We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”
Review of Sugar Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sugar Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sugar Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Sugar Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Warren, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Beautiful Setting in White Mountains - Franconia Area. Food was exceptional - Prix Fixe dinner was wonderful. Breakfasts are excellent. Warm and welcoming staff. Historic country inn with modern amenities. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    44
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
296
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Frankfort, KY
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We just finished a three night stay at The Sugar Hill Inn in the dream cottage. It was lovely. The room was spacious, clean, and had wonderful amenities, such as the coffee and espresso makers. We slept well and loved sitting on the front porch looking at the beautiful white mountains.

The in. Keepers were nice, but I was beyond smitten with their dog, Katie. She would hear us talking on our porch and come over for a visit.

My only complaint is that the cottage is right by the road and close to the other cottages. I had been expecting it it be off by itself. However, the road noise was not too bad and we had plenty of privacy.

It was definitely a relaxing spot!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KentuckyKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We just spent three perfect days in the White Mountains and the Sugar Hill Inn. We stayed in "Perennial" one of the cottage rooms separate from inn itself. Sitting on our own porch looking out over the mountains was so lovely. The room itself was very spacious and so clean. We had our own coffee maker, espresso maker and refrigerator -- great amenities.

The inn owners Karen and Steve were so gracious as was Katie their special dog. We are not dog lovers, but you can't help but take to Katie.

The breakfasts (cooked by Steve I believe) were delicious - with different choices each morning. You never feel rushed and the wait staff were so friendly and helpful. We ate dinner at the Inn two nights are were so happy we did. The night of our arrival we had the "Roman Holiday" in the bar. After our long drive, we appreciated the short walk from our porch to the bar to eat. The pasta and salad were delicious. On Saturday night we ate in the dining room, where once again the food was excellent. The table is yours for the evening, so dinner was at our leisure.
All in all we had a perfect experience.

Room Tip: Being in a "cottage" room was so quiet and we had the use of rocking chairs on the porch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AprilinParis2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Loved this inn. It is immaculate. It is completely updated yet retains its historic character and feel. The innkeepers are warm and welcoming while allowing you your space and privacy.

Since is was slightly off-season we were upgraded to the Bette Davis room which we absolutely loved and would stay in again. You have your own quiet a/c - (not in the window)- which cools the room immediately - also your own heater if you need it - but we left all the windows open and the cross breezes were wonderful.

Enjoyed the robes, slippers, candles, complimentary water bottles, and expresso maker in the room. Also the 4:00 homemade wonderful snacks everyday in the lobby.

If we had stayed one more night we would have tried the restaurant. We ate in the pub on the first night. We are very discriminating when it comes to Italian food but due to the great food reviews and the limited pub menu we decided to try our luck on the the bolognese sauce and it was wonderful and authentically Tuscan.

Overall it was just a weekend jaunt but was thoroughly relaxed and refreshed. Would stay here again when in this area.

Room Tip: We loved the Bette Davis room as the weather was perfect to keep all the windows and get a great cro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abi1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

The Inn has a unit called the dream cottage which truly is a dream come true with its cathedral ceilings ,large 2 person Jaccuzzi tub, private 2 person Sauna and a shower that makes one feel as though you are in a tropical waterfall. A large comfortable king sized bed, gas fireplace sets the mood for a relaxing evening with someone special.
Gourmet restaurant review to follow

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

My wife and I recently spent 5 nights in the Garden View Cottage at Sugar Hill Inn and found it to be everything as promised. The Inn turned out to be a great location for exploring the Mount Washington area and all that Northern New Hampshire has to offer. One of the main attractions of the Inn is the Fine Dinning. When making reservations, we signed up for several nights for both the "Stay and Dine" and the "The Culinary Experience". The meals were fantastic and worthy of any four star restaurant. Breakfast was also exceptional and the service was excellent. My one complaint was that the dinner menu does not vary from day to day. Sometimes there are very minor changes to the menu, but the main entree's did not change. Normally for a guest staying one or two nights this would not be a problem as the menu did provide a lot of choices, but if you plan on staying for more than 2 nights I'd recommend trying some of the other local restaurants to add variety, Luckily Steve is more than willing to help and provide recommendations for other restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasTraveler010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve A, Owner at Sugar Hill Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your high praise for both dinner and breakfast. I will discuss having more menu options, for guests dining multiple nights, with our chef. There is so much to see and do in the White Mountains it was great that you had five full days to explore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, New Hampshire, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed two nights in July of 2012. The room was very clean, everything was as advertised. We booked one of their specials which included a gift and a meal in the restaurant.

Everyone was friendly. If you can't afford to stay here you MUST reserve a table for a meal at the restaurant! Literally the best meal my wife and I have ever had. Great service and very relaxed atmosphere. We even had a private fireworks display. It was nice.

The only downside I can think of is if you're not ready to be in the hills and don't like being outside a city/town surrounded by trees etc. this may not suit you. Even so I would encourage you to try.

We can't wait until we can save up and go back once again.

Room Tip: They're all good. The description and photos you see on their website are accurate and descript...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sugar Hill
0.8 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
11.5 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#13 of 20 in Lincoln
609 reviews
14.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Inn at Sunset Hill
Inn at Sunset Hill
#1 of 4 in Sugar Hill
160 reviews
2.5 mi away
Franconia Inn
Franconia Inn
#2 of 5 in Franconia
212 reviews
16.1 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Hill Inn

Property: Sugar Hill Inn
Address: 116 Route 117, Sugar Hill, NH 03586-4506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Sugar Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sugar Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in New Hampshire’s White Mountains, Sugar Hill Inn is a romantic getaway known for culinary adventure and warm, inviting guest rooms and cottages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sugar Hill Hotel Sugar Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing