Lake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I was told that staying at the anchorage would be a great experience so I decided to give it a try, it was brought to my attention that the Anchorage at the Lake was under new management and it was the best time I've had in a long time. They had great entertainment, clean cabins and were very accommodating. I did have some concerns though I did feel that it was inappropriate to have the inn keepers drinking alcohol and parting with the guests while one of the house cleaners was working in the office until 10:00 to 10:30 at night. Also during my stay I needed the Inn Keepers and they were not on the property and were not able to be reached at all, I was told that they were out on a motorcycle ride. It would have been really nice to be informed that they would not be on the property in case of an emergency. I will reserve again for next year if things change with the management.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

We're happy to hear you had a relaxing vacation at The Anchorage at the Lake. As you know, we are a unique property that is perfect for active families who enjoy the outdoors. Complimentary canoes, paddle boats and kayak rentals are just a few of the many onsite activities offered and we're glad you had the opportunity to use them.

Many thanks for choosing The Anchorage at the Lake. We look forward to seeing you again next year. Please let us know if there's anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable.

Sincerely,
Stacia Miele
The Anchorage at the Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

have been staying at the anchorage for 7 years,this past stay with the new management was the best time i have had in a long time. great entertainment clean cabins and very accommadating,will reserve again for next year definetly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnyrodn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Wow! Thank-you so much!!! Chris and I are ecstatic to know that even after coming to the Anchorage at the Lake for seven years, you had one of the best times yet and that you will be returning again. Bike week was fun. Karaoke, best bike in show, fun people, pot luck BBQ…it was great and we’re happy you enjoyed yourselves. Thanks for taking the time to write this review. See you next year! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We had a great time there this past weekend. We chose the weekend before Memorial Day and the weather was great. We used the (free) canoes and paddled a bit around the lake.

I think the key to being satisfied here is not to expect a 5 star hotel. This is very nice camping, with a great view of the lake and good access to the things to do around the Lakes area.

Our cabin was clean. Water for showers was fine. The outside air was chilly at night but the heater in the cabin worked fine. Kitchen facilities was everything we needed (note no microwave). We grilled outside and had a great picnic.

Beaches were very relaxing. With the cabin right on the lake, we enjoyed looking right out the window at the lake for morning sunrises.

No TV or internet in the cabins so that forced us to play family games and enjoy each other's company. Free WiFi internet at the office worked fine.

The managers said that 2012 is their first year at this facility. They were very friendly and helpful to us. I could tell they were really trying to make the facility better.

Room Tip: We got a cabin right on the lake. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thank-you for taking the time to post this review. Chris and I are working very hard to make the Anchorage at the Lake all it can be and seeing these types of reviews by our guests put smiles on our faces! Although the Anchorage at the Lake is seasonal, when guests can take advantage of the off-season when we are just opening or getting ready to close, it is just as great as being here in the height of our summer season. It can get chilly but boy to those space heaters work well.

Yes, a 5 Star hotel we are not, but we do have clean cabins and the lake views and morning sunrises are quite spectacular and we are glad you got to experience them. Hopefully, we’ll see you back again this fall or next spring! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Rustic is not an excuse for poorly kept, dirty, and outdated cabins. We wanted to like the property because the lake and grounds were in a great location; however we left after one night of our three night stay due to the foul-smelling and dirty cabins...nevermind the fact that the water smelt like sulfur when turned on. There was no way we were going to stay somewhere we had to shower in water that smells like rotten eggs. It's sad because if the cabins, especially the bathrooms, were kept up a little more this would have been an awesome trip. We were really disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ltrain284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staciamiele, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Dear Ltrain284,

We’re glad to hear you enjoyed our lakefront location, however it is unfortunate you did not enjoy your stay. We do apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. Our cabins are rustic meaning they are simple, relaxing and you will not find a television or wi-fi in any of our cabins, however they should never be dirty. Our onsite housekeepers thoroughly clean the cabins and house rentals after each and every stay. We wish you would have brought this to our attention so that we could have moved you into a more suitable cabin as we take our guests concerns seriously and want every guest to have a truly wonderful experience. The Anchorage at the Lake is a place to spend quality time with family and loved ones while enjoying sounds and views of nature at our lakeside beaches.

Also in your review you mentioned a smell of sulfur. Our wells are treated and tested often and therefore should never have an odor. We will take extra measures through cabin inspections to ensure this odor is never present. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Since we are a seasonal property, we spend most of our off season energy updating and improving the property according to guest suggestions. This is why we do appreciate reviews such as yours. Your review will be printed and distributed to our staff, so that future guests have a better experience. We cannot change your past experience; however we would like to have another opportunity to show you the true Anchorage at the Lake.


Most Sincerely,

Liz Jobin

Inn Keeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tilton
5.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tilton
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Econolodge Inn & Suites
2 mi away
The Lake House at Ferry Point
5.1 mi away
Steele Hill Resorts
Steele Hill Resorts
#1 of 1 in Sanbornton
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage at the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage at the Lake

Address: 725 Laconia Rd, Tilton, NH 03276-5329
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Tilton
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tilton
Price Range: $146 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchorage at the Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchorage at the Lake is located in Tilton, NH just 3.3 miles from I-93 on Lake Winnisquam. This family oriented and pet friendly resort is located on over 30 acres of land and one mile of waterfront. There are three private beaches, a huge sundeck, beach volley ball, boat slips, a floating raft, free use of kayaks and canoes, horseshoes, weekly bonfires, family entertainment & more! Each cabin features a screened in porch, charcoal grill and picnic table. Cabins are very basic, cabin style camping. There are no frills however each cabin does have a fully equipped kitchenette, bathroom and shower and the Anchorage at the Lake does provide all necessary linens & towels. The Anchorage at the Lake brings families together in its back to basics nostalgic charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Anchorage at the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage At The Lake Hotel Tilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing