We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Called the police”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Burkehaven Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Burkehaven Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sunapee
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Called the police”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed for a few minutes. Started fine we checked, got ouor room. The parking lot was empty so my husband asked if we could have an end room and the man at the desk said no. We left the office and walked to our room. Just as I walked into our room the man came running after my husband yelling if you don't like it here don't stay and kept yelling in his face. I offered to leave with a refund but he would only agree to 50%. We got in our car to go eat dinner and decided we could not go back there and reported his behavior. I think he did that to get money for nothing!

Room Tip: Go to Cottage Lake Inn or somewhere on Squam Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BethMalesich84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    15
    6
    5
    26
See reviews for
26
29
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Even though there is not much to do at Lake Sunapee, we enjoyed the stay at this hotel. It is very small, only 10 rooms or so. Owners of the lodge were friendly and helpful. Our room was quite large and included a king bed, electric fireplace and tv. Bathroom was clean, but had a very small shower. Location was nice and private, but a little far from things. The outdoor pool was a little dirty so we did not use it, but looked nice otherwise. Overall, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JG5554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelover183, Owner at Burkehaven Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Thank you for your nice review. We do apologize for the state of the pool. Ordinarily it is sparkling clean, but unfortunately with the beautiful fall foliage also comes far more leaves than we can ever keep up with. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

The room was very cute, huge bed and comfy. Lots of space, microwave and small fridge with coffee pot. Bathroom was clean but the shower was very claustrophobic no room to move around in. The pool area was outdoor and nice. The office has a lounge area you can play board games or take back to your room. Distance to the town beach is a drive away not a close walk, was told there were hiking trails did not easily find them.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m9190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

This is a delightful lodge. I needed internet access and a desk, and they were very helpful and made that happen. The room was large and very clean. The bed was comfortable and there was a TV. The continental breakfast was enough and I was able to take it to my room. I sat outside on the porch and enjoyed the Fall weather.

The people were very nice. My last memory was of the owner running after me as I was leaving waving my diamond earrings. I was very grateful. I will return when I visit the area again next year.

Room Tip: If you want fast internet connection ask for a room near the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeannehb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We loved the B'haven. Very nice room with decor that reflects nature and wildlife. Good sized room, mini fridge, and microwave. Plenty of room for snacks and beverages. Two double beds and two comfy chairs were great for relaxing and watching TV. The pool is simply beautiful- clean, good sized. A really nice view of Mr. Sunapee and gorgeous landscaping. Great continental breakfast in a family dining and lounging area. Everything about staying there was perfect for our 24th anniversary. Beach passes and nearby boat launches for kayaking were terrific.
Doris and Rick are the consummate hosts; they personalized our visit with everything from lovely touches of their flowers to terrific info about local places to eat and visit. We had a wonderful time there.

Room Tip: There are 11 or 12 units and they all look nice. Easy to get to the pool and the office area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed here last night. I absolutely would NOT recommend this place. It is near nothing. The rooms are gross. There is no AC.

We checked in around 8pm. Shortly after that, there was a 45 minute altercation outside - VERY loud, using the"f" word constantly. I don''t know which unit it was. It sounded like them man who checked us in but I didn't want to go outside to see for sure. We locked our door and windows.

Our room was unlocked before we arrived - possibly to keep the unit aired and less hot. No luck, it was still hot. There was NO ice in the lobby ice machine. (The lobby, btw, was dated and yucky. That's where they "serve" breakfast.) We did not put any food in the mini fridge - yuck!. No one in our party wanted to use the shower - it was too gross. The toilet had flushing issues. The TV - a small screen with a big box - harkening back to another era - did not have an operating remote control. It was necessary to manually go up or down through all the channels from the TV set.

The was hotel far from the harbor. We noted wild life as we drove in and drove out - I think they were foxes. I would not recommend trying to walk anywhere.

We didn't use the pool. Instead we left early the next morning (not our plan - we just wanted to get out ASAP!!) . We could get out fast enough! We did stay for breakfast - yuck!

I have never written a negative review. I hope I never do again. I wish I had read the reviews before coming here. YUCK!! If I had the "oportunity " to stay here for free, I would NOT do it!! Yuck!! I did not feel safe here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sammydog2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelover183, Manager at Burkehaven Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Here at the Burkehaven we pride ourselves on cleanliness. We have been recently inspected by AAA in July and got a great recommendation. The Burkehaven is in a rural setting and that is why we have so many repeat customers that love to wake up to see the sun rising over the mountain. I wish I had control over the wildlife but I dont. We love seeing our deer grazing, the wild turkeys and yes, fox. After all it is New Hampshire. The Harbor by the way is approximately half a mile away. Our guests love to visit the Harbor but it is very noisy at night.We certainly apologize if you were unhappy with your room. If you would have notified us you were unhappy we would have gladly given you a refund to go on to another property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sunapee hotels

Hadley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Honestly, I had reservations about reserving a room here after reading the reviews. However, I could not have been more surprised and happy. This family run motel (although) there is a nice lounge in center area of office) was clean and in beautiful location. Yes, you have to drive or take walk to water, but the view was exceptional, lots of nice window boxes and chairs outside on porch overlooking pool and mountain. Owner was exceptionally pleasant, and room immaculate. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weaver53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunapee
2.6 mi away
Sunapee Lake Lodge
Sunapee Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mount Sunapee
136 reviews
20.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
2.7 mi away
Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee
1.5 mi away
Dexter's Inn
Dexter's Inn
#1 of 2 in Sunapee
58 reviews
6.6 mi away
Follansbee Inn
Follansbee Inn
#1 of 3 in Sutton
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burkehaven Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burkehaven Lodge

Property: Burkehaven Lodge
Address: 179 Burkehaven Hill Road, Sunapee, NH 03782
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Sunapee
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sunapee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Burkehaven Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly remodeled rooms. Continental breakfast served daily. Each room has calbe TV/VCR, microwave, refrigerator, coffee and toaster. Swim or relax poolside with Mount Sunapee in view. Have a cookout at the pool on the gas grills. Spectacular views of Mount Sunapee. Short walk to Sunapee Harbor excitement. The Burkehaven enjoys the advantage of the Town Beach, a two-minute drive. Swimming and fishing is 300 feet away at the Burkehaven Cove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Burkehaven Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burkehaven Hotel Sunapee
Burkehaven Motel Sunapee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing