We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent View”
Review of Burkehaven Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Burkehaven Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sunapee
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent View”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We probably had the best room in the place for viewing Mt. Sunapee. After a day of skiing, it was a nice quiet place to relax. Continental breakfast was convenient and tasty. We will return. The proprietor was very friendly and helpful (we had to call fro directions).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H-Man45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    15
    6
    5
    26
See reviews for
26
29
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Quiet convenient accommodations near Sunapee skiing and water sports! Clean, private and comfortable. Comfortable beds. Great price and the owner/operator, who is a very nice man, got us lift tickets for 36$ each-about half price, so we stayed a few extra nights. (Anyone who skis/rides knows the lift tickets can be very expensive. I believe they're 90$ at killington)

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mercedes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I just read the review from inky2001. She tried to stay there in sept.20013. She is spot on about the management there. The owner is ":nuts" and if he does not get his way he will curse at you etc. The walls between the rooms are paper thin so you can hear everything going on next door.
Just go to the Best Western down the road and be satisfied.

Room Tip: They are all old rooms need upgrading to present standards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrslick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sunapee hotels

Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were Texans traveling through New England leaf-peeping. We made internet reservations in advanced. The place was a little hard to find but in a beautiful setting. This is an older establishment but well kept, the room good size but dated, owner friendly, breakfast ok (cereal, oatmeal, fruit, bagels, toast). The only complaint I would have is the size of the shower. I am a thin person and old, so bending over in the tight space was difficult, for a larger person impossible.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobTayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I arrived to a motel with no office manager to be found!! I was approached by an elderly gentleman that had to contact mnger that a guest needed to register.It was the hottest/ worst heatwave in New England for a week with a dew pt. 70+.I proceeded to settle into my room, anticipating of a nice A.C. room, after a 3 hr. trek to find out there was no A.C. Anyway, I had a + aditude that I woundn't be in my motel room constantly & that I was here to enjoy a visit with my girlfriend!! Well,in the course of the 5hr. stay, I experienced, an old man who encouraging me to use the fan in the closet to cool off & ,( told me several times), to go for a swim in the pool.I was out 4 several hrs. to arrive to no electricity.At that pt.I felt unsafe, being a woman alone with no official guests around & no mnger around. Not to mention that it would be dark in 15 min.There was no cellphone service & no landline pnones in rooms!I decided to leave & asked Rick-proprietor to refund my $. He immediately said "NO" & told me there was something wrong w/ me & that I was a flake!! I contacted 911 for fear that his verbal abuse would turn physically violent! I was scared! Sunapee,NH. police arrived & told me to leave. I did file legal complaints to my Bank of America VISA Card & to N.H. Attorney General James T. Boffetti.Subsequently, I was told by both, that Rick did nothing wrong because he had the room available when I had arrived!!! Frightening, improper business & rude practices apparently don't constitute a safe, humane,& descent stay!! To all who are looking for a wonderful stay, book @ Best Western Sunapee Lake Lodge!!! They were my rescue that fateful night!! They gave me back my faith in hotel travel!!! Sincerely, R.O. P.S.I was told by my credit card co. that they would credit me $50.00. I await that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank inky2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nh
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a really lovely motel with great views and nice out of the way location. Everything was clean and nicely appointed. We will be visiting this motel again next year. The continental breakfast was also very nice and the lodge setting with the dining room table felt like home. Highly recommend this motel.

Room Tip: I stayed twice and both rooms would nice. I feel that any room would be the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buddymav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I was nervous but no one else would take a family of five, The rooms were larger than expected and very clean. Nothing special about the breakfast but free, the owner was always coming back to refresh the food. The maid was very sociable. The owner was always a quick call a way. No air conditioner but there was a fan in every room. Unfortunately we were there in 90+ degrees. The view was amazing. If you are looking for a leaf peeping place this place seems great.They also have a pass you can use to go to beach. If you like walking in woods and up hills this is a great area. Would go back. The dining room has board games for the kids to play.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WOBMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunapee
2.6 mi away
Sunapee Lake Lodge
Sunapee Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mount Sunapee
138 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee
21.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee
6.6 mi away
Follansbee Inn
Follansbee Inn
#1 of 3 in Sutton
207 reviews
5.9 mi away
King Hill Inn
King Hill Inn
#3 of 6 in New London
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burkehaven Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burkehaven Lodge

Property: Burkehaven Lodge
Address: 179 Burkehaven Hill Rd, Sunapee, NH 03782-2606
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Sunapee
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sunapee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Burkehaven Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly remodeled rooms. Continental breakfast served daily. Each room has calbe TV/VCR, microwave, refrigerator, coffee and toaster. Swim or relax poolside with Mount Sunapee in view. Have a cookout at the pool on the gas grills. Spectacular views of Mount Sunapee. Short walk to Sunapee Harbor excitement. The Burkehaven enjoys the advantage of the Town Beach, a two-minute drive. Swimming and fishing is 300 feet away at the Burkehaven Cove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Burkehaven Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burkehaven Hotel Sunapee
Burkehaven Motel Sunapee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing