We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econolodge Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Tilton
NH
1 review
“Wonderful hospitality!”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a weekend trip to Shalimar. We loved it! The people were all so helpful and friendly. The room was nice and very clean. Great beach and swimming area! We had dinner in the restaurant and it was wonderful. I had the chicken parmesan and my husband had a burger, we were both very pleased!
When we left, we couldn't stop talking about what a nice time we had and how the staff was so nice and so helpful! We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NHGirlNh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    42
    28
    32
    50
See reviews for
76
79
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We loved the Shalimar Resort. It was an excellent value for the dollar. Not only do you get a continental breakfast. you also get free coupons for dinner at the restaurant. The food was delicious! The resort is family run and the owners were wonderful. Very clean, great location and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Went there for special off season rate. HUGE pool and hot tub that are indoors. Huge King room with nice flat screen plenty of extra chairs and entry from hall way and balcony. Free newspapers in morning, free continental breakfast in morning that consisted of hot coffee, 6 different kinds of cereal plus hot oatmeal. Delicious homemade muffins, as well as bagels and english muffins. As part of the special rate, dinner was included both nights for both of us. With many offerings including steak, haddock, hamburger and a beer and spaghetti-among others. Food was very good. Did have a White Russian that was very pricey!! Plan on returning again next year.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We recently decided to try The Shalimar Resort after seeing the ad in the local papers. We took advantage of the mid-week special, and were not dissapointed. It was an excellent time with 2 dinners, 2 nights stay, and a small continental breakfast served each morning for just over $100.00. The dinners, staff, pool and jacuzzi were great. We will definetely be returning when the beach section is open to take advantage of the free boats available.

Room Tip: The front rooms facing the main road are a little noisy during the morning rush if you are looking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We had an amazing experience at the Shalimar. The staff was wonderful, and helpful. The food was great. The best part was the price. We took advantage of the midweek special. We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: The front rooms have the best views, but are a little noisy with traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Shalimar! The jacuzzi was great after a full day of Cross Country skiing, just what the Dr. ordered. All of the staff were very friendly and always
greeted us with a smile! The complimentary dinner both nights was extremely good and then of course the Sunday Brunch which was heavenly! Definitely a place staff, very reasonable
and accomodating....we are already thinking about booking another stay with them.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyndi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I have to say for starters, the customer service at the Shalimar Resort is outstanding. They go out of your way to make your time there a good one. Every request I made (and I made more than usual, due to no fault of theirs) was met with a quick, efficient and cheerful response, whether it was for a bag for my wet bathing suits, or a travel map, or travel advice, or more coffee.

The hotel is undeniably faded and shabby. I don't find this a huge negative, but I know for many travelers it is a big turn-off. Everything from the furniture to the pool area to the restaurant clearly shows signs of age. But everything functions. The beds were very comfortable. The pool was not sparkling, but neither was it downright icky. The hallways were cold (it was just above zero degrees outside, so not surprising), but the rooms were not, and the pool area was steamy and inviting, and the pool itself was delightfully warm. The jacuzzi was large, popular, and not painfully hot. There was also a pleasant sauna. The gym was very dated.

Some things were as we expected them, some were better, and some were worse. Olympic sized pool? How do they figure that? The room had in-room coffee which was a nice and unexpected touch. The first night we had very few towels (although I am positive they would have given us more had we asked), but the second night we had plenty. Our lake view room was, indeed, lake view - it is across the street and down a slope, but it was a nice touch.

When we mentioned we would not use the two-fer dinner special because we didn't expect to find anything very good for vegetarians, the receptionist upgraded us to 2 free dinners and told us they would go out of their way to make sure we had something we liked. I was touched by that, so we went for it. Dinner of spaghetti and marinara was decent. You get a choice of about 10 dishes on the free menu, or you can order from the regular menu. My husband went off the free menu for the carrot cake, which was huge and had tons of whipped cream. He thought it was very good, but at $7 a slice I was not convinced it was good value!

We also spent some time at the pub, which was pleasant enough, and has a small dance floor and entertainment (but not while we were there as a very exciting football game had everyone occupied.)

Free continental breakfast is included, and it was fine; choice of several cereals and oatmeal; english muffins, bagels or muffins. The second day had some green apples, no fruit the first day. Coffee and tea, milk and OJ. Most people apparently go for their Sunday Brunch, which sounded like altogether too much food, but probably a good value if you like that sort of thing.

While we went there for a couple getaway, it seems like it is most appropriate for families. There were several families there, and the availability of meals on site, the large pool, and also the availability of many larger rooms and suites make it a good choice for them.

Room Tip: Lake view is partial but cheery. It is walk-up, so if you don't like stairs, ask for the first l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamelCase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tilton
4.3 mi away
The Landmark Inn
The Landmark Inn
#13 of 13 in Laconia
138 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
2.8 mi away
Super 8 Tilton/Lake Winnipesaukee
7.0 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#3 of 13 in Laconia
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econolodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econolodge Inn & Suites

Property: Econolodge Inn & Suites
Address: 650 Laconia Rd, Tilton, NH 03276-5322 (Formerly Shalimar Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Tilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Tilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econolodge Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econolodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shalimar Hotel Tilton
Shalimar Hotel Winnisquam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing