We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Americana” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burkehaven Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Burkehaven Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sunapee
New England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Americana”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2006

My wife and I stayed at Burkehaven by chance. What a pleasant surprise. The words that best describe it are: quaint, americana, pride-of-ownership. The rooms were very clean and very well equipped. The continental breakfast was more than adequate. We will definately be repeat customers for years to come.

  • Liked — Clean rooms and fair price
  • Disliked — The room could have used an extra chair.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockhill30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    15
    6
    5
    26
See reviews for
26
29
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2006

My husband and I have been going to the Burkehaven for our anniversary every year. Doris and Rick have made our anniversary special and memorable in a different way each year. This year Doris gave us a "Taxi Ride" to the habor to catch the dinner boat. Every year my husband and I ride our motorcycles and this year it poured when it was time for us to catch the dinner boat and thanks to Doris we stayed dry for dinner! Over the past 7 years we have stayed at the Burkehaven and enjoyed our stay more each year. They have done a wonderful job with updating and decorating each room with a beautiful touch of character. We highly recommend the Burkehaven!!!

  • Liked — the staff and the character of the motel
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mainejordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2006

I had made a resveration about 3 weeks ago as my wife and I would ben in the area for a wedding. Less then 2 weeks before my stay I was called and told that there was a mistake made and my room was no longer available.

A reservation with a confirmation number should mean that the room is confirmed.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
Helpful?
3 Thank joshs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sunapee hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2006

My stay at Burkehaven Lodge was wonderful. The owners and staff made me feel welcome and right at home. I was free to enjoy the amenities at my leisure. The room was very clean, organized and comfortable. The view of the mountain in the morning was inspiring and the perfect remnder for me to slow down, unwind, and relax- just what I needed. The League of New Hampshire Craftsmen exhibit at nearby Mt. Sunapee was incredible. The weather was extremely hot, so a dip in the pool at the lodge or a visit to the nearby state beach were both refreshing.
My visit was a delightful experience and I will definitely be back to the Lodge when I visit the area again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila. PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2006

I never got the opportunity to stay at the Burkhaven and I never will. I advise you to go elsewhere.
We had to cancel our reservation for a ski weekend in January due to my daughter sustaining an injury the day before. We acknowledged our obligation for partial payment of the room for each night but were told that we would not be responsible for the total if they were able to rent the room.
We called each night to check on the room availability more for our curiosity and were told they were full. However, when I called after the weekend I was told they were not able to fill the room. In fact I was told they did not appreciate my "dishonesty" in calling to check. When my wife called to complain they laughed at her and hung up within 30 seconds.
This is currently in dispute with my credit card company . The owners of the Burkehaven deny everything including our phone call each night to them.
Be forwarned !!!


Helpful?
9 Thank amc nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2005

My stay at the Burkehaven Lodge nearly ruined my trip to Sunapee. It was incredibly over priced and the staff as RUDE. I would NEVER recommend for anyone to stay at this motel.


Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, owner at Burkehaven Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2005
The Burkehaven is not only a lodging facility it is our home. When guests check in we do not expect to see several extra guests sneaking into the room or using our facilities. It is extemely unfair to our paying guests. Also, we are not a party place, we are more towards family. We have quiet time at 10pm in consideration to our other guests and our neighbors. We have been told by many other guests they feel home away from home. We are AAA approved and very proud of our establisment. If you want a very relaxing time with your family or a romantic evening with a fireplace, this is the place for you. If you want to party we are the wrong choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunapee
2.6 mi away
Sunapee Lake Lodge
Sunapee Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mount Sunapee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
20.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
2.7 mi away
Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee
1.5 mi away
Dexter's Inn
Dexter's Inn
#1 of 2 in Sunapee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
6.6 mi away
Follansbee Inn
Follansbee Inn
#1 of 3 in Sutton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burkehaven Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burkehaven Lodge

Property: Burkehaven Lodge
Address: 179 Burkehaven Hill Road, Sunapee, NH 03782
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Sunapee
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sunapee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Burkehaven Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly remodeled rooms. Continental breakfast served daily. Each room has calbe TV/VCR, microwave, refrigerator, coffee and toaster. Swim or relax poolside with Mount Sunapee in view. Have a cookout at the pool on the gas grills. Spectacular views of Mount Sunapee. Short walk to Sunapee Harbor excitement. The Burkehaven enjoys the advantage of the Town Beach, a two-minute drive. Swimming and fishing is 300 feet away at the Burkehaven Cove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Burkehaven Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burkehaven Hotel Sunapee
Burkehaven Motel Sunapee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing