We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a "Dream" stay.....”
Review of Sugar Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sugar Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Sugar Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We booked 3 nights in the Dream Cabin at the Sugar Hill Inn during fall foliage season this year. It exceeded expectations. The cabin was SO AWESOME that one of the nights, we got some fruit and wine and just stayed in by the fireplace, and had a jacuzzi and sauna (all in the cabin). PLUS, there is a Nespresso machine in the room for perfect (and easy) espresso. All of the appointments in the cabin were lovely, well-thought out, and quite welcoming.....as were the innkeepers. The breakfasts were lovely and staff was very cordial. We had dinner in the restaurant one evening, and it was phenomenal. We had some dietary constraints which were kindly met by the chef....and we had a marvelous time.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank brambok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 384 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

When you discover that the innkeeper has converted a small room into a dark-panelled library, you know you've struck gold. The standards here -- food and service -- are exacting but the ethos unpretentious and welcoming. Our room in the original house, one of the least expensive, was fine in every way.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rovingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

An interesting place. We stayed there for three nights. First off we found the staff a little aloof and unfriendly but they soon warmed up. Our room, apparently one favoured by Bette Davis, was well appointed but small. There were nicer rooms available but we were advised that ours was quieter but we overlooked the road and dud hear cars going by in the night. The best rooms are apparently not in the main house. The pool area, albeit not large, was very nice. Breakfasts were beautifully served. We ate in the the dining room one evening and had a first class meal, probably the finest we had the whole trip. This was true fine dining.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not in the main house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Very well kept. Beautiful rooms. Outstanding food! We loved it and will certainly go back! We booked the Betty Davis room and the romantic dinner for two. We enjoyed every moment at the Inn. Congratulations to the chef, we were very much impressed with the food.

Room Tip: The Betty Davis room has windows on 3 sides. Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymonde B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We were in New Hampshire for a friend's wedding, and stayed at the Sugar Hill Inn two nights. It was wonderfully comfortable, home like, and immaculate. Owners were friendly, staff at breakfast competent, friendly, and courteous. We could park our car right at the cottage door, and enjoy sitting at our porch. Breakfast choices were great and well prepared. Did not have a chance to sample the dinner that people raved about because of our schedule, but we would definitely love to go back and dine there too.
We also met a lovely couple from Britain and have been in touch with them since. It is a great place for a relaxed vacation.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Forest View Cottage. It was quiet, immaculate, and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evaluator_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We loved our night at the Sugar Hill Inn. We booked the Dine and Stay package, which included dinner (tax and tip also) and a cocktail during happy hour for each of us. It was lovely, quiet, and relaxing in the Blue Room. Enjoying a glass of wine on the porch before our dinner reservation was peaceful and relaxing. Dinner at the Inn was spectacular -- the best meal of our 8 day trip! Breakfast the next morning was also delicious. If we ever find ourselves in the area again, we would definitely return!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebb11307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Inn has a character; the rooms are clean and nicely kept; And they have a Nespresso machine in the room! The owners, who run the place, are lovely people and make an effort to make your stay special through lovely breakfast and other personal touch. If you choose to eat dinner at the Inn – you are up for a great treat! The only drawback is that it is close to a road. It is not busy at night, but if you stay there during the day you may want to ask for a room in the back.

Room Tip: if you stay in during the day you may want to ask for a room in the back (there is a road in front t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NY_Traveler_000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sugar Hill
0.8 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
1.8 mi away
Inn at Sunset Hill
Inn at Sunset Hill
#1 of 4 in Sugar Hill
171 reviews
2.5 mi away
Franconia Inn
Franconia Inn
#2 of 5 in Franconia
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,669 reviews
14.4 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
6.8 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Bethlehem
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Hill Inn

Address: 116 Route 117, Sugar Hill, NH 03586-4506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Sugar Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sugar Hill
Price Range: $193 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in New Hampshire’s White Mountains, Sugar Hill Inn is a romantic getaway known for culinary adventure and warm, inviting guest rooms and cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Sugar Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Hill Hotel Sugar Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing